We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Novotel Southampton

GreenLeadersBronze level
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Special Offer
NOVOTEL SPRING OFFER
Novotel Southampton
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
HelenS7 Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    423
    209
    57
    26
See reviews for
301
370
67
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1012)
  • Mar-May only
    (233)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (310)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (260)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (209)
All months
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I was meeting colleagues from a docking ship and this hotel proved to be extremely convenient. The staff greated you in a friendly efficient manner. I was checked in with speed and accuracy. The public places are clean and bright with plenty of seating areas for tired travelers. The lift is quiet. The room is fresh and modern. The bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Margate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I booked my mum and dad in for a 1 night stay, the staff were very nice and helpful, rooms were good, and the breakfast was lovely. overall very happy. especially with the hotel providing gluten free bread :-) would happily stay again :-) rebecca

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick_Le_Henaff, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you very much for your very nice comments about your stay. We hope to see you again in a very near future. Kind regards, Patrick Le Henaff General Manager Novotel Southampton More 

England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a stop off here for one night before catching the IOW ferry, which is just down the road. It is located on a retail park, and opposite a leisure park in Southampton, reasonably close to the railway station.  Received a very pleasant and friendly welcome, which exceeded some I've received in more expensive hotels ! The standard rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick_Le_Henaff, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Many thanks for your comments about your last stay. I am pleased to see you found the hotel well located, cleaned, ideal for Shopping and close to the Ferry terminal for the Island of White. I hope we will see you in a near future. Kind regards, Patrick Le Henaff, General Manager Novotel Southampton More 

Braintree, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Novotel in Southampton for one night during the Easter hols. The hotel is located in an area where there are three large hotels and shopping centre nearby so is handy for location. We booked an executive room, which was nice, not huge in size but was clean and fairly modern with robes and slippers and coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick_Le_Henaff, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review

Dear Guests, This is with pleasure we are welcoming your comments about your last stay. I am very happy to see your family had a great time and enjoyed the location of the hotel for shopping and the children like the pool and the games area. I am sorry about the heat in the room, we have fans available for... More 

Essex, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had an 'executive room' which was spacious enough, and it was nice to have little extras such as a mini fridge, coffee machine and safe, along with a bath robe/slippers. Firstly, the good points; 1) Reception very friendly, the gentleman gave my son a small toy teddy bear which is a nice gesture, and was very clear about the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick_Le_Henaff, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you very much for your constructive comments. I am glad to see you had a good stay, liked the welcome at the desk, the Breakfast, the gym and the free Wi-Fi. The comments about the small size of the toilet and the lay out are important to us for future hotel development. I do hope to see... More 

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have just returned from this hotel following a two night break with my husband and two children aged 8 & 4. The room was spotless and enough room for bags and clothing. The sofa bed folded down into two separate beds which really helped our children sleep (without rolling into one another). The main bed was ok, a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick_Le_Henaff, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Many thanks for the your comments. I am extremely happy to see you had a great time and you have found the hotel very clean. Great location for Shopping. Regarding the pool, I am sorry if you fount it too small during this very popular Easter Week End. We hope to see you again in a very near... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A functional Novotel. Nothing to make the stay other than average. At £91 for a Exec room including breakfast satisfied with the stay but wouldn't regard significantly higher rate as value for product offered. Pros: Room clean and quiet. Room on 5th floor Car park with lots of available space (£6 charge). Easy walking distance to several mid range restaurants... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick_Le_Henaff, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you very much for your loyalty to Novotel Hotels and thank you for the detailed information about the hotel. I see you had a good stay but you have found few points for improvement. I have already made recommendation to the team and will look personally about this actions taken. I do hope we will be able... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really nice, clean, modern hotel which we visited for one night with our two young children. Lovely kids play area and toys and breakfast was very nice with plenty of choice. Rooms clean and large enough BUT we did not have a good nights sleep due to the heat with no air con in our room. We also had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patrick_Le_Henaff, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review

Dear Family Guest, I am extremely happy to see you and the familly had a great stay and the children could enjoyed the play area. I am sorry to see the temperature was too high in the room. We could have help with a fan available on request at the reception. I do hope this will not deter you commimg... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

159 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (126)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question