We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea

Copnor Road | Hilsea, Portsmouth PO3 5HS, England (Formerly Innkeeper's Lodge Portsmouth)
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea

212 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    44
    65
    56
    30
    17
See reviews for
60
74
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (212)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (59)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (56)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for one night prior to getting ferry to Cherbourg. Room was spotless, very spacious, quiet and incredibly comfortable. Absolutely perfectly located for our 10 minute drive to the ferry port at 8am the following morning. Had such a great night's sleep. Excellent value for money

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This old hotel is in the process of having a 'tidy up'. New paintwork, beds, carpets TVs but it is still the basic old shell. It has a toby Inn adjacent to it which seems very popular as cars are in and out all day causing a little disturbance at the front of the building as the car park is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was the latest in a series of visits to Hilsea, it was undergoing a refit whilst we were there, which detracted slightly, but will be of benefit to later guests. The greatest advantage to us whilst staying is the excellent public transport from close to the hotel, both bus and train, you can forget your car and let the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we stayed one night on our way to the ferry at Portsmouth.We have never stayed at a Travelodge before so this one was a nice surprise.The rooms were very clean and the beds very comfortable.The staff were very friendly and helpful,next door was a Toby pub that did good food.Would definitely use again

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have had a few issues with Travelodge's in the past, but having stayed here before we knew what to expect. Friendly face at reception, comfortable and clean bedroom and next to a pub/carvery providing a good evening meal and breakfast. For a weekend away, I would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Luton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Stayed overnight and took advantage of the early access to the room that was offered. It was clean and comfortable. Booked well ahead so got it very cheap. I had no complaints and would go back if I am in that area again.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Devon, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

The bathroom was thick with dust. Dirt around the bath. The toilet hadn`t been cleaned. Rubbish on the bedroom floor from the last people. Dust on the cabinets and the headboard. There for 2 days and the room not cleaned while we were there.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Amy from the Social Media team at Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea, responded to this review

We appreciate your feedback. We have high expectations in regards to the cleanliness of our rooms so we are truly sorry to learn your room did not meet these expectations. We would love it if you could contact us so we can offer a resolution for the issues you had, please use the ‘contact us’ page on our website which... More 

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Le Mesnil Aubert, Normandy
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

We were arriving late and leaving early and so all we needed was a bed and a shower. That's what it was! I don't think however that that excuses hairs in the bathroom and deeply stained wc. The night girl receptionist was excellent and offered extra teabags before we even went upstairs! perhaps not really fair to judge this hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

Staff were lovely and helpful but hotel is a bit tired and needs updating. Room was clean but very warm. Free parking which was a bonus, but sign post was difficult to see. Only realised it was next to the Toby Carvery after pulling in at the Lidl opposite.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Haworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

So close to visit the family, booked again over Christmas after its refurb looking forward to seeing the improvements, I read some of the reviews and all I say is you can't please everyone, we stay here every time we come to Portsmouth we have never had a bad stay, staff very friendly and helpful, ok rooms a bit shabby... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities