We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Winchester Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Worthy Lane, Winchester SO23 7AB, England (Formerly Winchester Moat House)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Winchester Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Winchester Hotel
The Winchester Hotel
The Winchester Hotel
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    358
    135
    54
    34
See reviews for
111
578
34
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1054)
  • Mar-May only
    (336)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (242)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (252)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (224)
All months
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Excellent breakfast. English style of course. It's really near to the city. Fifteen minutes walk and u will be in the middle of the city. Service staff are courteous and helpful. Definitely staying there again when I head back to the UK office.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed on a Sunday night package, 2 spa treatments plus breakfast, we had upgraded to a "club room" although to me this was like a standard room in many other hotels so not sure it was worth the £20 extra (I think the room was a little bigger) The staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble, they even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Lovely hotel with nice spa and pool facilties. Rooms well equipped, with large beds (albeit we found them too soft). Good restaurant - we had an excellent evening meal and wide choice at breakfast. The bar was also great - lovely cocktails (made by Matt!). Not far from the town centre and overall a great stay. Not quite perfect, in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed for three nights at the Winchester Hotel for our anniversary weekend. Nice hotel, happy with room. Good buffet breakfast, although positioning of toaster not ideal as it clashes with people trying to get cereals, as well as staff coming and going. Only problem we experienced was no paper being delivered on Saturday morning; however, as soon as this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your SUPER review of the hotel. On behalf of the whole hotel team I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon. Paul Eaves General Manager More 

cotswolds
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just returned from a two night stay which we found very disappointing after looking forward to a stay in Winchester On both Friday & Saturday there were wedding parties who basically took over the entrance, reception & bar, making it extremely difficult to actually get in the hotel, book in or avoid small children running around - this was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your recent review of the hotel. I am of course sorry to learn that you were disappointed following your stay with us and will certainly review your valued comments with my team. It is such a shame that you did not "want to risk" dinner with us as I am confident that you would have... More 

East Sussex, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The choice of my Rotary Club for our President's Weekend Away (from Seaford) and certainly a good one. Smart, clean hotel with lots of luxury touches. Some rooms a bit small but tastefully presented and well looked-after. In fact they have over-embellished themselves with a third floor of new rooms at very reasonable upgrade price which you can't actually reach... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your LOVELY review of the hotel. On behalf of the whole hotel team I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope that you will stay with us again when next visiting the Winchester area. Paul Eaves General Manager More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Lovely boutique hotel with nice rooms and a spa / gym. I've visited this hotel a lot over the last couple of years and think its one of the best in Winchester. The rooms are comfortable although they can be a bit dark, which is bit irritating if you have work to do . The spa and gym are small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your VERY NICE review of the hotel. On behalf of the whole hotel team I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope that you will stay with us again when next visiting the Winchester area. Paul Eaves General Manager More 

Harpenden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited with a group of old school friends. Very helpful receptionist checked me in, provided good information. Room was well appointed, had everything we needed - plenty of sockets for all those electronic devices, great wifi, comfy bed, nice bathroom. Ate in the restaurant for our first night....good food and VERY helpful and cheerful waiter. Swimming pool was good too,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your SUPER review of the hotel. On behalf of the whole hotel team I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope that you will stay with us again when next visiting the Winchester area. We would be delighted to welcome you back again. Paul Eaves General Manager More 

zoe17
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
132 hotel reviews
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If this had been a less expensive accomodation, I could've given it a better rating. But for the price I paid, I expected a better room and better service. The room was OK. It had a bit of peeling wallpaper. A sign in the bathroom said,"Close bath door so steam doesn't set off fire alarm." Why not install a fan?... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your recent review of the hotel. It is our aim to consistently exceed the expectations of our guests and I am sorry that we did not do this during your recent stay with us. Paul Eaves General Manager More 

Bromley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Two night stay booked in a Classic Double with B&B. Check in was quick and efficient although rather sterile and un welcoming. No offer of help to the room with luggage receptionist on auto pilot. Rooms modern, very clean and recent refurbishment evident. Bed was most comfortable and room service cost very reasonable. WiFi was good and the Ethernet lead... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am sorry that on this occasion our Front Desk team did not offer you assistance with your luggage. Please do rest assured however that in the event should this have been requested we would have been delighted to assist immediately. I will of course discuss your feedback with the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay