We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marwell Hotel

3.0 of 5 Thompsons Lane | Colden Common, Winchester SO21 1JY, England
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marwell Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Marwell Hotel
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    230
    134
    69
    37
See reviews for
173
210
22
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (629)
  • Mar-May only
    (130)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (189)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (188)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (122)
All months
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

amazing food. nice room. friendly staff, walked across the car park to the zoo. nice pool.the manager was very nice and had time to chat. we will return!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear boxingmad, Thank you for your fantastic comments! We are so pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us here at Marwell Hotel and are glad that you found our food amazing, bedroom comfortable and our staff friendly. Our manager was delighted to chat with you; our hotel is family owned and operated so we are all... More 

Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Reception area lovely. Glass walkways to rooms freezing and dark. Bathroom in our room looked like it was out of a seventies caravan, blue sink, yellowing patch job bath seal and a missing tile replaced in a wrong colour, just shabby. We had bunk beds in the room, nice to be reminded we are having a night out without the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jayne C, Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us here at Marwell Hotel – it is a shame you were less than satisfied with your stay and found our bedrooms to be dated. We are in the process of refurbishing our hotel as we are aware some of the areas are in need of updating.... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Right.... Well firstly I think the hotel is more hostel than hotel, just the way it is laid out reminds me of an American summer camp we see on the tv. Booked on the basis that there was a gym, sauna and pool. There was a pool granted however the sauna was freezing with cold air blowing through it and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jayheighton7, Thank you for your feedback; it is very disappointing to hear your thoughts following your recent stay with us. Our hotel is designed around our beautiful natural surroundings – the ‘cabin’ style bedroom blocks are in keeping with our woodlands but it is a shame you felt these reminded you of a hostel. Our architect took inspiration from... More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Disappointed with over night stay after Xmas party.Room very cold. No hot water for shower before party.Bathroom very cold with cracked sink and shower loose on wall.Lots of dirty trays left outside rooms.Not a good first impression. Food was very good but service was appalling. About an hour between courses and started late. Fire alarm went off at 2.30am and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard B, Thank you for your feedback and we are very sorry to hear that your stay was disappointing. Your comments regarding your bedroom has been passed to our head housekeeper and maintenance team to investigate and ensure the issues are isolated problems. We are aware that some of our bedrooms are in need of updating and we are... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First room I was allocated was of poor standard. It was supposed to have been an upgrade, hate to have seen a lower grade room. With a duvet hardly big enough to cover the bed, and I hate seeing the actual bed frame without a valance, really looks tacky. 2 bedside cabinets without side lights ?? Wicker chairs like something... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Poor experience! We were sat in a room which did not look very Christmassy. It was a group of us and despite space available we were sat at two separate tables. The food was very poor and we waited a looooong time to be served our starters, mains an hour later and desserts at 10pm with no coffee to follow.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gosia F, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to attend our Christmas party night. We are sorry to hear you felt the experience was poor, and the function room you were allocated was not Christmassy. We had decorated every table with Christmas decorations but it is difficult to meet all customers' tastes. We allocated your group... More 

Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pleasantly surprised after reading some other reviews. Booked a single room and had a large en suite with double and single beds. Hotel is made up of a number of lodges linked by an enclosed walkway. Clean and warm. Staff were very helpful. Very good breakfast. Better value than staying in Winchester. Would be great for anyone visiting the zoo.... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kathryn J, Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us here at Marwell Hotel, we are delighted that you had an enjoyable visit! We are pleased that you found your bedroom comfortable, the location ideal and the hotel to be good value. It is wonderful to read that you were able to relax in our leisure... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very disappointed. After having a disgusting meal which was atleast 3 hours late . Poorly organised and being shoved into the room because there was no room anywhere else with a crap dj and no room. Rooms were clean but Bathroom plug didn't work and blocked . Toilet didn't flush properly and when woke up in the morning sewerage has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Leah18900177, Thank you for your feedback from your recent visit to Marwell Hotel. We are aware that on the night of your Christmas party, the service was not up to our usual high standards. We had a large number of staff call in sick on that night which meant that we were left extremely understaffed. We did our very... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great time at our corporate xmas party, staff were really lovely, food was lovely and hot and came out really quickly. As soon as we finished dessert the DJ started which really helped the atmosphere as we weren't waiting around to dance. The carol singers and photographer were a lovely idea and the guests loved them!! Thank you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Molly W, Thank you for your fantastic comments following your Christmas party at our hotel! It was a pleasure to welcome you to Marwell and we are delighted to hear that your group had such a great evening. We are pleased that you enjoyed the extras we provided, such as the photographer and carol singers. We would love to... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we had our works party their on 6th dec, we had to wait an 1hr 15 mins for our main course to come out, and it was stone cold.. not impressed atall, i only had 1 parsnip, 1 carrot.. and two small slices of turkey.. it was not worth the money atall.. really felt let down by marwell hotel.. my... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
MarwellHotel, Manager at Marwell Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ethan0508, Thank you for your feedback from your recent visit to Marwell Hotel. We are aware that on the night of your Christmas party, the service was not up to our usual high standards. We had a large number of staff call in sick on that night which meant that we were left extremely understaffed. We did our very... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Marwell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marwell Hotel

Address: Thompsons Lane | Colden Common, Winchester SO21 1JY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marwell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marwell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marwell Hotel Southampton

115 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (100)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay