We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Winchester hotels

Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paternoster Row, Winchester SO23 9LQ, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% OFF THIS WINTER
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
RobertEaston Wales Uk
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    333
    193
    72
    47
See reviews for
130
371
61
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (809)
  • Mar-May only
    (174)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (204)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (239)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (192)
All months
Wales Uk
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Really well situated for the Cathedral, museums and shops. The staff are very friendly and efficient. Our room was on the second floor, facing the Cathedral, although due to the weather, the view wasn't all it can be. There was no significant noise from outside. The public spaces in the hotel are quite smart, but our room, whilst clean, had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milton Keynes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great location right next to the Cathedral and shopping centre, ideal for the Christmas market which is held in the Cathedral grounds. The hotel has it's own car park (£10 per day) which is ideal and a small price to pay as it's so convenient, we parked up on the Friday afternoon and didn't use the car again until we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alison C, Thanks very much for choosing to stay at Mercure Winchester Wessex. We really are blessed with a perfect location for visiting this great city with it magnificent Cathedral and Christmas Market. I am delighted that it fitted the bill for your visit. I hope that we will have the opportunity of looking after you again the next... More

Devizes, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have recently spent a few nights at this hotel and the view of the cathedral, which is m from the restaurant is immediately adjacent is very impressive. The facilities and rooms are as you would expect for this type of hotel and in places, it would benefit from updating. That said, its proximity to the shopping centre with its... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear KJM511, Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay. I will be sharing your very kind comments with the team who will be delighted like me that they have been recognised for the polite, courteous and helpful service they provided. I hope we will see... More

Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stay in many hotels and hope we are ‘fair’ TripAdvisor reviewers. This hotel has some good points. 1. The location is excellent. Adjacent to the quite idyllic cathedral, two minutes level walk from the shops, restaurants, close to attractions, amenities and so on. Winchester is without doubt a very pleasant town. 2. As a purpose-built hotel, disabled access seems... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear nicfa, Thank you very much for sharing your observations following your recent stay at Mercure Winchester Wessex. As you rightly said, our city centre location next to the cathedral really is perfect for visiting this great heritage city with the high street shops and local attractions only a very short walk away. I am pleased to hear that you... More

Suffolk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I didn't eat in the hotel or use the bar so rate here on room only - just had coffee for breakfast but it all looked OK. Room was fine - quite hot, and was woken several times by an outside clock perhaps the guild hall, chiming every 15 min and on the hour which was a bit annoying. Location... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David W, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Our location next to the Cathedral and in the city centre is perfect for visiting Winchester whether for business or leisure and I am pleased that it suited your requirements. I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, William... More

Lochgelly, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife had to go to Winchester on business and I took the opportunity to accompany her. We stayed in a Privilege Room overlooking the cathedral. Room was very comfortable, ideally located for both of us. Staff are nice - very friendly, courteous and helpful. Would certainly stay in this hotel again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Edward B, Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted to hear that you had a comfortable stay and found the team to be very friendly and courteous. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Kind regards, William McWilliam More

Huddersfield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice hotel, comfortable, clean and well maintained. The staff are friendly and courteous. It's ideally situated for shopping and sight seeing in Winchester. Was a little noisy from outside on a night but that's not the hotels fault.Only downside is the limited and expensive parking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bluegin_13 Thank you very much for your kind comments about the hotel and the team. I am pleased you had a comfortable stay and found our location just perfect for seeing all that Winchester has to offer. Car parking is unfortunately limited, however, there is a public cart park opposite the hotel which many of our guests choose to... More

wigan, lancashire
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed as a family of 4 in 2 twin rooms. Our son was starting at a nearby barracks the following day so the location was perfect. Our rooms were large & clean, however, we all had 3/4 hours sleep if that, our rooms backed on to a street which contained large bins for the shops, the noise started at 11.30... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dawnabbie, I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the street noise during your stay. Please accept my apologies. I am pleased to advise that we are planning to install secondary double glazing which I am sure will prevent the issue re-occurring. I was very concerned to read that you were led to believe that the bar... More

Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked for one night stay Saturday night with a breakfast .Parking is a bit hit and miss and costs £10 there is a council run car park very close by and its free after 630 .Location is great right next to the Cathedral and in the heart of the city , checked in fine hotel public areas clean staff all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard3940,Thank you very much for posting a review. Our location being opposite the cathedral really is something unique. We are fortunate to be able to offer our guests such a magnificent view whether from the bedroom or the restaurant and bar. I am pleased to hear that you comfortable stay and an enjoyed your evening in the bar and... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel

Address: Paternoster Row, Winchester SO23 9LQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Wessex Winchester Hotel Winchester
Accor Wessex Winchester
Mercure Winchester

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (68)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay