We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

3.0 of 5
The Plaza | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    323
    212
    83
    25
See reviews for
139
311
34
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (794)
  • Mar-May only
    (191)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (212)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (204)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (187)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
13 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I read enough reviews to be prepared for the walk up 3 flights of stairs but still didn't enjoy it. Having stayed on a sat night there were several other noisy guests who sounded like they were in the room with me given the rather thin walls. Best stay on the far end of the floor to avoid having too... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review. I am very sorry to hear that your stay has been disturbed by other guests throughout your stay. We are progressing with the repair work on our lifts and I do apologize that we have not been ready for your arrival. Thank you very much for your valuable feedback regarding our WIFI.... More 

Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express at Gunwharf Quays in Portsmouth on Friday 27 March 2015 for 2 nights, we chose this hotel as we had stayed here before. We stayed here as we had flown over from Jersey for a wedding on the Saturday. First I would like to say the staff are pleasant & helpful & as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent feedback. I am extremely sorry that you have had such a bad stay with us. I wanted to thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff. With regards to our lifts, we have notified our booking agents and the message is displayed on their website from the very beginning. I am very... More 

Somerset, UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well the location for Gun Wharf Quays was perfect so no complaints about that. Lift issues we were warned about but when you cannot even get to reception without a flight of stairs it was bit of a chore. Breakfast was fine. Rooms varied. We had two rooms and one was considerably more spacious than the other. We found the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent feedback. I am pleased to see that you have found our location to be just right for your stay. I am very sorry that our current lift scenario has affected your stay, we hope to get this challenge resolved promptly. I also wanted to apologize for the fact that you have been disturbed... More 

North
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you want to be poorly treated and valued as a customer this is the place for you! Rude and difficult staff serving breakfast. The girl struggled to do 2 things at once - quite embarrassing for all concerned. Late night bar a joke - to get a drink one had to walk to reception, order the drink, wait until... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent feedback. I am very disappointed to read that your experience at our hotel has been far from being adequate. Please accept my sincere apologies and I will make sure all your comments will be followed up with everyone concerned. Once again, thank you very much for your valuable feedback. More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is in great location Very basic , breakfast was poor some excuse on not providing pork ? , but the lift which is essential was not working and has not been working from the review for a a long time..........disappointment .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for your breakfast feedback, as per our brand standards we do provide a continental breakfast only with a few hot favorites to include sausages, eggs and beans. I am really sorry that our selection was not to your liking. Due to a major structural failure our... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed here with my husband and also on a girly weekend. It is clean, well priced - but the best thing is the location. It is right in Gunwharf Quay in Portsmouth with all its designer outlet shop and restaurants. There is a casino and several pubs right there. It is 5 minutes walk to the amazing Mary... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent feedback. As you have kindly mentioned we are conveniently located at Gunwharf Quays. I am pleased to read that you have found our hotel to be clean and the price was just right for your stay. We would like to welcome you back. More 

Swindon, England
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked this hotel for a weekend break (Sunday and Monday nights). The hotel is a basic 3 star Holiday Inn. Locating the hotel was fairly straightforward as it's next to Gunwharf Quays with the entrance to the hotel on the left as you approach the Gunwharf Quays car park. One tip is to stop outside the hotel and offload... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. As you have kindly mentioned, we are situated right in the middle of Gunwharf Quays, a very convenient location for everyone visiting the Portsmouth area. Thank you very much for your breakfast comments, as... More 

Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Friendly staff and fantastic location make this a good choice in Portsmouth. Easy access to the ferries and shops as well as a dozen restaurants and the awesome Historic Dockyard. The rooms are neat and clean but a little worn so if you're looking for fancy this won't satisfy. A word of warning- the elevator is out of service and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent feedback. I am very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. As you have kindly mentioned we are situated in the middle of Gunwharf Quays, a very convenient location for everyone visiting the Portsmouth area. We hope to see you again. More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for 4 nights. Its a typical Holiday Inn express. Staff friendly, room a good basic standard and a typical express breakfast. Some additional points. Both lifts (the only ones) are out of order due to structural problems - I had no issues with this as it encouraged me to use the stairs! The bar is a soulless place,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent feedback. I am glad that you have had a good stay with us. Our lifts will be in operation soon and we are now progressing with the last stage of the repair. I will follow up on your comments regarding our bar prices. I am glad to read that you have found our... More 

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed at this hotel twice before because I know that I will get value for money - a great location- free parking -friendly staff and clean an comfortable rooms. There is not a lot more I can say!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for you recent feedback. I am very pleased to read that as a returning guest you have been provided with a consistency in our product and service. I will share your comments with everyone concerned. We would like to welcome you back in Portsmouth. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

134 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (77)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (57)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question