We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Southampton hotels

Southampton Park Hotel

Cumberland Place, Southampton SO15 2WY, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Southampton Park Hotel to your Saves list
Southampton Park Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
30%
Ranked #20 of 21 hotels in Southampton
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    60
    62
    51
    66
See reviews for
31
66
33
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

After reading all reviews was a little nervous but you get what you pay for. Nice cheap Little hotel that does everything it should do for the price, some people obviously expect 5 star for £50 a night. Comfy bed and very good staff who always helped. Would come back happily again and good tv in bedrooms. Quirky and fun... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights rather apprehensive after reading the reviews but the hotel is a little dated although room was fine, bed comfy plus tea/ Coffee making facilities in bedroom. Trouser press also. Full English breakfast lovely with different breads, rolls and croissants plus jams cereals fruit and various juices and coffees and teas! We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at the southampton park hotel for one night on the 12-04-2014. We was very concerned after hearing all of the complaints. But after staying there I wanted to write on here how I felt. I do feel the hotel needs modernising and a lick of paint but I also think that it's ok value for money and is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I booked through late rooms this hotel because it was the closest to the Mayflower Theatre then I read the reviews and was very apprehensive about staying however I was very pleasantly surprised as it was quite nice. Was checked in smoothly and directed to the lift where I went up to the second floor and found our room, 203.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bridport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Checked in. Mattress was stained with urine and blood! Crisps, sweet paper, sanitary wrapping on floor. Dust everywhere even in the wardrobe. Sheets were grubby and had holes in and were badly fitted. There was an armchair in the room which was so stained that I wouldn't put my suitcase on it! The shower cubicle had hairs in it. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in this hotel on the 29th of March Intending to stay two nights. On arrival the foyer smelt heavily of Cigarettes and the lift didn't work. After dragging cases up three flights of thread bare staircases we found the room had curtains and wallpaper hanging off, mould in the bathroom, thick dust everywhere and a totally shot mattress... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alex M, General Manager at Southampton Park Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mike Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor we do appreciate your comment to improve on our services and products. I was sorry to hear you where unhappy with your Virgin experience at the hotel. I was a little concerned about your comments about the hotel foyer being Smokey as we have a... More

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
80 hotel reviews
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very good location in the heart of Southampton. The hotel is (in my opinion) very shabby and in need of investment - both in the rooms and in the public areas which feel particularly un-loved. But you get what you pay for, and rates are often very low for a city-centre hotel. Breakfast service was very poor. I was asked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Alex M, General Manager at Southampton Park Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mike Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor we do appreciate your comment to improve on our services and products. The hotel is in need of investment and has seen better years. We have fortunately this last month been bought by a new company and we are starting to make plans to make... More

Dinas Powys, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As a former soldier I will (and did) sleep anywhere...but this establishment takes some beating. It was so bad in so many areas, it was funny! From leaking ceilings, plastic dustbins in corridors catching the rain water (coming in perilously close to electric lights!) A colleague found 3 x tins of baked beans in a drawer, along with an empty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Alex M, General Manager at Southampton Park Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor we do appreciate your comment to improve on our services and products. I am sorry to hear you where not happy with the hotel and your comments to Faulty Towers. I regret we had an internal leak from a room which was causing a problem... More

ARLESEY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I purchased a virgin experience for my wife, and to my surprise booked a trip it all started well enough good trip down arrived approximately three quarters of an hour early to find that the hotel hasn't got its own car park but there is a very close multi story car park which for me was an additional 9.80 on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Alex M, General Manager at Southampton Park Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John Thank you for taking the time to post a review on trip advisor we do appreciate your comment to improve on our services and products. I am sorry to hear that you were not aware the hotel does not have its own car park, however the Grosvenor Square Car Park is situated directly behind the hotel, and unfortunately... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First thoughts were dated and stuck in the past. The reception and dining areas were clad in dark wood doors and trim, which darkens the area. Chairs in the eating area are old, uncomfortable and one was even lopsided due to being broken. Carpets on the stairs are threadbare and in desperate need for replacement, but I thought, it's a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Alex M, General Manager at Southampton Park Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Deano175 Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor we do appreciate feedback to our company. I am sorry to hear that our older style property did not appeal to yourself and your party. The hotel is very much a 1970/1980 style which has the older traditional woods which some people love and people... More

Been to Southampton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southampton Park Hotel

Address: Cumberland Place, Southampton SO15 2WY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Southampton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southampton Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.