We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Harbour Hotel

4.0 of 5
West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1AG, England (Formerly De Vere Grand Harbour)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Harbour Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Grand Harbour Hotel
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    215
    171
    103
    63
See reviews for
100
288
21
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (760)
  • Mar-May only
    (209)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (172)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (195)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (184)
All months
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a marvellous time the hotel was clean and the staff where brilliant, we will definitely stay again at the grand harbour in the near future. The prices are very good value in the bar, and the breakfast was very filling. The hotel is in a good area for shopping and the docks,the roooms are quite so a good... More 

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Conwy, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
54 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel should be so much better. From the moment of arrival when the receptionist is hidden behind a pillar to a lacklustre breakfast, a hotel which physically should be 4 or 5 stars, struggles to get 3. The rooms are ok although the corridors still had uncollected debris in them at 4pm. Food on an unimaginative bar menu is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stephen L, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am saddened to read that you feel although your basic needs were met that the hotel did not provide you the full level of experience you were expecting. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our room was ready on arrival, but during check in their computers crashed, so the receptionist said she would get our receipt for paying for the room at check in sent to our room. This did not turn up. My husband had ordered a bottle of wine to be in the room on our arrival and it was. We noticed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JKsunshine, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We very much appreciate your comments and I have passed your comments on regarding the breakfast items to our Chef. This has been done not for financial savings but from guest feedback on their concerns of food wastage. We still offer a full buffet which you may help... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel prior to cruising from Southampton.Our package included room and parking.The parking option was great as we dropped the car at the hotel car park and it was at the cruise terminal on our return allowing us to drive away without having to wait for a transfer to a remote car park.Staff were very helpful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mikelizeden, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am delighted to read you enjoyed all aspects of your cruise package stay with us. It is our desire to always help and enhance everyones cruising holiday with a relaxing pre night stay for a relaxed cruise check in and give you somewhere to leave your car... More 

Reading Berkshire UK
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
14 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were at this hotel again for the Annual Titanic Convention and were signed in at midday but had to wait for our rooms to be ready for us. However we had nice clean rooms and I was allocated a useful special disabled room so I could get in and out of the bath easily...We were there for the full... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TTfan3d, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel next year for the next convention! Sincerely, Laura Laura Roberts / General Manager More 

Dartford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Most parts of the hotel seemed to be quite good, but looking carefully you could see it fraying around the edges (torn seats in the bar area for example). The biggest let-down was service; arrived at 2pm and checked in to be told that check-in time was 3pm and could we return then to collect our swipe cards, at 3pm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ojalavoix, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am please to say they seating you refer to has been completely fixed, we had merely been waiting on the bespoke material to recover following a vandalous act which cut it. I have passed you comments regarding the coffee to my retsuarnat manager to work on. Thank... More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hotel appeared very tired, staff were not over friendly, food over priced and extremely poor quality, fish and chips soggy, tsalmon microwaved to death never known salmon served with chips!!!!! And all food ordered by our party of four was cold.and to top it all it cost £10 to get out of the car park .this hotel doesn't deserve 4stars... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jan B, I am sorry to read you did not enjoy our restaurant or lobby area. Please accept my apologies the salmon/fish was also not to your liking. I can assure you we do not microwave meals in the restaurant. I have passed your comments to the chef. I sorry that you did not discuss your concerns with the... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed here with family as a base when our family came over from the us on a cruise, I picked this base as I stayed here a few years ago and was very happy with the stay and the look of the place,But it has gone downhill. The parking charges are a joke I have never understood why hotels make... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review

Dear stgttomo12, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. From your review I am pleased that other than the water issue, you did enjoy all other aspects of your stay, from the room, your meal and the staff service. The water issue is unfortuantely as with many glass structures when the wind hits a certain angle on... More 

Welwyn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was fine and location good but the restaurant overpriced for the quality and range of menu. Highly irritating was the 'Express Bill' delivered overnight where the hotel had chosen to add a further £3.10 service charge to the dinner bill despite me having added an adequate gratuity after the meal and a £2.50 Credit Card Fee- no mention... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pottse29, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am sorry you felt you were not provided the full information prior to arriving at the hotel. I will reconfirm with my team for clairity as all these charges should have been on your automated booking confirmation and the restaurant information on the menu. While I wish... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I can honestly say this is the worst hotel I have ever had the misfortune of staying at. Upon arrival I was advised there was a £10 charge for the car park - fair enough but would have been nice if shown clearly on the hotel's website, which it is not. We went for Dinner at 8.45 PM in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JPAC1968, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies that the behaviour of a few of our other guests has ruined your stay. I assure you this is an exceptionally rare situation. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

455 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (148)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (201)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Executive Room (30)
Viewed
Junior Suite (29)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (41)
Viewed
Standard Room (21)
Viewed
Suite (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (106)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (67)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question