We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Harbour Hotel

West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1AG, England (Formerly De Vere Grand Harbour)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Harbour Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

845 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    230
    239
    211
    101
    64
See reviews for
124
343
22
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (845)
  • Mar-May only
    (239)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (260)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (176)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (170)
All months
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Grand Harbour for three nights around the 9th August. The place cannot be blamed for its location, but the drive along West Quay, with its vast container areas to one side and Ikea to the other does nothing to nurture a feeling of confidence on what is to follow. Arriving at the hotel with its unusual... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed two nights at the Grand Harbour prior to our Princess cruise at the end of July. Our room was large and had a patio with a nice view of the water across the road. We could even see our ship the morning of the cruise. The breakfast was great and we had plenty of choices of what to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nottingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Used Grand Harbour Hotel for one night Pre Cruise. Good check in, friendly staff, accomodating waiters, nice spacious room, bed nice & comfy, good breakfast. This hotel is my next stay in Southampton.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maxumous, Thank you for the great 5 star review of our hotel! It is fantastic to read how much you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, and the most wonderful of compliments, that you will be staying with us again in the future, thank you. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Laura Laura Roberts / General... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It's not the most welcoming hotel but the room was nice with a water view. The toddler bed in our triple room was very soft. There isn't a fridge in the room. The big plus was the breakfast, plenty of food to feed everyone 3 times over. Parking requires an extra fee.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Chesham, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! I am glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Should you be returning and wish a fridge in your room, please do let us know in advance and will ensure one is placed in your room. Thank you again for your review and we hope to... More 

Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel now falls into our business choice so have stayed here 3 times in the last few weeks, I find the rooms spacious, clean & comfy, plenty of people around to help & there is a nice light bar area if you need to work with your laptop out of the room, food is a bit pricey but there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ripon-lad, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! I am delighted to hear we now feature on your company approved hotel listing. I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Laura Laura Roberts / General Manager More 

Wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed a night on a Peppa Pig two day deal - so we had a really good price on the room. It was a lovely room with plenty of space for two adults and two kids. We were shattered and so ordered room service which was quick, hot and reasonably priced. The pool area was clean but it's a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Personwales, Thank you for the great review of our hotel. I trust you and the family had a fabulous time at Peppa Pig World. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and hope to see you all again very soon. Sincerely, Laura Laura Roberts / General Manager More 

Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed at the Grand Harbour Hotel on many occasions during the past few years. Unfortunately, since it ceased to be a De Vere hotel there has been a progressive loss of quality. It is bad enough paying £10 for car parking, but then to find that after paying more than £100 B & B there is no shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ronald D, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies that you no longer feel we offer the style of service you enjoy when travelling. Every guest experience is important to us, and although we work hard to ensure every guest enjoys their visit, I do appreciate we cannot always please every... More 

Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked this from a " special deal" offer that appeared on my I pad ( but it was not. Normal Classic afternoon tea price was £15 .50) There was one other table of 4 having afternoon tea and one other couple so the venue had little atmosphere. Service was patchy and the unoccupied staff indulged in private audible conversations that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susan B, Thank you for your indepth review of your afternoon tea experience. We are glad that you overall enjoyed your afternoon tea, however we do not have a microwave in the lounge so I will investigate why your pot of tea was not as it should be to ensure it does not recur in the future.Thank you again.... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My father booked this hotel based on the reviews, which are quite good. But the hotel is horrible, everything is very old. I stayed with my parents and my boyfriend. We were given rooms next to each other. But our room was a wheelchair room and the sink was 80cm high and I am quite big and it was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Geraldine V, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies that you have not had the type of experience that is synonymous with our hotel. The cleanliness and decor is usually admired by our guests and to have not lived up to this for you is disappointing. While I wish you had... More 

Travelers are raving about these Southampton hotels

crawley
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we stayed sat eve, we went with friends, we were given rooms next to each other, our friends let themselves in their room and it was full of other peoples stuff!! luckily they were not in it! Can you imagine!! hotel staff just said oh sorry bout that!! Later on they gave a cheap horrid bottle of house wine as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TillyCrawley, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am truly sorry to read that your friends had an issue on check in, and that you did not enjoy the complimentary wine the guest relations manager had offered with her apologies. Please accept my apologies that overall you did not enjoy your visit fully, particluarly during... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

460 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (152)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (201)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Executive Room (30)
Viewed
Junior Suite (29)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (41)
Viewed
Standard Room (21)
Viewed
Suite (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (107)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (67)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 25 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 stars 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.1 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#4 of 25 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay