We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

4.0 of 5 34 - 35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    292
    185
    86
    44
See reviews for
122
341
58
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (774)
  • Mar-May only
    (209)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (242)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (188)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (135)
All months
Aldridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

All in all very good-even has a car park-a little difficult to find first time round. Right on high street, therefore everything you may require is nearby. My wife has used it twice-myself once. Would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear John C Thank you for reviewing your stays with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel. Pleased to read you enjoy staying with us and we appreciate your loyalty - thank you. We look forward to seeing you soon. kind regards Neil Brailsford General Manager More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose the dolphin after previousley staying at the jurys inn and a premier inn, in Southampton, both of these we hated due to the noise and constent stream of young party goers coming in early hours of the morning, We needed to find a hotel that we can use when coming down to visit our son, and we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear catherine b Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel. Really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and had a good nights sleep, I will of course ensure your feedback is shared with the team. We hope to see you again soon. kind regards Neil Brailsford... More

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is in a great location and walking distance from lots of good shopping, restaurants and bars. The bed was comfortable, curtains where good for keeping the light out. Shower on the other hand was shocking and needs to be improved. A good shower is very important. £5 charge for room service was a bit much I thought, when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear powlo88 Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel. Really appreciate all the feedback that will be addressed and also pleased to read there were also positive aspects of your stay. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. kind regards Neil... More

Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our son and new daughter in law chose the Mercure Dolphin for the venue for their Wedding Reception, a well known Southampton establishment. From start to finish on the day the service and facilities were far beyond excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff and they actively sought to go out of their way to provide... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Phillip B Thank you for your review. Delighted to read your son and daughter in laws wedding day was one to remember and I will ensure your kind words are shared with the team who will be delighted. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. kind regards Neil Brailsford General Manager Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin... More

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in the old stables, large pleasant room. Food in the restaurant was very good. Very good price. Great place to stay pre or post cruise. We walked to the cruise ship terminal (Princess) only had one medium wheelie bag each. If you need transfers from Heathrow read on! Used Smithsforairport 15th August 2014 from Heathrow to Southampton £80 meet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear PaulDM8 Thank you for posting our 470th review for the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel Great to read you enjoyed your stay and I will ensure your kind words about the food are shared with the head chef and his team who will be delighted. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Neil Brailsford... More

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the Mecure Dolphin for a long weekend in September. Hotel is extremely comfy and relaxed and a short walk from all that Southampton has to offer. Our room at the hotel was fabulous, it had a separate living area and TV in both rooms. Buffet breakfast was first class and we were so close to the port that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear waparker2 Thank you for reviewing your stay with us really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and I will ensure your kind words are shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel in the future. Kind regards Neil Brailsford General Manager More

Suffolk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Two nights, business. Booked from Booking.com and I have to say my heart sank when I pulled up in the taxi from the station. The exterior of the hotel was awful. I was interviewing here and this was not ideal. My room was one of the ones in the outside walk way. I did not like it as the walkway... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Derek W Thank you for reviewing your stay with us her at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel. Really sorry to read there were elements of your stay you did not like for which I apologise. We would have welcomed the opportunity of addressing some of these points whilst you were staying with us unfortunately we cannot chose our... More

Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After previously using the 'disappointing' Hilton in Southampton for our cruise package we decided to try an alternative hotel. The Mercure Dolpin hotel is a Grade II listed building and is a centrally located in Southampton. The cruise deal is very good value for £209.00, you get B&B, EM, Parking & taxi transfers. As stated by previous users of this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Beechy2000 Thank you for choosing to stay with us before your cruise departure. Pleased to read there were lots of positive aspects to your stay and appreciate the constructive comments that have been noted. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel soon. kind regards Neil Brailsford General Manager More

London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As we were visiting the boat show this was a great central location. Hotel very old, in a good way, and very clean. Our room was overlooking the high street. It was a good size, modern and clean. It was a very hot day and the windows were opened. The room was noisy and very hot. The hotel did supply... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear AliAnders Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel during the boat show. Pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and I will ensure your kind words are shared with the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon. kind regards Neil Brailsford General Manager More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've stayed many times at this hotel. Cons: Every room is too hot. Any room on the front or along the ally running down the centre of the hotel is too loud, especially the lower rooms. Creaky floors. Staff can be pretentious if you don't look the part. I found the previous tenants underwear under my bed. Bad shower heads... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Priceyl10 Thank you for talking the time to post you feedback I am pleased to read there are positive aspects along side the constructive comments that have been noted Your feedback about the team is very surprising the team work very hard to provide our guests with a good experience and we regularly receive compliments as you will see... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Address: 34 - 35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel Southampton
Southampton Dolphin Hotel

138 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (113)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay