We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Southampton hotels

Grand Harbour Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1AG, England (Formerly De Vere Grand Harbour)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Grand Harbour Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Harbour Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
54%
Ranked #17 of 23 hotels in Southampton
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Reporter Danville, Virginia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (486)
  • Photos (139)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (135)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

486 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    143
    98
    74
    49
See reviews for
72
190
9
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My daughter and I stayed in Southampton prior to boarding the Queen Mary 2 for a transatlantic cruise. I picked the Grand Harbour Hotel because of the reviews and the location. We were not disappointed. The hotel is adjacent to the Old Town which still has remnants of the wall. We walked to a shopping center from there and later... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I only have good memories from this hotel. And when we like a place we visit again and we recommend to our relatives or friends. This is not new. There's nothing that I didn't like in this hotel. The breakfast was simply delicious and a lot of diversity, the staff was very very attentive, hotel and our room very clean....... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed only one night before going on a cruise so the package was B & B plus 15 days car parking & taxis to and from the port. The hotel was 5 star & following refurbishment in 2014 is now 4 star plus. The whole experience was brilliant with staff, friendly, polite and helpful. The room was large, well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A warm welcome and a very clear precise details of the cruise package.Everything went smoothly.great start and finish to the cruise.The pool is good.Food is also good.Most relaxing experience.Very helpful staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Verona, Italy
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was in Southampton for a conference. The hotel is located in Southampton harbour, and mainly hosts tourists who hop on and off from cruise ships. My room was huge, and overlooked the sea. The mattress and the room amenities were good. The athmospere was quiet. There is not much to see around, Southampton itself is not an exciting city... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed the night of 21/6/14 at full price ( not on a deal).prior to sailing on a cruise. There was no one to help with our cases both booking in & checking out. Prices in the restaurant were exorbitant. We decided to eat in the bar atrium area. Service was bad. Waitress kept passing us by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Deegee610, Thank you for your review. Pease accept my apologies you did not enjoy all aspects of your stay. As a 4 star hotel, we do have a full concierge team, and I am truly sorry that they were not on hand on this occasion to assist you. I have also passed your comments on to the restaurant and... More

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On our ride from Heathrow Airport to the hotel, the driver told me that the hotel was recently remodeled and was one of the best hotels in Southampton. I believe it. From the time we checked in, the service was friendly, personable, and efficient. The entire hotel looked brand new - both our room and all of the public spaces.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 1acruise4wks, Thank you for your fabulous and in-depth 5 star review. I very much appreciate the time you have taken, and delighted to see how much you enjoyed your visit with us. I know my staff will take great motivation from your very kind words about them, as do I. I hope we may see you again soon. Kind... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Service in this hotel was disappointing and not particularly friendly. The food was also a let down. We are big fans of afternoon tea, but this really doesn't compare to other hotels we have experienced. Instead of delicate sandwiches, you get thick chunks of bread roll with various below average quality fillings. The scones however were lovely and light, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Funkids4, Please accept my apologies that you did not enjoy your afternoon tea. I am genuinely surprised and saddened as our afternoon teas are normally so highly praised, as all items including the cakes, are baked here at the hotel fresh. The sandwiches are different styles for a more modern approach, and I offer my apologies that you did... More

Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked into the Grand Harbour for one night prior to setting off on a cruise. We got an amazing deal as they kept the car parked for 29 days. It's a beautiful hotel and we got a lovely room with balcony. However my highest praise must go to their excellent concierge service where the staff were efficient, courteous and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review

Dear StewartCrossCarlisle, thank you so much for your 5 star review of your stay. I was delighted to read of how much you enjoyed your stay. Also the wonderful praise for our concierge team, which I know they have taken great motivation from, as have I, thank you. Thank you for taking the time to share your review, it is... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Whilst visiting family in the new forest we have stayed at two hotels - grand harbour being the first. We had a pleasant enough stay and the room was adequate but like many large hotels it lacked in character. Staff were helpful but seemed very busy and didn't have enough time to go that extra mile. Would we stay again?... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jane h, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you felt your stay only average. I have noted your comments on feeling our hotel too corporate and we will add these to our on-going service program. Although a large hotel locally, we strive to ensure every guest feels comfortable and for us to have not met this expectation... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Grand Harbour Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Grand Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbour Hotel

Address: West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1AG, England (Formerly De Vere Grand Harbour)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Harbour Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Grand Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton
De Vere Grand Harbour Southampton
De Vere Hotel Southampton

139 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (108)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (6)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#5 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set sail for a unique stay at the 4-star Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton. Overlooking Southampton waterfront, this iconic hotel with its towering glass atrium is a cut above the rest. Visit one of two restaurants each with their contemporary cuisine or try the unique candlelit spa. If you are in Southampton on business we can facilitate any meeting requirements with our impressive function rooms and dedicated event co-ordinators. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
173

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    ;