We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 39 Portsmouth hotels

Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Plaza | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
65%
Ranked #22 of 39 hotels in Portsmouth
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
cristal954 Havant, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (625)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (116)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (120)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

625 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    264
    164
    63
    14
See reviews for
104
231
33
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Havant, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

the staff at this hotel are friendly and helpful.polite and willing to offer advice on places of interest as well has making us feel welcome we where made to feel relaxed. room was clean and tidy and ready for us on arrival (we arrived early) The evening staff offered advice on the restaurant we where visiting which was very helpful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. I am very proud to learn that our staff have made your stay even more memorable. I will make sure that our team is made aware of your kind comments. Please visit us again soon. More

Yateley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Accommodation and location great, staff very friendly. Continental breakfast ample, also included hot food (scrambled egg, baked beans & sausages). Two lifts, only one in use, long waits peak periods.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for you kind comment. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are working hard to get our lift back in operation. We hope to see you soon. More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

.... and that's about all that saves this hotel. Within minutes walk of fabulous shops, restaurants, bars, HMS Victory / Mary Rose Museum etc. Reception is located on the first floor and access is via the slow lift, there is a second lift which did not work for the two days I stayed. Reception staff were very welcoming and proficient.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent feedback. I would like to apologize for the lift being out of order. The repair has already started but due to major structural fault it does take time. I am sorry that it was not in operation during your stay. Thank you for your comments regarding our staff, i will pass on your... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very good location for Historic Dockyards and shopping in Gunwharf Quay. Free parking and lots of restaurants nearby. Basic hotel but comfortable and clean rooms though there was some staining on the carpet in my room. Bed was good, choice of hard or soft pillows, didn't use the WiFi as slow to connect. Bathroom very clean and great shower. Staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I will pass on your kind comments to our team. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. I am sorry to hear that you have found our Wifi to be slow. Thank you for your feedback with regards to our breakfast buffet, i will... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my partner have stayed here on numerous occasions and have never had a bad experience. One of the things we love about the hotel is the location; right in the heart of Gunwharf keys, you're literally a stone’s throw away from restaurants, bars, cinema, shops and the casino. It’s the perfect place for a bit of retail therapy.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments. It is great to hear that you are a regular guest and never had a bad experience. I will pass on your feedback to our team. Thank you for your comment with regards to 'bacon' offering at breakfast, our guest feedback provides the best support to any change. We hope that you... More

Birmingham
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 2 nights as we were visiting the Naval Museums. Only one lift was working ... This lift seems to have been out of action for some time now! So lots of stairs were used. We had 2 rooms both were very tired. The carpet was disgraceful .....really badly marked this was the same in both rooms. Also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. I am sorry to hear that we have not managed to live up to your expectations. Our lift is currently undergoing major repair, due to structural failure earlier this year it is not going to be a quick fix. I am sorry that our lift was not ready at the time of... More

Oxted, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for three nights for a two days of sailing. This is in a great position not just for all that Gunwharf Quays offers but for the IOW and Gosport ferries too. However the rooms are too small for an extended stay with no room for luggage or much hanging space. Only one lift working which meant much stair climbing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent feedback. We are glad to hear the you have found our location convienient. I am sorry to hear that we have not managed to provide you with a quiet room, the rooms on the opposite side of the hotel are generally quieter. We are currently working on our lift, due to major structural... More

Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I've stayed here several times and overall it's pretty good. The rooms are small however the location is great with Gunwharfe on your door step. The breakfast is sound and comes with the cost of the room. Can't really say much more, it's fit for purpose.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent feedback. It is great to hear that we have actually managed to deliver what our brand stands for. We would like to welcome you back on your next trip to Portsmouth More

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked a twin room, didn't realise until late when we went to go to bed that one bed hadn't been made up, no sheet on the bed! Too late and too tired to call reception to sort, no shower gel in shower, badly stained room carpet, as were the carpets in the corridors. Shower was grubby / tired. Felt the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review. I am sorry to hear that you have had a bad stay with us. I am currently following up with our housekeeping manager with regards to your bedroom issues. I do apologize for the condition of our carpets, there's an urgent need of replacement and this is something we have already taken... More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Location - perfect. Car parking - perfect. Welcome - warm and friendly. I can't fault this hotel and have stayed here five times, this being the most positive. The reception staff were lovely, helpful and efficient. Our room bright, cheerful and clean. The complimentary breakfast was adequate. Not luxury, but comfortable. Can definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth. We are glad to learn that you have found our location to be just perfect and our car park to be conveniently located. It is also good to see that we have been able to improve our service standards over your recent visits... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Portsmouth with
any amenities

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Address: The Plaza | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays Hotel Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth

116 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (62)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (55)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#12 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth hotel is located within Gunwharf Quays which is a vibrant waterfront development offering a number of attractions, including over 95 designer clothing outlets,over 25 restaurants & bars, a cinema, ten pin bowling, casino and comedy club. The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth Hotel is ideally located for business or leisure breaks. It comprises 130 en-suite bedrooms and 2 modern meeting rooms, all with comfort cooling, natural daylight and free wifi throughout the hotel. The Great room and lounge area situated on the first floor offers drinks and relaxation in the evening, as well as a free continental breakfast with hot favourites which include scrambled egg, sausages & baked beans in the morning. Undercover secure parking is available in the award winning main Gunwharf Quays car park, all Hotel guests receive discounted rates for car parking in the main Gunwharf Quays car park, first twenty four hours or first exit is free of charge and then second 24 hours or exit and thereafter are charged at £2. Access to trains, buses and ferries are all within walking distance. Southampton International Airport is 22 miles away. Convenient access to all of Portsmouth's many attractions, including the Spinnaker Tower, The Historic Dockyard, Portsmouth Old Town with its cobbled streets and the waterfront, filled with traditional pubs and restaurants are all within walking distance. PLEASE NOTE: THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS - PORTSMOUTH GUNWHARF QUAYS HAS DEDICATED DISABLED CAR SPACES OUTSIDE THE HOTEL ENTRANCE, WITH A DROP OFF/PICK UP FACILITY BY THE FRONT DOOR. THERE IS APPROX A 3 MINUTE WALK FROM THE UNDERGROUND CAR PARK TO HOTEL ... more   less 
Number of rooms
130

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays and other travelers.
1 question
A TripAdvisor Member
19 days ago

See all questions (1)

See which rooms travelers prefer