We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Southampton

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Herbert Walker Ave., Southampton S015 1HJ, England
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southampton
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    263
    154
    43
    23
See reviews for
111
293
35
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (640)
  • Mar-May only
    (142)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (208)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (181)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (109)
All months
st. john's, NL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For what it was the rate was high. Room furnishings were worn and stained. Stains on carpet. Bathroom was well used and there was an insect waiting for me in the tub when I arrived (silverfish). Overall didn't feel all that clean in the room. Hotel was completely booked so couldn't change rooms. Wifi was terrible. Very slow. The air... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I apologise for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards, I am very sorry that we were not alerted to the issues during your stay so that we had the opportunity to address them and ensure your viist to the hotel... More 

Watford/London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you want a great central Southampton location then this hotel is perfect, it's right on the harbour front where the cruises go from, we saw the new P & O liner the Britannia in dock, a 10 minute walk from the Quays shopping centre and the centre of town, a few mintutes walk from Ikea and a cinema complex... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. It is was great to hear that a member of our team, Dreev, was able to offer 'words of wisdom' to a potential university... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Check inn was easy especially with the park and stay for cruise. taxi too and from dock was included. room was fine but a little sparse. whole hotel needs updating, breakfast was good and location is excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your candid review. We apologise that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, Kind regards Robert Walker More 

Middlesbrough
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stop here for easter week end for visiting the family The hotel was excellent and the disabled room was excellent and clean The food was very good and the breakfast was very good with good choices and the staff where more then helpful On the down side the chanrge for the car park of £7 was over the top for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review

Dear Guest,Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback, certainly with regard to your comments on the car park charge. We hope you will visit us again Kind regards Robert Walker More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
43 hotel reviews
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Almost inevitably, it was music that took us to Southampton. Mrs.Electric and I found the staff to be warm, friendly, professional and palatable. Check-in was smooth, and an upgrade was available because of my being a member of the IHG club. Our room was quite small but nice enough. It looked very fresh and I would suspect that it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback and I wikll certainly share your comments to the team, especially the bar staff. Thank you. We hope you will visit us again. Kind... More 

Bucks, England
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Location is the thing with this Hotel ... on the Waterfront and right next to Gate 8 ! Good on-site parking ... very pleasant rooms to a good Chain-Hotel standard, pleasant and efficient staff. If you're Cruising from Southampton and want to travel the day before, or depart the day after, then this is a good choice ! Don't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review

Dear Guest,Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. Our Stay & Cruise package rates offer some amazing rates and with you can even watch your ship come into port. We hope you will... More 

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Didn't eat in hotel other than breakfast which was OK but sausages could be improved. Rooms reasonably clean but tired and in need of a makeover. Extractor fan in bathroom made a noise all night which wasn't good and the heating system was a fan whic hwa noisy if used at night. Radiator in room didn't operate. Service was friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologise for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. We will share your feedback with our staff and make the necessary changes. We hope you choose to stay with us again, so we can show you our true level of... More 

Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is functional but it's so tired needs some energy and perhaps some refurbishment. The reception staff are helpful and know there job. I got upgraded to a suite who's was really nicely appointed with nice views. I would recommend the hotel. The cleaning staff are great and really helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Kind regards Robert Walker More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

We stayed for 2 nights and had a very good experience. We were greeted with a glass of wine when we checked in and our rooms were very clean, spacious and comfortable with excellent heating systems. My disabled mum and dad had an excellent room with plenty of room on the ground floor. The staff at the hotel were excellent,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. I have noted your feedback regarding our prices and please be assured we do reveiw these o... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015 via mobile

Very courteous staff. Good rooms. Served the purpose very well. City center is 10 minute walk. So be careful in winters. Stayed with wife we both had a good stay. the view form the rooms is also good on both sides .

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
rwalker2014, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you we at least tried to make your lengthy stay comfortable. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again when you are next in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

141 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (100)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
View from room (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (41)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question