We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 40 Southampton B&Bs / inns

Mayview Guest House

3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   30 The Polygon, Southampton SO15 2BN, England
Hotel amenities
Mayview Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mayview Guest House to your Saves list
Ranked #28 of 40 Southampton B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Leo K
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    9
    5
    1
    7
See reviews for
4
2
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (32)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been coming to this guest house for twice every month for almost 10 years for leisure purposes.i am really glad to say that this feels like a second home to me as I have a nice attic room to stay in and I have almost stayed in every room now and then. The rooms are clean and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

People say not to base your experience on one bad element but the bad element ruined our stay! I never normally complain as I have worked in hospitality and customer service before and know how hard it is to please people but this was disgraceful! We had come all the way from Manchester to visit a family member , both... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
T O, Owner at Mayview Guest House, responded to this review

We thank you for your comments and are extremely saddened to hear that you feel we are a racist and prejudicial establishment. This is a first for us as we have never had such an allegation levied against us. By your own admission, you did not realise we had a deadline of 8 pm for check in even though it... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

I stayed there for many times as I work in Southampton on contract bases. The hotel is good value for money. My room was clean and hot/tea including hot chocolate facility was provided for free in the room. The shared bathrooms and shower rooms are clean. Wireless internet was very good. Good hot English breakfast but not for vegetarian people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

I've stayed for two nights with my friends at this Guest house whist in Southampton for a football game and some shopping. We were shown to our rooms on arrival which were one on the ground floor and the other at the first floor, and from both rooms you could see the theatre and hear the party's behind the guesthouse.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

Really friendly staff and very welcoming really enjoyed staying here . Good breakfast, lady manageres very helpful with all the issues arised during our stay ...would definitely come back if in Southampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed here on and off 2-5 days per week for 2 years this week as I work away from home in Southampton. This place is excellent value for money, The landlady Elena is very friendly and has helped me a lot whilst I travel. Breakfast is great, rooms are a quarter of the price of local hotels but please... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

So.Booked this in midst of a heavy season. The guest house receptionist (Ms Ilinor) told me that it will cost me £65/night, when i arrived there with my child the lady started by saying 'I am not throwing you off but you need to pay me £30 extra per night for the same room'. Being text book style rude even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
T O, Owner at Mayview Guest House, responded to this review

The person who posted this review did not stay at this guest house as we have no record of him in our guest register. More 

wolverhampton
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stayed the night at the mayview with my wife after a cruise,very friendly lady who ran it.We found it to be clean and tidy ,a few small things where mentioned to the owner like the doorknob being loose,wardrobe bottom hinge screw missing ,and window opening up to maximum without any adjustment , i always feel its best to say what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I booked the Mayview last minute .com on the price alone. I was not expecting much, but the Mayview delivered a very good quality of service. I have paid a lot more and got a lot worse in the past. The Mayview is very good value for money. I booked a single room with shared bathroom, yes the shower is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

lovely, homely bed and breakfast. Very cosy and very clean. Great breakfast and very friendly and helpful land lady. Room was very comfy with tv and plenty of tea and coffee. If you are ever in Southampton and need somewhere cheap and comfy to get your head down for a couple of nights then this is the place. Close to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Been to Mayview Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayview Guest House

Address: 30 The Polygon, Southampton SO15 2BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayview Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Mayview Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayview Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.