We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Southampton hotels

Grand Harbour Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1AG, England (Formerly De Vere Grand Harbour)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Grand Harbour Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Harbour Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
53%
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Southampton
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Guy O Lincoln
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    151
    111
    82
    55
See reviews for
78
208
9
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

There is a review below where the reply from the hotel says the daughter in-law and son were very happy. Well I am the son in question and believe me when I say I wasn't happy at all. The hotel didn't seem to care about anything. The staff clearly have no idea what they're doing. The only thing going for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have never dealt with such an inflexible and incompetent company, we requested a certain date last year for our evening reception only to be told AFTER AGREEING the date that it was no longer available. There was more but I'll keep it brief. All these initial dealings spelt out very clearly to us that the hotel doesn't pay too... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lincoln
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were visiting the Southamton boat show and booked this hotel for its location. We were wary after reading past Tripadvisor reviews but this is a good hotel that could be very good with a bit more thought (plus sorting out the water supply). Good points:- - excellent location near to ferries, cruise lines and a few minutes walk from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tarbert, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Currently staying in room 249 for two nights ( it's an executive !! king with sea view )The air con has no hot air option so they have provided us with plug in heaters ) We have no cold water in the badly cracked bathroom basin. They have been up to fix it , unsuccessfully once, waiting for them to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Went out for dinner with friends, thinking it would be a lovely meal out, ordered our food, which took so long we had to ask where it was after waiting so long. I was underwhelmed, overcharged, and the quality was very poor. The food looked great on the menu, but turnt out badly on the plate. The highlight of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lucy D, Please accept my sincere apologies that you did not enjoy your evening. I am sorry that you did not have an opportunity to discuss with the duty manager at the time your concerns, as I am sure they would have done everything in their power to improve your experience. We take all feedback very seriously and I... More

Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here as our son and his wife had there wedding party here! To be honest it was disorganised from the beginning! When we arrived to set up the room the lay our of room was all wrong!! Even after going through the room layout weeks before and going through where we wanted everything to go. We did eventually... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Beautytorl, Thank you for your kind comments regarding Ken and the service received at your recent event. I am sorry not all items were to your expectations, although I believe on the evening the feedback from your Son and daughter in-law was that they had a wonderful evening. I am sorry but I have no lost property mobile charges... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for one night in the Grand Harbour Hotel. We booked an Executive King room, it was spacious & comfortable but a bit dusty. Eating lunch in the Atrium Bar we found the service very, very slow & had to ask again for the pot of tea ordered, they had forgotten it.. The evening meal in the Boardwalk was just... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John T, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I was please to read that the room was spacious and comfortable and the breakfast superb. I am sorry you experienced delays in the bar, and I have passed this information to the Restaurant and bar manager to ensure this does not recur. Thank you again. Kind regards Laura Laura... More

Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful views and great service from everyone. The rooms are spacious and beds extremely comfortable. We saw our friends room who had a suite and that was magnificent so if you can afford it go for the Tilly Suite.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Angela B, Thank you for your fabulous review. I am delighted you found the hotel excellent, and in particular the service. I hope we see you back with us again soon. Thank you again. Kind regards Laura More

Cannock
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed overnight before joining Queen Mary 2 at the recommendation of our travel agent. Room was large and comfortable. Disappointed with the service. Checking in and out was a nightmare as there seemed to be no obvious place to queue and customers seemed to be dealt with at random. We took dinner in the Boardwalk restaurant and were really disappointed.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cannocksunseeker, Thank you for taking the time to review. I am sorry that you were disappointed by your visit, and I have passed all your comments to the team to ensure we use them as part of our service training going forward to ensure they do not recur. My chef also offers his sincere apology for the mix-up with... More

Driffield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel seems to be living on its past reputation when it was a De Vere hotel and much better organised. The rooms were quiet spacious and well appointed but the rest of the hotel is starting to look rather plain and does not live up to its high price Bar was average with only fizzy beer on sale at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bernard M, Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your stay was only average, and you do not like the new modern decor of the hotel. I have kept your comments on file for future review when we next look at refurbishment. I am also sorry that unfortunately lack of demand and short shelf life of real... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Grand Harbour Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Grand Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbour Hotel

Address: West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1AG, England (Formerly De Vere Grand Harbour)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Harbour Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton
De Vere Grand Harbour Southampton
De Vere Hotel Southampton

157 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (118)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Southampton with
any amenities