We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mayview Guest House

30 The Polygon, Southampton SO15 2BN, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
View Map
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

9 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having arrived early in Southampton by train, as our check in was 1400 and it was only 1100 I rang the hotel to ask if we could drop our bag off; to our pleasant surprise, I was told that we could check in straight away as our room was ready. We dropped our bags off in the room and were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Neil G
Lee F, Owner at Mayview Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Neil, Thank you for the feedback on the hotel. We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We have recently taken over the guesthouse and have an extensive refurbishment planned for the premise including installing a full bathroom suite in your room and soundproofing throughout the premises. Once we have finished the renovations we would like to invite... More 

Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked as couldn't get in anywhere else. £38 for b&b so can't grumble about that. Room single shared facilities on top floor. Room was tiny and in the eaves. Low headroom! Room clean with nice TV and good wifi. But heating not working, freezing room so had to sleep fully clothed. Tepid water in shower too. Breakfast fine. Nice proprietor... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shot2
Lee F, Owner at Mayview Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Appologies for the heating problems we had whilst you we're staying we have now fixed the issue and the hotel is nice and warm. Best Lee More 

Travelers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was unsure what to expect for £30 a night and at first glance outside was unsure but once i got in i was pleasantly surprised nice tidy rooms only downside was the shared bathroom but otherwise great owner was pleasant and helpfull

Helpful?
Thank Gareth M
Lee F, Manager at Mayview Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, we try and provide the best quality we can at budget prices. More 

Ammanford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

Only stayed one night and found it to be spotlessly clean with very friendly and helpful owners. Room was small but spotless and breakfast was very good. Ideal for people going on a cruise. Although checkout was 9.00 am, bags could be left until nearer boarding time. When I arrived I was told that I had been refunded £3 as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elfed H
Lee F, Manager at Mayview Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind feedback. We hope you enjoyed your time in the cruise and will think off us again when you next come to vist Southampton. More 

Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015 via mobile

We arrived at the b@b and we hadnt even taken our coats off and they asked us to pay without us even looking at the room. I wish we hadnt payed until we had left.the room had a damp smell. And wasnt realy worth the money. Also when we returned back that eve late. the room was freezing radiator wasnt... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
Lee F, Manager at Mayview Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer, Thank you for your review, we did have some issues with the heating during your stay with us and have now fixed them. Appologies if your room was cold. Kind Regards Lee Firetto More 

Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

This is a very small place, the staff is friendly and very helpful, the room was good, small but clean, with all facilities (although it was not en-suite) and cozy, breakfast is very good, they cook it to your liking, there are cereals, fruit, etc They have facilities to do tea, give you biscuits, nice towels, soap and disposable glasses... More 

Helpful?
Thank LadyMalfoy
Lee F, Owner at Mayview Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for you review. We're very pleased you enjotyed your breakfast with us. Appologies for the noise, Saturday nights are a little lively around the area. More 

Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2015

Our welcome was lovely and we were given a cup of tea. Our room was a very small ground floor twin with ensuite shower pod but apparently the owners have plans to rearrange the ground floor to make the two bedrooms more spacious. The hotel is clean and the beds comfortable. The breakfast is good and the guest house is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Otteraswas
Lee F, Manager at Mayview Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We took over the premises a few months ago and are currently in the process of renewing, remodeling and updating all the rooms. More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2015 via mobile

The mayview Guest house is in a good location but there is on parking outside of the guest house and there is a bad smell when u come in the the house the bathrooms are very dirty and my room dose not look like it has been hoovered for a little while I would not recommend this guest house or... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron B
Lee F, Manager at Mayview Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We did have a problem that week with a guest smoking in the premise and it too us a little while to clear the smell, from the premise, appologies if it spoiled your stay with us. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

3 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.3 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#8 of 25 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,239 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Southampton Central Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Southampton Centre
0.4 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#10 of 25 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 stars 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay