We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Park Guest House

3.0 of 5 4-6 The Polygon, Southampton SO15 2BN, England (Formerly Park View Guest House)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Park Guest House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
City Park Guest House
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    2
    0
    11
See reviews for
2
11
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (30)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Lincoln
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So shabby was the entrance that i mistook it for the tradesman entrance of the neighbouring guest house. As I. Walked up to the entrance The guy in charge was outside having a cigarette anbd actually said to me "bloody customers, always want something" . After paying £100 up front for one night I tried to check in only to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestHouse77, Manager at City Park Guest House, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I will speak to Andy who covers at Weekends regarding your treatment. But I will say he has got a very Dry Laid back sense of humour. But from my point, I spoke to you personally when you booked. I did explain that if your room wasn't ready... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here from Friday to sunday and for what you have to pay we were all completely satisfied. Three of us stayed in the family room in three single beds with en suite shower room, home cooked breakfast was beautiful with the option of cereal, toast, fruit, crumpets need I go on!! For £40 each per night including breakfast in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestHouse77, Manager at City Park Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are keen to listen to what our customers have to say. Good or bad. To take the time to write a positive review makes it all worthwhile though. Thanks again More

Snt code
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This bed and breakfast accommodation was for a double room with single occupancy at a rate of £55.00 per night. I booked two nights on line through booking.com. On arrival the acting manager, there was no one else, advised that he couldn't find my key. Every time I wanted to go in and out my room he had to open... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestHouse77, Owner at City Park Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The fact that you did not have a key is totally unacceptable. The keys were taken by previous guests and I was not made aware of this. Our weekend manager is new, and it was the first weekend... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Really personal service from this place. A courtesy call to see when I would arrive, waiting late so I could arrive after reception closing, really accommodating for breakfast. Room has tea and coffee, private bathroom and a tv. Can't ask for much more comfort really.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GuestHouse77, Owner at City Park Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing a review Hopefully when visiting Southampton you'll stay with us again More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We often stay at this guest house. The staff are polite & always make you feel welcome.The rooms are homely with all essentials and the breakfasts are lovely!! Located in the centre of southampton its perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestHouse77, Manager at City Park Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review More

Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

well like everyone I read the reviews and was dreading staying at this hotel and to our surprise it was ok, it was just right for what my husband and I wanted as we were visiting our daughter and grandson, so the bed and breakfast was ideally situated, the only down all was the small shower room and it would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestHouse77, Owner at City Park Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Its appreciated. Look forward to seeing you when you visit Southampton again. More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Booked 2 rooms back in August for New Year's Eve, and New Year's Day-via laterooms.com I then got an email last week cancelling-stating that the hotel is closed over Xmas and new year. So I need to find a new hotel. I'm not happy at all!! What kind of a hotel closes for Xmas and new year?? Especially after already... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestHouse77, Owner at City Park Guest House, responded to this review

I do apologize for cancelling your booking. But you will find a lot of family run Guest Houses close over Christmas and New Year. We are not a Hotel. We do have to have a holiday ourselves. We see how things are and make a decision a couple of months prior to the holiday. Which gives our customers time to... More

kent, uk
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Dirty shower room, tatty linen, scruffy room, dirty floors, small threadbare towels. Poor service. No service at breakfast. Self service apart from asking for English breakfast, "continental buffet" = help yourself milk from fridge, cereal from plastic tubs, toast your own bread (but watch it doesn't burn because toaster is not working properly!!) - yes the sign really did say... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestHouse77, Owner at City Park Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Ours room are not dirty. I believe the room you stayed in had laminate flooring which is hoovered and mopped every day. We buy new linen on a regular basis. It can't be tatty. With regard to breakfast. We offer a continental breakfast. Yes you... More

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this place one day during the bank holiday weekend with my mates and have to say it's just what you need if you want somewhere cheap to stay close to everything! Staff member was helpful & friendly, slept well & freshly cooked breakfast in the morning, sorted!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GuestHouse77, Owner at City Park Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Guest House. Look forward to seeing you in the future. More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this guest house over the weekend with my partner and daughter. I booked the room at short notice on Friday with no problems. I arrived with my family Saturday afternoon and shown to room 1 which was on the ground floor at the front. The room was light and airy. There were 3 single beds so I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestHouse77, Owner at City Park Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to City Park Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Park Guest House

Address: 4-6 The Polygon, Southampton SO15 2BN, England (Formerly Park View Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Park Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your City Park Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay