We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 48 Winchester B&Bs / inns

The Fox and Hounds

The Fox & Hounds | Crawley, Winchester SO21 2PR, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Fox and Hounds to your Saves list
The Fox and Hounds
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
70%
Ranked #25 of 48 Winchester B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
piperfoster brighton
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    21
    10
    8
    6
See reviews for
21
40
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is probably the friendliness place we have ever stayed. We took my mother here for her birthday and she was really happy with her stay. It's really nice how you get your own little out building. The rooms are a little dated, however you get everything you need. There is a continental breakfast set up in the room but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liphook, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had to stay In the area for work commitments, found the stay at the Fox and Hounds so friendly, it was like being at home, room was fine and comfortable, the welcome and food were superb, will definitely be booking there agin next time I need to stay in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Fox & Hounds in Crawley and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Although the room perhaps needed a little updating it was clean. Both Sally and Alex were very welcoming and friendly. We decided to eat at the pub and the meal cooked by Alex was lovely. There was a very friendly "village pub" atmosphere which is what... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a stunning looking pub in a beautiful village. We booked in for one night ahead of attending Carfest locally. Despite the pub being closed when we arrived in the afternoon we rang the bell and were greeted by a friendly member of staff. Unfortunately the grounds of the pub looks somewhat rundown. The pub garden grass was over-grown and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We decided to stop for lunch in a village pub We ordered 4 home made cheeseburgers They were full or cereal and tasteless the table was sticky and the place needs a good clean from the outside it looks good but be warned its not ,we could not wait to leave

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
esenses, Owner at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Recipe for beefburgers: lean beef mince (no more than 10% fat finely chopped onion english mustard tomato salt & pepper mix well and press into shape as you can see, no cereal, not sure what you are on about, sticky tables have all been sorted, cleaned and re-varnished where necessary, capitalizing on and old comment on here, no longer true.... More

Guernsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked this accommodation many months ago as we were coming over to England for a special treat to see carfest. The village is very pretty, with a traditional pond and thatched cottages. The pub looks lovely from the outside, which is why I booked it, but what a shock when we were shown our room. Ceiling was cracked, there'd... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
esenses, Owner at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Sorry we were not there to speak with you concerning your stay, the leak in your room was repaired as quickly as our plumber could obtain parts, and redecoration requires the area perfectly dry which it wasn't by the time of your stay, the tiling was a by product of this job as the water tap used to isolate is... More

Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I would agree with all the comments made by Juskaz 12, the accommodation is awful and dirty. We were staying on a business trip and left after one night, we had had enough. The room and bathroom had a damp and musty smell, the bathroom floor was dirty, there was black mould on the ceiling in the bathroom. The walls... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
esenses, Owner at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to use use for your first tripadvisor review! we have identified the pillowcase in question and disposed of it, as a rust spot (NOT BLOOD) indeed sullies the look for the freshly made bed, the towels are in their 11th hour and are next on the agenda to replace, but the photo is of... More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We booked this last minute to attend a passing out parade and stayed for two nights. Our room was a converted stable, it was very clean and welcoming. We ate in the pub a couple of times, the food was really excellent! The land lady was lovely and so were all the other staff!

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We ate here as a family of 13 on a weekend away and opted for this pub as they would allow dogs. We booked in advance and we were given a separate room to ourselves which was perfect for our group. The food was delicious and all came out at the same time and was hot. Some of the steaks... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We have just come back from staying at the Fox and Hounds for the weekend. We were attending a friends wedding nearby and this hotel was close to the venue. The location of Crawley is beautiful and on first, external impression, the hotel looked very quaint and pleasant. Unfortunately, as we were shown to our rooms and left to settle,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
esenses, Owner at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this review

I responded to your issues face to face, and indeed as you have photographed some elements of your stay were indeed below standard, however the discount was only off one room as your mother assured me that her room was perfectly fine (as indeed it was), also the room you stayed in cannot have been truly as bad as you... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Fox and Hounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox and Hounds

Address: The Fox & Hounds | Crawley, Winchester SO21 2PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Fox and Hounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox And Hounds Hotel Winchester

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Winchester with
any amenities