We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Southampton hotels

Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 - 35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 40% OFF THIS SUMMER
Save Saved
You added Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin to your Saves list
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
61%
Ranked #13 of 23 hotels in Southampton
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
CaboLaura Calgary
  • Reviews (747)
  • Photos (139)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (193)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

747 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    282
    176
    83
    43
See reviews for
116
330
58
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here on August 2 for one night before boarding a cruise ship. What a lovely hotel! Centrally located and walking distance to so many things. The hotel says it is 500 years old so dont expect huge rooms, but the bathrooms were quite a surprise! Large bathroom with tub and shower! There is no AC but apparently historic... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel for a one night stay in Southampton after visiting friends - the deal was fairly cheap so it was hard to say no. Locating the hotel wasn't much of a problem. Although once we had found it we has great trouble finding the free parking as advertised. We assumed we should drive through the archway... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Mikelayer Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel. I was sorry to read about the lack of water pressure in your allocated room, I will ensure this is checked. A lack of water pressure if not something we have an issue with here at the... More

Buxton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were given an outside room, no17. It was dark inside even with lights on. The bathroom and toilet were straight out of Cell Block H. The carpet on the floor was well trodden, but vey poorly fitted and was a series of trip hazards. The room being on the outside was quite noisy from early in the morning as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Phileyland L Thank you for reviewing you recent stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel, I was sorry to read you were disapointed with your allocated room for which I sincerely apologise. I will be addressing the points raised thank you for bringing them to my attention. Due to the age of the building we... More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend as we were going out in a powerboat with Sabermarine (recommend an excellent day out on solent). We booked in advance and got a very good deal. The staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful.The rooms are nicely decorated and clean. We went in July with some very hot weather,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Hanter2512 Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, delighted to read you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. kind regards Neil Brailsford General Manager Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel More

HMB
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were very disappointed. The location was good, but that was about all. The floor was very noisy. Getting up at night awakened my travel partner. Water in the shower was a problem. No shower curtain - water all over the floor, etc

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Pam T Thank you for your review I was sorry to read you were disapointed with the hotel for which I sincerely apologise. There is no getting away from the fact the hotel is old, it is one of the oldest buildings in the city and with that comes some squeekly floorboards, but I will ensure your points in... More

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The best of both worlds here - the charm of an old coaching inn with the comforts of a top class hotel - including tea and coffee, iron, free wi fi and decent toiletries in the room - comfortable bed and excellent breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful - this was a business trip and I would definitely visit again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Ruth J Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel. Delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and I will ensure your feedback is shared with the team, we look forward to seeing you soon. kind regards Neil Brailsford General Manager More

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is extremely well located for the City Centre and cruise terminals. Parking is easy. Staff were friendly and helpful. The building is old and attractive from the outside. Unfortunately the interior decor does nothing to emphasise the history or enhance the features, it is bland and inoffensive. Our room was probably the smallest double room we have ever... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Nick A Thank you for posting our 740th review on trip advisor. We really appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel in the future. kind regards Neil Brailsford General Manager More

Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Quite quaint, old and showing it BUT we were happy with our stay of one night as we had travelled non stop from New Zealand. A few stairs to climb with suitcases as well as the lift. We ate out as the hotel was right in the middle of town.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Jeff H Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the city and hope you will get the opportunity to dine with us. kind regards Neil Brailsford General Manager Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel More

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked in advance as we were heading out to Cowes on Saturday and after a busy day wanted to stay in a nice hotel to rest our weary bodies before making the trip home on Sunday. We checked in and were 'told' where our room was, when we opened the door we were greeted by the musty/damp smell of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
NBrailsford, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Morriori Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel. I am sorry to read of the problems you encountered for which I sincereley apologise. I would like to assure you we can cater for all dietary requirements and take these very seriously. Further more I would like to assure you such... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Address: 34 - 35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel Southampton
Southampton Dolphin Hotel

139 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (111)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Southampton with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#4 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel is a stunning Grade II listed 4 star hotel located in the heart of Southampton - offering a modern and contemporary feel, while maintaining its traditional appeal. Perfectly located to explore the historic old town and walls, extensive shopping centre within walking distance and the perfect place to stay before and after your cruise with park and cruise packages available.Free Wifi available throughout the hotel.Privilege rooms now available. On site car parking available however there is a charge for this service. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
99

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer