We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Winchester Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Worthy Lane, Winchester SO23 7AB, England (Formerly Winchester Moat House)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Winchester Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Winchester Hotel
The Winchester Hotel
The Winchester Hotel
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    360
    135
    55
    34
See reviews for
111
583
34
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1059)
  • Mar-May only
    (341)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (242)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (252)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (224)
All months
Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Recently spent 2 nights at this hotel in room 229. Very comfortable, clean and quiet. It is about 10 minutes walk to the center of Winchester. There is a car park at the front ( which is free on Sundays and Bank Holidays) which charges £7 for 8am till 6pm ( you just need to kick hubby out of bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Daventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

From check in to check out the staff were extremely competent and helpful, the room was lovely, bed was huge and very comfy, plenty of tea coffee and real milk in the fridge! We ate an evening meal at the hotel as well as our included breakfast and both were delicious, plenty of variety, we would love to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We flew in from Australia so a hotel an hour or so out of London was the go. Winchester was a nice spot to start our driving tour of the UK and a hotel with a pool and spa was what we wanted after a long flight. The Winchester is near the centre of town and not far from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel, which is still in need of re decorating, especially the pool area and the exterior, is in a horrible location. The room is very average. The bed was most uncomfortable. The staff are not very friendly and lack training. Breakfast was good, with varied choices.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Excellent breakfast. English style of course. It's really near to the city. Fifteen minutes walk and u will be in the middle of the city. Service staff are courteous and helpful. Definitely staying there again when I head back to the UK office.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed on a Sunday night package, 2 spa treatments plus breakfast, we had upgraded to a "club room" although to me this was like a standard room in many other hotels so not sure it was worth the £20 extra (I think the room was a little bigger) The staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble, they even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Lovely hotel with nice spa and pool facilties. Rooms well equipped, with large beds (albeit we found them too soft). Good restaurant - we had an excellent evening meal and wide choice at breakfast. The bar was also great - lovely cocktails (made by Matt!). Not far from the town centre and overall a great stay. Not quite perfect, in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed for three nights at the Winchester Hotel for our anniversary weekend. Nice hotel, happy with room. Good buffet breakfast, although positioning of toaster not ideal as it clashes with people trying to get cereals, as well as staff coming and going. Only problem we experienced was no paper being delivered on Saturday morning; however, as soon as this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your SUPER review of the hotel. On behalf of the whole hotel team I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon. Paul Eaves General Manager More 

cotswolds
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just returned from a two night stay which we found very disappointing after looking forward to a stay in Winchester On both Friday & Saturday there were wedding parties who basically took over the entrance, reception & bar, making it extremely difficult to actually get in the hotel, book in or avoid small children running around - this was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your recent review of the hotel. I am of course sorry to learn that you were disappointed following your stay with us and will certainly review your valued comments with my team. It is such a shame that you did not "want to risk" dinner with us as I am confident that you would have... More 

East Sussex, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The choice of my Rotary Club for our President's Weekend Away (from Seaford) and certainly a good one. Smart, clean hotel with lots of luxury touches. Some rooms a bit small but tastefully presented and well looked-after. In fact they have over-embellished themselves with a third floor of new rooms at very reasonable upgrade price which you can't actually reach... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your LOVELY review of the hotel. On behalf of the whole hotel team I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope that you will stay with us again when next visiting the Winchester area. Paul Eaves General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay