We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wykeham Arms

4.0 of 5 75 Kingsgate Street, Winchester SO23 9PE, England
Hotel website
Special Offer
Trip Advisor - 10% off
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Wykeham Arms
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Wykeham Arms
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    89
    37
    29
    14
See reviews for
46
173
26
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (359)
  • Mar-May only
    (77)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (71)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (106)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (105)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

If you like good food and real ale (Fullers) this is an excellent pub/hotel if you want to stay although we only had lunch. It's immersed in history right next to Winchester Cathedral and the 14th century college. In winter there are log fires and in Summer a pleasant garden area. You can even sit and eat at old school... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When you book this hotel be careful, photo on booking.com do not match reality. When you make a booking the photo in the confirmation e-mail might mot be a photo of the room you will get. This happened to us and when we complained the receptionist was very rude. Overall the hotel in nice, the breakfast really good, but the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been told I have to go to The Wykeham Arms by quite a few 'foodie' friends, but there was one that whispered in my ear " it's ok, but only that" I walk past it every other Sunday on my way into Winch centre and think that 'I must go in" So the opportunity arose and my closest... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jon H, General Manager at The Wykeham Arms, responded to this review

Dear Chancie 74 I'm sorry you were disappointed on your recent visit. Please don't discard us based on one experience. Clearly we had a bad day, but this is a rarity, and we certainly don't rest on our laurels. I would appreciate the opportunity to make things right. Please drop me a line on wykehamarms.manager@fullers.co.uk. Best regards Jon Howard More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Since my last review in May 2013 I have stayed a further 3 times. Twice in one of the tiny single rooms across the road - when I was on my own and needed to leave early in the morning, and most recently in a "proper" room in the main building, On all occasions it has been excellent. The rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dorset Uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for one Friday night, the first night of the rugby six nations. We were in Winchester for our son's 21st (he's at the uni) so had lunch out and then retired to the bar for supper (food was lush) and the rugby. The staff were lovely, nothing was too much trouble. It was a very enjoyable evening in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From its location, (within walking distance of the centre of Winchester), to the quality of the accommodation, and the superb food (The Arms's two AA rosettes are well deserved), to the attentiveness of the staff, our recent stay really was excellent. . Thank you to everyone, (both front & rear of house), who made our mini break just perfect. Can't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As an occasional viewer of antiques programmes I have noticed that a term used in that world to describe a real find is a 'tommy dazzler'. The Wykeham Arms in Winchester, England is a tommy dazzler of a pub. It has a lovely relaxed atmosphere with a feeling of gently stepping back in time and has the great advantage of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Wykeham Arms is one of my regular 'locals' , usually we go there for a drink after a concert and we have eaten there before but the offer of a 20% meal-discount for my birthday was far too good an offer to resist. Consequently after a most enjoyable concert at Winchester College Music Dept., we were ready for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jon H, General Manager at The Wykeham Arms, responded to this review

Dear Andy What a pleasure to read your review. I shall certainly pass on your comments to the team who will be as thrilled as I am, I'm sure. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Best regards Jon Howard General Manager More 

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We enjoyed a lovely stay at the Wykeham Arms over Boxing Day, we were greeted and shown to our room which was their beautiful twin room in the building across from the main pub, with no faults at all. The rooms are very large, with a large bathroom and they had prepared it and made it all cosy for our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jon H, General Manager at The Wykeham Arms, responded to this review

Dear Hannah Im so glad your Christmas experience here was a fantastic one. The team did an amazing job at a very busy time for us, so full credit to them, and thank you so much for your kind words. It really makes it all worth it. I shall pass these comments on. Best regards Jon Howard General Manager More 

Salcombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
47 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015 via mobile

This pub left me very slightly disappointed. At £151 per night for B & B it was more expensive than a similar pub close by we had stayed at & I felt not such good vfm. The room was dark & the shower room very small, however the towels & toiletries were good quality. The bed was comfy & clean.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jon H, General Manager at The Wykeham Arms, responded to this review

Dear Hampshire Billet Im sorry you did not feel your room provided value for money on your recent stay. It is our aim that all of our customers leave feeling satisfied and hopefully very happy with our product. Please let me make this up to you with an upgraded room at a discounted price on your next visit. Im sure... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Wykeham Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wykeham Arms

Address: 75 Kingsgate Street, Winchester SO23 9PE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wykeham Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Wykeham Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wykeham Arms Winchester
Wykeham Arms Hotel Winchester
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#5 Business Hotel in Winchester

94 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay