We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Southampton hotels

Novotel Southampton

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ADVANCE SAVER - 30% OFF
Novotel Southampton
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Novotel Southampton to your Saves list
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
catloverSotogrande West Kelowna, Canada
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    367
    177
    48
    21
See reviews for
264
327
63
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (879)
  • Mar-May only
    (201)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (311)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (214)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (153)
All months
West Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very nice lady at check-in. Ultra modern lobby. The bedroom was small but the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was ultra modern also and nice although we had no towels but they were delivered quickly! The room was definitely showing signs of wear and tear. Computer available in the lobby for use which was very convenient as I could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am sorry you did not find the service a food up to your expectations in our restaurant, I have shared your thoughts with the team here and we will ensure these areas improve. We also have Free Wifi available throughout the hotel. Again many thanks for your review and... More

Maidstone, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed pre cruise can't fault the room clean bed comfortable bath a bit small if it was me I would gave put a large walk in shower especially as it is an executive room. It is good to have an 1200 Check out. Would definitely use again if wanting too visit Southampton room overlooked police station worried it might be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and I have noted your thought regarding the walk in shower. I am terribly sorry no one answered your rooms service call and will be discussing this with the team as this is not the normal standard of service we provide. Again many thanks for you review and... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one night, before boarding a ship. The staff were very friendly, the rooms were clean, and the showers were excellent! We ate evening meal in the restaurant, and the service was brilliant, and the food was lovely. Breakfast was similarly excellent- we were greeted at the door and escorted to a table. The buffet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the opportunity to post your thoughts here on trip advisor. We are thrilled to read that you had a great time staying and dining with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards Glenn Findlay | General Manager | Novotel Southampton More

Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel is near the train station.If you are arriving by plane you can take the train to central station and walk to hotel. Hotel room was comfortable but it was warm when we arrived. No AC but a fan was supplied which helped. Close to shopping and restaurants if you don't mind walking. A sort cab ride to port.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is great to read that your enjoyed our hotel and its location . We do not have air conditioning but an air cooling system. I am sorry you found the rooms warm and I am glad my team got you a fan when you requested one. Again thank you for your review and we... More

Waterford, Ireland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is a 5 minutes walk from the main train station. The airport is a short 10 minutes train ride away and the airport terminal building is just 99 steps from the railway platform! Check in is a simple and efficient process with friendly staff. The check out process was similar with the invoice e-mailed. Bar staff are efficient and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our location, staff and the hotel. I am sorry that our Breakfast team member did not listen attentively to you and we hope to see you again soon Glenn Findlay | General Manager | Novotel Southampton More

Alcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We used this hotel in May and I gave it an unfavourable review. We stayed here again for 2 nights recently and I am so pleased to say that actions have been taken, as promised, by the General Manager to improve the situations that were not previously satisfactory. Well done! It's great to see that someone lives up to their... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post your thoughts here on tripadvisor. It is always great to here from a regular guest and thank for the note. We hope you had a great cruise and we look forward to seeing you before your next cruise. Glenn Findlay | General Manager | Novotel Southampton More

St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you're looking for a spot to stay before or after a cruise or someplace close to the West Quay Shopping Center, this place is as good as any. From the outside I was a bit concerned pulling up to the hotel, it's starting to look dated and almost a bit dingy. But once inside I am happy to report... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review. We are all thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to you staying with us again soon. Kind Regards Glenn Findlay | General Manager | Novotel Southampton More

2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for the boat show & figured with the heavily inflated prices everywhere that if we had to pay over £150 a night, we might as well choose somewhere nice & close. After seeing the reviews we were expecting a bit better than we got. The staff & service was fantastic & can't be faulted, check-in was smooth... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post your thoughts here. I am happy to read your enjoyed the service by the team here at Novotel Southampton and I am terribly sorry for the cleanliness issues you experienced. I will be sharing your thoughts with our housekeeping team to highlight our guess journey with them. I have noted your comments... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Easy check in after a text telling us room was ready. Very nice room, well thought out and very clean. Nice toiletries, huge bed, excellent nights sleep. Lovely meal in restaurant at night and superb breakfast. Sabi in the restaurant is fantastic, looks after everything and gives a personal touch. Great place to stay right across road from station and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review; I am happy to read that you used our e-check in service allowing you to complete your details in before you arrive at the hotel. I will be passing on your kind words to Sahbi and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon. Glenn Findlay | General Manager | Novotel Southampton More

Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We researched hotels in Southampton via Trip Advisor, we settle on this one and were not disappointed. We caught a train down from Gatwick and arrived fairly late at night, we 'thought' we would see if we could walk! Lucky we did it's only about 400m away. The room was good, the staff helpful and the breakfast buffet was certainly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. I will be sharing it with our team and I look forward to you staying with us again soon. Glenn Findlay | General Manager | Novotel Southampton More

Do you own or manage Novotel Southampton?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Novotel Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Southampton

Address: 1 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Southampton Hotel Southampton
Accor Southampton
Southampton Novotel

139 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (107)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Novotel Southampton