We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

4.0 of 5 34 - 35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Hotel website
Special Offer
UP TO 40% OFF THIS SUMMER
#13 of 23 hotels in Southampton
750 Reviews 3.5 of 5 stars
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
  • Overview
  • Reviews (750)
  • Photos (136)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (194)
  • Location
  • More
Save Saved
You added Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin to your Saves list
true
Write a Review

750 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    283
    177
    83
    43
See reviews for
116
330
58
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed at this hotel at short notice for anniversary break as let down by another hotel was put into a privilege room very nice room nice bed free drinks lovely bathroom breakfast nice choice staff very nice 5mins to red funnel ferry 5mins to town centre only down side walls are a bit thin could hear the guy snoring next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear reaper-grim Thank you for reviewing your anniversary stay with us. Really appreciate all your feedback and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel in the future. kind regards Neil Brailsford General Manager More

Nottingham
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A two night stay for a family wedding worked well for us. The excellent old town location, on-site parking, decent breakfasts,combined with very helpful staff made this an enjoyable experience. Perhaps more could be made of the historic internal courtyards but they did ensure a quiet night's sleep!

Was this review helpful? Yes
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear MandJNottingham Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel. Really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon kind regards Neil Brailsford General Manager More

Rushden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good points first. The public areas of the hotel are just find and the staff very friendly and polite. I had breakfast here and there's a food choice of food and drinks, all very nice. My room was very disappointing (401). Says a lot when there are two pairs of foam ear plugs on the bedside cabinet. I assumed that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear GlennRobinson Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay with us. Really appreciate all your comments that will be addressed and my apologies you did not enjoy the best nights sleep. We do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel to restore your... More

Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here on August 2 for one night before boarding a cruise ship. What a lovely hotel! Centrally located and walking distance to so many things. The hotel says it is 500 years old so dont expect huge rooms, but the bathrooms were quite a surprise! Large bathroom with tub and shower! There is no AC but apparently historic... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear CaboLaura Thank you for reviewing your stay, really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and would recommend the hotels to others which is fantastic to hear. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel in the future. kind regards Neil Brailsford General Manager More

Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel for a one night stay in Southampton after visiting friends - the deal was fairly cheap so it was hard to say no. Locating the hotel wasn't much of a problem. Although once we had found it we has great trouble finding the free parking as advertised. We assumed we should drive through the archway... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Mikelayer Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel. I was sorry to read about the lack of water pressure in your allocated room, I will ensure this is checked. A lack of water pressure if not something we have an issue with here at the... More

Buxton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were given an outside room, no17. It was dark inside even with lights on. The bathroom and toilet were straight out of Cell Block H. The carpet on the floor was well trodden, but vey poorly fitted and was a series of trip hazards. The room being on the outside was quite noisy from early in the morning as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Phileyland L Thank you for reviewing you recent stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel, I was sorry to read you were disapointed with your allocated room for which I sincerely apologise. I will be addressing the points raised thank you for bringing them to my attention. Due to the age of the building we... More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend as we were going out in a powerboat with Sabermarine (recommend an excellent day out on solent). We booked in advance and got a very good deal. The staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful.The rooms are nicely decorated and clean. We went in July with some very hot weather,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Hanter2512 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, delighted to read you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. kind regards Neil Brailsford General Manager Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel More

HMB
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were very disappointed. The location was good, but that was about all. The floor was very noisy. Getting up at night awakened my travel partner. Water in the shower was a problem. No shower curtain - water all over the floor, etc

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Pam T Thank you for your review I was sorry to read you were disapointed with the hotel for which I sincerely apologise. There is no getting away from the fact the hotel is old, it is one of the oldest buildings in the city and with that comes some squeekly floorboards, but I will ensure your points in... More

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The best of both worlds here - the charm of an old coaching inn with the comforts of a top class hotel - including tea and coffee, iron, free wi fi and decent toiletries in the room - comfortable bed and excellent breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful - this was a business trip and I would definitely visit again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Ruth J Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel. Delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and I will ensure your feedback is shared with the team, we look forward to seeing you soon. kind regards Neil Brailsford General Manager More

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is extremely well located for the City Centre and cruise terminals. Parking is easy. Staff were friendly and helpful. The building is old and attractive from the outside. Unfortunately the interior decor does nothing to emphasise the history or enhance the features, it is bland and inoffensive. Our room was probably the smallest double room we have ever... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Nick A Thank you for posting our 740th review on trip advisor. We really appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel in the future. kind regards Neil Brailsford General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Address: 34 - 35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel Southampton
Southampton Dolphin Hotel

136 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (111)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Southampton with
any amenities

Amenities

Hotel Style
#4 Luxury Hotel in
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel is a stunning Grade II listed 4 star hotel located in the heart of Southampton - offering a modern and contemporary feel, while maintaining its traditional appeal. Perfectly located to explore the historic old town and walls, extensive shopping centre within walking distance and the perfect place to stay before and after your cruise with park and cruise packages available.Free Wifi available throughout the hotel.Privilege rooms now available. On site car parking available however there is a charge for this service. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
99

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer