We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   20-22 Oxford Street, Southampton SO14 3DJ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Cargo to your Saves list
Cargo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
60%
Ranked #25 of 37 Southampton B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
clarewilliams1 East Grinstead, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (105)
  • Photos (4)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (19)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    27
    17
    15
    9
See reviews for
9
47
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

On a swelteringly hot Southampton afternoon, it would have been great if someone had thought ahead to either close the blinds, or open the window before we arrived at Cargo- our (attic) room was reminiscent of an oven! Staff (all youngsters) were all very pleasant, and efficient. On enquiring about where to park the car they suggested we leave it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Evening out marred by rude stage unfriendly and dirty plates everywhere. Found it very hard to find somewhere to sit, ended up going somewhere else. Drinks massively over priced. Generally not worth the money

Was this review helpful? Yes
Faucet I, Guest Relations Manager at Cargo, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Thank you for your review and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your evening at Cargo. We endeavour for all of our customers to leave happy and would love the opportunity to welcome you back to make this up to you. Kind regards Cargo More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was above the entrance to the bar, which was extremely noisy because of the people standing outside smoking. The bar closed at 1 am, but there was another bar on the opposite side of the road playing loud music until 2 am, and after that it took another 30 minutes before the crowd were gone. We had to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Faucet I, Guest Relations Manager at Cargo, responded to this review

Dear MRagnar Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and we apologise that your stay was affected by noise. We strive for every guest to leave Cargo having had a pleasant stay and have taken your comments on board to ensure that this is always the case. Kind regards Cargo More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great welcome on arrival. Lovely shabby chic room. Staff were excellent, and very friendly. Freshly cooked breakfast to order, probably the best hotel breakfast we have eaten. Lively location in a street full of bars and restaurants, perfect for our stay. It was a bit noisy on the night due to the location, but you can't stay above a bar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Faucet I, Guest Relations Manager at Cargo, responded to this review

Dear Gavlaaaaaaa, Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed you stay with us and the welcome you received. We are also pleased to hear you enjoyed your breakfast with our freshly cooked produce. We hope you choose us again if you are in Southampton. Kind Regards, Cargo More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Recently stayed at Cargo whilst visiting friends in Southampton, we had a very enjoyable stay, the room was lovely and the staff extremely friendly! Breakfast in the morning was delicious, and a great choice! Only fault is that there are quite a few stairs in the hotel (we were on the top floor), but staff are more than happy to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Faucet I, Guest Relations Manager at Cargo, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our delicious breakfast! We hope to see you again soon for another visit. Kind Regards, Cargo More

Alicante, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We checked into the Cargo Inn on 28th May for two nights prior to taking a cruise from Southampton. Our bedroom was dirty, the first time I have even seen the dust covered in dust! The room had not been hoovered or cleaned at all. Our used towels were folded and put back on our beds. Dirty cups and glasses... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Faucet I, Guest Relations Manager at Cargo, responded to this review

Dear Maureen, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and please accept our apologies for the issues you faced during your stay. We will be getting in touch personally to discuss this with you, but please rest assured that the issued raised will not be repeated. Kind regards Cargo More

Rushden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

I started at Cargo as I was unable to get a room in my usual hotels. A previous reviewer mentioned them needing to pay more attention to the details, I absolutely agree. The door to my loft room was at one point, painted white but it was quite grubby. The rooms felt the same way too. The bathroom was quote... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Faucet I, Guest Relations Manager at Cargo, responded to this review

Dear GlennRobinson, Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast and apologise that you felt attention to detail was not met. We strive to have every guest leave Cargo happy and refreshed after their stay and will make sure that your comments are properly taken on board. Kind regards Cargo More

Oxford, UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I liked Cargo and would consider returning. It is well-located for restaurants and cinema, my room was smartly furnished, Wi-Fi was free and I had a good night's sleep. Being located in the attic, the room was initially stuffy, but opening one of the multiple rooflights made it easy to rebalance the climate. Unfortunately, Cargo would need to pay more... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Faucet I, Guest Relations Manager at Cargo, responded to this review

Dear Phileas_Flogg, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Cargo. We are glad you would consider returning and had a good nights sleep will make every effort to rectify the problems you faced regarding attention to detail. Thank you again for your review and we do hope to see you again. Kind regards Cargo More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I'd have expected a bit more for £75 a night (I stayed in the Superior Double) as many of the chain hotels in Southampton charge less. However, the room was clean, modern and the food in the bar was better than expected. Bonus being after 8pm, parking on the street outside is free. My only negatives were that the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Faucet I, Guest Relations Manager at Cargo, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment. We are pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay. We always take all comments on board with us so we do hope you return to see some changes. Kind Regards, Cargo More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This is a lovely independent hotel and the loft room was lovely. Yes it is up a lot of stairs but would expect that by the description of a loft room! Breakfasts were good too and the staff were really friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes
Faucet I, Guest Relations Manager at Cargo, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in the Loft Room. We do hope you return again soon. Kind Regards, Cargo More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Cargo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Cargo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cargo

Address: 20-22 Oxford Street, Southampton SO14 3DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cargo 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Cargo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cargo Hotel Southampton

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
13

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer