We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 41 Southampton B&Bs / inns

City Park Guest House

Save
You added City Park Guest House to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   4-6 The Polygon, Southampton SO15 2BN, England (Formerly Park View Guest House)
Hotel amenities
City Park Guest House
Ranked #30 of 41 Southampton B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southampton
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    11
    2
    0
    11
See reviews for
2
12
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (32)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
U.K.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

I selected this Guest House from amongst several in the area on the strength of its clear, informative website and was able to book, even choose a room, online. Confirmation, by e-mail, was prompt. My single room was at the back, overlooking a pedestrian short-cut between the Mayflower theatre and a park square - I expected noise but, in fact,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

I managed to book a double ensuite at the last minute (the evening before) for £55. The place is a bargain if you are just wanting to get your head down after a day of shopping and an evening of pubs and food. Our room, although small, was ready and very clean (we arrived at 2pm) and the bed was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lincoln
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014 via mobile

So shabby was the entrance that i mistook it for the tradesman entrance of the neighbouring guest house. As I. Walked up to the entrance The guy in charge was outside having a cigarette anbd actually said to me "bloody customers, always want something" . After paying £100 up front for one night I tried to check in only to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestHouse77, Manager at City Park Guest House, responded to this review

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I will speak to Andy who covers at Weekends regarding your treatment. But I will say he has got a very Dry Laid back sense of humour. But from my point, I spoke to you personally when you booked. I did explain that if your room wasn't ready... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here from Friday to sunday and for what you have to pay we were all completely satisfied. Three of us stayed in the family room in three single beds with en suite shower room, home cooked breakfast was beautiful with the option of cereal, toast, fruit, crumpets need I go on!! For £40 each per night including breakfast in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestHouse77, Manager at City Park Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are keen to listen to what our customers have to say. Good or bad. To take the time to write a positive review makes it all worthwhile though. Thanks again More 

Snt code
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This bed and breakfast accommodation was for a double room with single occupancy at a rate of £55.00 per night. I booked two nights on line through booking.com. On arrival the acting manager, there was no one else, advised that he couldn't find my key. Every time I wanted to go in and out my room he had to open... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestHouse77, Owner at City Park Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The fact that you did not have a key is totally unacceptable. The keys were taken by previous guests and I was not made aware of this. Our weekend manager is new, and it was the first weekend... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Really personal service from this place. A courtesy call to see when I would arrive, waiting late so I could arrive after reception closing, really accommodating for breakfast. Room has tea and coffee, private bathroom and a tv. Can't ask for much more comfort really.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GuestHouse77, Owner at City Park Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing a review Hopefully when visiting Southampton you'll stay with us again More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We often stay at this guest house. The staff are polite & always make you feel welcome.The rooms are homely with all essentials and the breakfasts are lovely!! Located in the centre of southampton its perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestHouse77, Manager at City Park Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

well like everyone I read the reviews and was dreading staying at this hotel and to our surprise it was ok, it was just right for what my husband and I wanted as we were visiting our daughter and grandson, so the bed and breakfast was ideally situated, the only down all was the small shower room and it would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestHouse77, Owner at City Park Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Its appreciated. Look forward to seeing you when you visit Southampton again. More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Booked 2 rooms back in August for New Year's Eve, and New Year's Day-via laterooms.com I then got an email last week cancelling-stating that the hotel is closed over Xmas and new year. So I need to find a new hotel. I'm not happy at all!! What kind of a hotel closes for Xmas and new year?? Especially after already... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestHouse77, Owner at City Park Guest House, responded to this review

I do apologize for cancelling your booking. But you will find a lot of family run Guest Houses close over Christmas and New Year. We are not a Hotel. We do have to have a holiday ourselves. We see how things are and make a decision a couple of months prior to the holiday. Which gives our customers time to... More 

kent, uk
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Dirty shower room, tatty linen, scruffy room, dirty floors, small threadbare towels. Poor service. No service at breakfast. Self service apart from asking for English breakfast, "continental buffet" = help yourself milk from fridge, cereal from plastic tubs, toast your own bread (but watch it doesn't burn because toaster is not working properly!!) - yes the sign really did say... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestHouse77, Owner at City Park Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Ours room are not dirty. I believe the room you stayed in had laminate flooring which is hoovered and mopped every day. We buy new linen on a regular basis. It can't be tatty. With regard to breakfast. We offer a continental breakfast. Yes you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to City Park Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Park Guest House

Address: 4-6 The Polygon, Southampton SO15 2BN, England (Formerly Park View Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Park Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay