We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 38 Southampton B&Bs / inns

City Park Guest House

3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   4-6 The Polygon, Southampton SO15 2BN, England (Formerly Park View Guest House)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added City Park Guest House to your Saves list
City Park Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
59%
Ranked #31 of 38 Southampton B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014
TalesFromLoz London, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (27)
  • Photos (14)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (5)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    2
    0
    9
See reviews for
2
11
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Really personal service from this place. A courtesy call to see when I would arrive, waiting late so I could arrive after reception closing, really accommodating for breakfast. Room has tea and coffee, private bathroom and a tv. Can't ask for much more comfort really.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GuestHouse77, Owner at City Park Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing a review Hopefully when visiting Southampton you'll stay with us again More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We often stay at this guest house. The staff are polite & always make you feel welcome.The rooms are homely with all essentials and the breakfasts are lovely!! Located in the centre of southampton its perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

well like everyone I read the reviews and was dreading staying at this hotel and to our surprise it was ok, it was just right for what my husband and I wanted as we were visiting our daughter and grandson, so the bed and breakfast was ideally situated, the only down all was the small shower room and it would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestHouse77, Owner at City Park Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Its appreciated. Look forward to seeing you when you visit Southampton again. More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Booked 2 rooms back in August for New Year's Eve, and New Year's Day-via laterooms.com I then got an email last week cancelling-stating that the hotel is closed over Xmas and new year. So I need to find a new hotel. I'm not happy at all!! What kind of a hotel closes for Xmas and new year?? Especially after already... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestHouse77, Owner at City Park Guest House, responded to this review

I do apologize for cancelling your booking. But you will find a lot of family run Guest Houses close over Christmas and New Year. We are not a Hotel. We do have to have a holiday ourselves. We see how things are and make a decision a couple of months prior to the holiday. Which gives our customers time to... More

kent, uk
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Dirty shower room, tatty linen, scruffy room, dirty floors, small threadbare towels. Poor service. No service at breakfast. Self service apart from asking for English breakfast, "continental buffet" = help yourself milk from fridge, cereal from plastic tubs, toast your own bread (but watch it doesn't burn because toaster is not working properly!!) - yes the sign really did say... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestHouse77, Owner at City Park Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Ours room are not dirty. I believe the room you stayed in had laminate flooring which is hoovered and mopped every day. We buy new linen on a regular basis. It can't be tatty. With regard to breakfast. We offer a continental breakfast. Yes you... More

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this place one day during the bank holiday weekend with my mates and have to say it's just what you need if you want somewhere cheap to stay close to everything! Staff member was helpful & friendly, slept well & freshly cooked breakfast in the morning, sorted!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GuestHouse77, Owner at City Park Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Guest House. Look forward to seeing you in the future. More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this guest house over the weekend with my partner and daughter. I booked the room at short notice on Friday with no problems. I arrived with my family Saturday afternoon and shown to room 1 which was on the ground floor at the front. The room was light and airy. There were 3 single beds so I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestHouse77, Owner at City Park Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. More

London UK
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here over the recent Bank Holiday. This place is comfortable and very well run. The rooms are a bit on the small side but well furnished and spotlessly clean. I found the shower room slightly too small for me, but I am over 6' and 15 stone so I suppose I take up a lot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestHouse77, Owner at City Park Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Guest House. We look forward to you staying with us again. More

Lismore, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a nice comfortable guest house in a great location.Friendly staff & reasonable rates. Efficiently run, it ticks all the boxes for a few days stay in Southampton. Nice breakfast. No complaints from me. Limited carparking didn't cause me a problem cos the owner found me a nice spot just outside the door. If you are not going to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestHouse77, Owner at City Park Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Guest House. We appreciate it very much. Look forward to seeing you when visit Southampton again More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed in this B&B back in September 2012 for a away football weekend with a group of friends. I found the B&B online and had prompt a reply to my reservation requests and booked without hassle. The B&B was well priced at £30 per night for a single room. The B&B is situated in a great location, just a short... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GuestHouse77, Owner at City Park Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our Guest House Look forward to seeing you in the future. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage City Park Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to City Park Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Park Guest House

Address: 4-6 The Polygon, Southampton SO15 2BN, England (Formerly Park View Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Park Guest House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your City Park Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Southampton with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
12

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from City Park Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer