We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Hotel website
Hotel deals
34 - 35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Special Offer
MERCURE SPRING OFFER
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Terry C London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    328
    207
    95
    49
See reviews for
139
380
64
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (878)
  • Mar-May only
    (227)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (242)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (208)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (201)
All months
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We went as part of an event, we had the choice of 3 hotels, thinking it would be nice we paid the extra to stay at the mercure, we wouldve been better saving out money and choosing the ibis budget! The bath was chipped, the shower was weak, even cold on the evening before the event, the wardrobe doors were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Nikki J Thank you for your review I am very sorry to read you were disapointed with your stay for which you have my sincere apologies. I will be in touch to dicuss your feedback and resolve the matters. Kind regards Neil Brailsford General Manager Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here last week. I have stayed at the hotel before and the big bonus is the location. It is great for the cruise ports and also for venturing out in the evening to a nice restaurant. The main shopping areas are just a few minutes walk away. Free wifi code is given on request at check in and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Terry C Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to review your stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel. Delighed to read you enjoyed your stay and I will ensure your feedback is shared with the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon. kind regards Neil Brailsford General Manager More 

Gosport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed in room 223 which is very tired-paint peeling from the radiator, ceiling and walls.Heavy dust to curtains and skirting-bathroom needs a total refurbishment as old and tired but the bed was comfortable and clean. Help yourself breakfast was ok but erratic as not all dishes arrived at the same time so had to keep popping back to see... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Karen99901 Thank you for your review following you recent stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel. I was sorry to read there some parts of your stay that were not up to our usual high standards, for which I sincerely apologise. We value all customer feedback and I would like to assure you the points... More 

paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I booked this hotel based on the reviews, assuming it would be quaint and charming - it really isn't. There is no heating in the rooms, and the decor is particularly grubby. The hotel bar can get quite busy on some weeknights, so I had to ask the manager to move me to another room at 1am.

Was this review helpful? Yes
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear the_schmoo Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. I was sorry to read your experience was not to our usual high standards for which I sincerely apologise. Your comments will be used to help us review and improve the level of service and facilities we offer. kind regards Neil Brailsford General... More 

Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

have stayed here for 16 weeks staff are wonderful food cooked for us as you wont it . It was the hotel too choose by 9 of us when working in Southampton had fun nights with the staff will miss the place when we leave end of April

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Nigel G Thank you for your review, delighted to read you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for choosing us. I will ensure your kind words are shared with the team. kind regards Neil Brailsford General Manager Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As soon as I arrived at the revolving door entrance I saw the warning signs of a potential bad experience. The glass section of the doors were dirty, and the brass door fittings even worse. The flooring the door sits on looked like a baby elephant had been practising tap dancing after a day wallowing in mud! Reception and check-in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Peter D Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your recent stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel. I am very sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay and in particular your allocated room for which I sincerely apologise. As you mention the rooms in this area of the hotel... More 

St.austell
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We always stay at the Dolphin when in Southampton. Some days we stay for a weekend, others we use the stay and cruise package. It is very reasonable to park your car here . The staff are always very polite and helpful. The food is always excellent.

Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear tmvercoe Thank you for posting our 870th review on tripadvisor. Delighted to read you enjoyed your weekend break with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel soon. kind regards Neil Brailsford General Manager More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My children arranged for us to go here for Mother's Day afternoon tea....well wat can I say,was lovely ,way to much but lovely .staff where very friendly and attentive .highly recommend.we didn't stay here just used as a restaurant.THe hotel looks weathered from outside ,but it makes up for it inside .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Pompeysmurf Thank you for reviewing your Mothers Day treat with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel. Really pleased you enjoyed your visit and I will ensure your kind words are shared with the team. kind regards Neil Brailsford General Manager More 

Southampton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

attended a function last week and bar service very poor, slow and unable to cope. One of the lager pipes turning the beverage sour, was known but still using No apologies, replacement or acknowledgements Shame really

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear the_londoners29 Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your visit to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel. I am sorry to read you were disapointed for which I sincerely apologise. I can confirm the issue with the pipes has now been addressed. kind regards Neil Brailsford General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

151 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (125)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question