We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Paternoster Row, Winchester SO23 9LQ, England
Special Offer
MERCURE SPRING OFFER
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

908 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    184
    376
    222
    75
    51
See reviews for
145
411
65
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (908)
  • Mar-May only
    (225)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (204)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (241)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (238)
All months
cuffley
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We recently stayed at this hotel. It is the perfect location for seeing all of Winchester by foot! I think the £11 a night charge for parking is too much! Having read the trip advisor comments about the early morning bin collections, I specifically asked for quiet rooms. One room was but the other wasn't. My son and daughter endured... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hernando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Right in the middle of town and not but a block from the market and pedestrian street, and another block from the cathedral. What more could you ask for in location? The staff was very friendly, accommodations comfortable, and service great. No problems with the WiFi as we read before. Only drawback was the handicapped bath. The tub was so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Donna P, I am delighted that our fantastic location was perfect for your visit to Winchester and that you r room was comfortable, experiencing no problems with the Wifi. Furthermore I was pleased that you received great service from the very friendly team and appreciate you letting us know. Thank you for choosing The Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel and... More 

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I've stayed in a number of Mecure chain hotels, so know their normal standard is OK. This was an overnight stay. Registration was quick an easy, all staff very friendly but the parking charge was a tad over the top, although I knew what it was & staff pointed out the charge in case I wanted to move the car.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pau H Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel. Please accept my apologies for the shortfalls in both maintenance standards of the room and the service received in the Restaurant. I will of course share your comment with the relevant teams who will take the appropriate action. On a... More 

Travelers are raving about these Winchester hotels

Lowdham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for an overnight stay. Staff were friendly, room was spacious and overlooked the cathedral. Car parking available. Hotel was within walking distance of all major tourist attractions. Would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ChrisD, Thank you for posting your review of Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel. I am delighted that you would choose to stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back when you do. Kind regards William McWilliam More 

Royston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this review on line via the Mercure website. We opted for this hotel as we had used Mercure and Accord in France on a number of occasions and in Europe had found them to be pleasant and welcoming. This is definitely not the case in Winchester. We deliberately avoided the breakfast option which for 2 people added an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Blacksnakerider Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Winchester Wessex. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We are recognised for the friendly and welcoming nature of our team and for the attentive service they provide. I apologise if in... More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is brilliantly located if you are visiting Winchester for the Cathedral , its literally opposite the hotel across a public footpath and the restaurant and some rooms have a great view , although rooms with a view come at a premium price. The rooms themselves are nice and comfortable with free Wi-Fi. Strangely , given it's location , the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear brian t t Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel. I am pleased you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the benefits of our superb location in the city centre I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Wiliam McWilliam More 

Purley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was easy to find just behind the shopping centre, overlooking the cathedral. Was surprised on arrival to be charged £11 per day to park the car in the hotel car park. We made our feelings known. We were upgraded to a suite which was lovely. Unfortunately my husband left a sweater in our room, but when we rang... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PhyllisD, Thank you very much for posting a review of Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel. I am pleased that you had a good stay with us and enjoyed you’re the food in the restaurant served by friendly and helpful staff. I am sorry we were unable to find the sweater and can assure you that we did indeed look thoroughly... More 

Surrey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Superb postion. We had two adjacent rooms with views to the cathedral, one with a four poster bed. Very quiet - which I had asked for. Lovely breakfast with a great choice. We might have tried the restaurant for dinner but couldn't find a menu to look at. But Winchester is full of good restaurants. Only reason I'm not giving... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pam S, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mercure Winchester Wessex. I am delighted that you had a lovely break and hope that you will chose to stay with us again in the future. Kind regards, William McWilliam More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am writing this review before leaving to go back home. I booked this a while ago direct with the hotel website at a very good price. I came to Winchester to see a show which some of my friends were in and I didn't want to travel back the same night. I checked in online via the website about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear5 Sarah L, Thank you very much for very positive feedback following your recent stay at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel. It is much appreciated by the whole team. I am delighted that you chose to make use of our online check in process and benefitted from the speedier check in and express check out procedures which is proving very popular... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

105 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (87)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay