We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Winchester hotels

The Winchester Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Worthy Lane, Winchester SO23 7AB, England (Formerly Winchester Moat House)
Hotel amenities
The Winchester Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Winchester Hotel to your Saves list
80%
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
41shelley Blackburn, United Kingdom
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    294
    106
    43
    28
See reviews for
91
471
32
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (862)
  • Mar-May only
    (251)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (242)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (205)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (164)
All months
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Excellent from checking in to checking out. The staff can't do enough, lots of lovely, personalised touches and the food in the restaurant is fabulous. Have been once before and will definitely be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My husband and I have just celebrated a joint birthday party in the Crystal Room with 75 guests. We had a superb evening, good food, excellent facilities and helpful attentive staff, we would thoroughly recommend the hotel for a large function.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Letchworth Garden City
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Spent a weekend at The Winchester with friends. Rooms very good, clean, well equipped and relatively modern, including plumbing and furnishing. Beds comfortable. Disappointed that when we arrived at 14h00, we were told that the restaurant for that evening was full even though we had booked and prepaid for a weekend package that included dinner. It took the intervention of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed at the Winchester Hotel to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We stayed for 2 nights and and it was great value for money. On the Sunday we had a 3 course meal for 2 with a bottle of wine included and free use of the gym and spa for only £99. We were asked what... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for your FANTASTIC review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon. Paul Eaves General Manager More

Canterbury Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My wife & I stayed on the Seasons break deal for one night engine route to the west country. It was really excellent from start to finish and great value for money with a total price of £125. We stayed in a classic double which was very comfortable (I asked who supplied the mattresses to buy one as they were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for your LOVELY review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa. We are so pleased that you were pleased and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon. Paul Eaves General Manager More

west sussex
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My then fiance ( now my wife) booked this hotel to stay in for ourselves and our friends, just the two couples over a 3 day stay whilst we got married in Winchester registery office on the middle day and what a joy it turned out to be as the whole experience was, with thanks to all staff for making... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for your GREAT review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon. Paul Eaves General Manager More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely hotel, rooms clean and staff very friendly. Breakfast was nice only you had ti way about 10 to 15 minutes for coffee and toast. Toast was not toast only warm bread. You had finished breakfast before it arrived so beans on toast wouldn't be an option. I think its too long to wait and for a four star hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa. Whilst I am of course pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us overall I note that you did not fully enjoy your Breakfast experience and I will certainly review your comments with my Senior team. We get many positive comments from other guests about our Breakfast... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been visiting the Winchester Hotel for almost 3 years now for business reasons. I have stayed in numerous hotels around the Winchester area, however, for ease of access, accessibility and service, I continue to return to the Winchester Hotel. The most important thing that makes the hotel a genuine pleasure is the staff. The staff have always been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for your great review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa. It is our pleasure to continue to serve you and we are delighted to provide you with a comfortable and welcoming "home from home" whilst doing business in the area. Paul Eaves General Manager More

Marlow, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a wonderful stay at The Winchester Hotel.very helpful and friendly staff.Modern and freshly decorated rooms. Walking distance about 10 mins.Lovely meal at the Bangkok Brasserie in the centre. Wonderful breakfast with attentive restaurant staff.Good pool with all the things you would expect like sauna,steam room .The pool is a little small so no marathon training. Hotel so good we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for your FAB review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Paul Eaves General Manager More

Rugby
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Winchester Hotel on a Friday and took advantage of the Friday Feeling offer. The room was very comfortable, the staff pleasant and the food excellent. Excellent value. The hotel is the best we have visited in the area

Was this review helpful? Yes
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for your LOVELY review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Paul Eaves General Manager More

Do you own or manage The Winchester Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Winchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winchester Hotel

Address: Worthy Lane, Winchester SO23 7AB, England (Formerly Winchester Moat House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winchester Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Winchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Winchester
Winchester The Hotel
Winchester Hotel

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay