We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Southampton hotels

Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 - 35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 40% OFF THIS SUMMER
Save Saved
You added Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin to your Saves list
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
61%
Ranked #13 of 23 hotels in Southampton
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Dougiedad edinburgh
  • Overview
  • Reviews (752)
  • Photos (136)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (195)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

752 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    283
    178
    83
    43
See reviews for
116
331
58
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

2nd stay here and yet again WiFi is hopeless! . Hotel is OK but couldnt do much work as WiFi kept dropping out and its worse in the room. It was difficult to get lunch in the bar as there was nobody around and unfortunately they also got the order for 2 sandwiches wrong As a business traveller I've given... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed at this hotel on several occasions and use their "Stay & Park" facilities prior to sailing on a cruise from Southampton. The service and the staff are both very good. The hotel is located in the main High Street but is quiet & relaxed. Recommended for anyone wanting a good quality hotel in the city.

Was this review helpful? Yes
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Hecate2014 Thank you for reviewing your stays with us and for your loyalty to the hotel it is very much appreciated. I will of course share your feedback with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel before your next cruise departure. kind regards Neil Brailsford General Manager More

Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed at this hotel at short notice for anniversary break as let down by another hotel was put into a privilege room very nice room nice bed free drinks lovely bathroom breakfast nice choice staff very nice 5mins to red funnel ferry 5mins to town centre only down side walls are a bit thin could hear the guy snoring next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear reaper-grim Thank you for reviewing your anniversary stay with us. Really appreciate all your feedback and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel in the future. kind regards Neil Brailsford General Manager More

Nottingham
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A two night stay for a family wedding worked well for us. The excellent old town location, on-site parking, decent breakfasts,combined with very helpful staff made this an enjoyable experience. Perhaps more could be made of the historic internal courtyards but they did ensure a quiet night's sleep!

Was this review helpful? Yes
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear MandJNottingham Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel. Really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon kind regards Neil Brailsford General Manager More

Rushden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good points first. The public areas of the hotel are just find and the staff very friendly and polite. I had breakfast here and there's a food choice of food and drinks, all very nice. My room was very disappointing (401). Says a lot when there are two pairs of foam ear plugs on the bedside cabinet. I assumed that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear GlennRobinson Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent stay with us. Really appreciate all your comments that will be addressed and my apologies you did not enjoy the best nights sleep. We do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel to restore your... More

Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here on August 2 for one night before boarding a cruise ship. What a lovely hotel! Centrally located and walking distance to so many things. The hotel says it is 500 years old so dont expect huge rooms, but the bathrooms were quite a surprise! Large bathroom with tub and shower! There is no AC but apparently historic... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear CaboLaura Thank you for reviewing your stay, really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and would recommend the hotels to others which is fantastic to hear. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel in the future. kind regards Neil Brailsford General Manager More

Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel for a one night stay in Southampton after visiting friends - the deal was fairly cheap so it was hard to say no. Locating the hotel wasn't much of a problem. Although once we had found it we has great trouble finding the free parking as advertised. We assumed we should drive through the archway... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Mikelayer Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel. I was sorry to read about the lack of water pressure in your allocated room, I will ensure this is checked. A lack of water pressure if not something we have an issue with here at the... More

Buxton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were given an outside room, no17. It was dark inside even with lights on. The bathroom and toilet were straight out of Cell Block H. The carpet on the floor was well trodden, but vey poorly fitted and was a series of trip hazards. The room being on the outside was quite noisy from early in the morning as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Phileyland L Thank you for reviewing you recent stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel, I was sorry to read you were disapointed with your allocated room for which I sincerely apologise. I will be addressing the points raised thank you for bringing them to my attention. Due to the age of the building we... More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend as we were going out in a powerboat with Sabermarine (recommend an excellent day out on solent). We booked in advance and got a very good deal. The staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful.The rooms are nicely decorated and clean. We went in July with some very hot weather,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Hanter2512 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, delighted to read you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. kind regards Neil Brailsford General Manager Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel More

HMB
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were very disappointed. The location was good, but that was about all. The floor was very noisy. Getting up at night awakened my travel partner. Water in the shower was a problem. No shower curtain - water all over the floor, etc

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Pam T Thank you for your review I was sorry to read you were disapointed with the hotel for which I sincerely apologise. There is no getting away from the fact the hotel is old, it is one of the oldest buildings in the city and with that comes some squeekly floorboards, but I will ensure your points in... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Address: 34 - 35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel Southampton
Southampton Dolphin Hotel

136 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (111)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Southampton with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#4 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel is a stunning Grade II listed 4 star hotel located in the heart of Southampton - offering a modern and contemporary feel, while maintaining its traditional appeal. Perfectly located to explore the historic old town and walls, extensive shopping centre within walking distance and the perfect place to stay before and after your cruise with park and cruise packages available.Free Wifi available throughout the hotel.Privilege rooms now available. On site car parking available however there is a charge for this service. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
99

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer