We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Southampton hotels

Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 - 35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ADVANCE SAVER - 30% OFF
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin to your Saves list
60%
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Southampton
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Derek W Suffolk, United Kingdom
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    289
    184
    86
    44
See reviews for
120
338
58
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (768)
  • Mar-May only
    (209)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (242)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (182)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (135)
All months
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Two nights, business. Booked from Booking.com and I have to say my heart sank when I pulled up in the taxi from the station. The exterior of the hotel was awful. I was interviewing here and this was not ideal. My room was one of the ones in the outside walk way. I did not like it as the walkway... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Derek W Thank you for reviewing your stay with us her at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel. Really sorry to read there were elements of your stay you did not like for which I apologise. We would have welcomed the opportunity of addressing some of these points whilst you were staying with us unfortunately we cannot chose our... More

Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After previously using the 'disappointing' Hilton in Southampton for our cruise package we decided to try an alternative hotel. The Mercure Dolpin hotel is a Grade II listed building and is a centrally located in Southampton. The cruise deal is very good value for £209.00, you get B&B, EM, Parking & taxi transfers. As stated by previous users of this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Beechy2000 Thank you for choosing to stay with us before your cruise departure. Pleased to read there were lots of positive aspects to your stay and appreciate the constructive comments that have been noted. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel soon. kind regards Neil Brailsford General Manager More

London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As we were visiting the boat show this was a great central location. Hotel very old, in a good way, and very clean. Our room was overlooking the high street. It was a good size, modern and clean. It was a very hot day and the windows were opened. The room was noisy and very hot. The hotel did supply... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear AliAnders Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel during the boat show. Pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and I will ensure your kind words are shared with the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon. kind regards Neil Brailsford General Manager More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed many times at this hotel. Cons: Every room is too hot. Any room on the front or along the ally running down the centre of the hotel is too loud, especially the lower rooms. Creaky floors. Staff can be pretentious if you don't look the part. I found the previous tenants underwear under my bed. Bad shower heads... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Priceyl10 Thank you for talking the time to post you feedback I am pleased to read there are positive aspects along side the constructive comments that have been noted Your feedback about the team is very surprising the team work very hard to provide our guests with a good experience and we regularly receive compliments as you will see... More

Northamptonshire
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
50 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Dolphin is an historic old hotel in a great location in Southampton and it has parking (payable) on site. whilst the age of the hotel is part of its charm, it is also responsible for its major drawback as there is no air conditioning in bedrooms and the windows are small so the rooms can get very hot. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Stevew07 Thank you for taking the time to review you stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel. We value your thoughts that are important to us. Kind regards Neil Brailsford General Manager More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
47 hotel reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel as it was conveniently located for where we needed to be for this visit. Right in the centre of Southampton, near West Quay. However, despite arriving before 4pm, we were impolitely told that there was not any space available in the hotel car park and to park in the NCP. It was obvious to us that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear TravelFun24 Thank you for your third review, your feedback is really appreciated. I was sorry to read you had problems parking your car, this area does get very busy but we do work very hard to manage the space and have a system in place for the vehicles on park and cruise package. Our location does mean that there... More

Rugby
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just returned from this hotel having fortunately only suffered one night. The rooms are small and shabby. There is no air conditioning (not usually required in the UK) which meant that our top floor room became overheated with windows blocked to stop suicides I suppose. Had the room been half the price we might have thought it OK... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Steve D Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel. I was very sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay for which I sincerely apologise and would like to assure you the points raised will be addressed. Kind regards Neil Brailsford General Manager More

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was in a a room that was at the very rear of the hotel overlooking the car park and over the staff entrance. Had to sleep with window wide open as fan was like a limp lettuce but that was not an issue till the staff start going home late evening. Doors slamming, trolley of laundry rattling over cobbles all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Daren S Thank you for your review and my sincere apologies that you did not enjoy your fifth stay as much as your four previous visits for which I sincereley apologise. I will of course investigate your comments and do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back. kind regards Neil Brailsford General Manager Mercure Southampton Centre... More

Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed one night in late June 2014. Probably due to booking not very far in advance, the price was nearly as much as I paid for three star accommodation in central Paris (140 GBP/175 Euro), but due to the timing I didn't have much choice. Location is reasonable, with direct bus access right from the airport (take the airport bus... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Irishiceman Thank you for reviewing your stay in June, your feedback is important to us. I was pleased to read there were some positive elements to your stay and it is nice to read you enjoyed a good nights sleep. We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin in the... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for night prior to collecting in laws from cruise. Room was small, bathroom very old. Most disappointing was no air conditioning and couldn't open window as next to service entrance. Car was parked in, reception staff said they would request guest to move in morning so as to not disturb there evening. Too bad for us who would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Lauurren Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to read there were elments to your stay that were not up to our usual high standards for which I sincerely apologise. I will of course be addressing the points raised and do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. kind regards Neil Brailsford... More

Do you own or manage Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Address: 34 - 35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel Southampton
Southampton Dolphin Hotel

138 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (113)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Enlarge Map