We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Certificate of Excellence
14 Southgate St., Winchester SO23 9EF, England
Hotel amenities
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
keith s Winchester, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

382 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    158
    119
    64
    26
    15
See reviews for
48
214
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (382)
  • Mar-May only
    (97)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (98)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (101)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (86)
All months
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I took my family for Sunday lunch 26/07/15. There were six of us, we were welcomed at the door and our dripping coats taken from us. The front of house staff made us feel relaxed and comfortable as did the bar staff. Following pre dinner drinks we enjoyed a sumptuous four course meal with great service and superb food. If... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil L, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Great to hear you were made to feel welcome and relaxed whilst joining us for Sunday Lunch. It was really great to read your comments and Ioan was able to spend time with you and intorduce you to new grape varieties. We look forward to seeing again soon Kindest Regards Neil Lewis General Manager More 

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Had an amazing meal for a birthday celebration. Received excellent service and a great meal. Very tentative staff. Lovely venue for a celebration or just a meal. Drinking wine can can make a big difference to the bill, but for a celebration well worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil L, Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

So glad we could be apart of your birthday celebrations, and provide excellent food and service. Looking forward to seeing you for many more occasions Kindest Regards Neil Lewis General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived after a brief 10 minute walk from the station. The reception is ok and pleasant staff. We found it odd they wanted us to pay for the room upfront, rather than the usual process of asking for a swipe of the card without payment. There is parking to the side of the hotel, with plenty of space. Issue... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil L, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to feedback about your recent stay with us. It was great to hear you found it homely in a quiet location. We hope to welcome you again soon Kindest Regards Neil Lewis General Manager More 

Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went for an early meal. The ambiance was lovely, we sat in the garden in the sun. Regrettably the staff were non-caring, perhaps because we were wearing shorts rather than suits. We ordered the steak. BIG mistake, we asked for medium rare, it was as though as old boots and as thin as shoe leather. Yuck. We didn't bother... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Neil L, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we will certainly keep an eye on the quality of the steaks and make our supplier aware pf your comments. I will be speaking with our Bistro Manager regarding your feedback about our staff as usually we recieve great comments about the friendly service. I do hope that we will be able to welcome you... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Enjoyed a quick check in from a very friendly young girl. Room was very acceptable at the back of the main house on second floor. Beware no lift in this hotel if that's a problem for you with cases. We overlooked the courtyard and couldn't hear any noise at all and we're happy with the room. Lovely big TV in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil L, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. It was pleasing to read of your overall experience and that the staff looked after you providing friendly service. We very much look forward to wecloming you again soon Kindest Regards Neil Lewis General Manager More 

Cheddar
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having had a good visit the previous year I was somewhat disappointed this time. A number of issues: a) we had one of their best rooms but the washbasin was very badly cracked, so much so I didn't try to fill it. When I pointed this out to reception I was told "oh yes it's been like that for quite... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil L, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your constructive feedback, this will be used to re-train staff in the areas you have highlighted. A new sink is on order and as soon as it arrives we will replace the cracked one. I was pleased to hear that the staff overall were very pleasant Thank you again for your vital feedback and we look foward... More 

southampton
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful setting, sat in the walled garden in the sun, food was average, disappointed as wanted to eat there for so long, really was nothing to write home about just normal gastro pub food, went as had deal/offer would not hurry back

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Neil L, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback about a recent lunch promotion you had with us. I was sorry to hear your comments about average food, Our chef and his team work very hard to ensure all food is cooked perfeclty and if not quite right always make sure they correct any issues. We recieve great feed back about our food and... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We only stayed at the hotel for one night and right from the check in where we were warmly received and shown to our room with a quick overview of the hotel. The room was impeccably clean and well laid out. it was the Freixinet room which also had a lovely deep bath. We also dined in the restaurant and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil L, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review about your recent overnight stay with us. I was very pleased to hear that you had a realxing visit and could enjoy the perfect food. Your feedback about being rushed has been fed back to the Bistro team, so thank you for that. We very much look forward to seeing you again soon Kindest... More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From start to finish we had quite a weird experience….From ordering a "kir peche" (white wine with peach cream) where the barman said pompously "we call it a Bellini" - (actually no, a Bellini is made with sparkling wine !) to the "mousse au chocolat" which didn't have the bubbly soft texture but was looking more like a thick ice-cream,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Neil L, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest feedback, I was sorry to hear that your visit was not as expected. We very much appreciate all comments positive and negative as this helps us to improve and look into things that may need tweaking. It also helps with areas that our staff need further training on. I was pleased to hear that our... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel du vin is very well located both in terms of the station and the shops. The garden rooms are particularly good and have their own little table and chairs to relax in. The sheets are very high quality and the beds comfortable. The staff are charming. My only criciticism is that the shower (while powerful) is in the bath... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil L, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving valuable feedback about your recent stay with us. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our staff looked after you. We hope to welcome you back again very soon Kindest regards Neil More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (48)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER COLLECTION Winchester Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Winchester Hotel
The Winchester Hotel
#6 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 1,112 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#2 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#3 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 679 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#5 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay