We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

The Plaza | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    322
    210
    82
    23
See reviews for
135
308
34
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (787)
  • Mar-May only
    (184)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (212)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (204)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (187)
All months
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Friendly staff and fantastic location make this a good choice in Portsmouth. Easy access to the ferries and shops as well as a dozen restaurants and the awesome Historic Dockyard. The rooms are neat and clean but a little worn so if you're looking for fancy this won't satisfy. A word of warning- the elevator is out of service and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for 4 nights. Its a typical Holiday Inn express. Staff friendly, room a good basic standard and a typical express breakfast. Some additional points. Both lifts (the only ones) are out of order due to structural problems - I had no issues with this as it encouraged me to use the stairs! The bar is a soulless place,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have stayed at this hotel twice before because I know that I will get value for money - a great location- free parking -friendly staff and clean an comfortable rooms. There is not a lot more I can say!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for you recent feedback. I am very pleased to read that as a returning guest you have been provided with a consistency in our product and service. I will share your comments with everyone concerned. We would like to welcome you back in Portsmouth. More 

San Diego, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Several of us stayed at the hotel in conjunction with Navy business in Portsmouth. The visit began with a bag-drag up two flights to the lobby, then two more flights to our rooms. Some of our rooms were clean, but two had moldy bathrooms. Sorry, but I still like to have a bar of soap. Sink and shower only had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review. I am very sorry to hear that our bathroom cleanliness was not up to our usual standard. I have followed up on your comments and will make sure this issue wil not reappear again. We have now managed to resolve all the wifi challenges, please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused.... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hotel has great location, sitting right at the shopping arcade with lots of coffee shops and bars. Maritime museum is very close, so is the train station. Unfortunately, this is the end of appraisal. Hotel's elevators are out of order, however this place has not put any warning and charges regular rates. To get to the reception you need to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. As you have kindly mentioned we are situated right in the middle of Gunwharf Quays, a very convenient location for everyone visiting the Portsmouth area. I am very sorry to hear that our current lifts status has affected your stay. Our lift information is on our website and all our reservation agents have... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Yes location is outstanding and the quality of the room was good. Very comfortable bed and nice bathroom. The room we had was situated at the front by the bars and noise was an issue but we're not light sleepers so that wasn't a problem. If you don't like noise however rooms at the front will be an issue and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that your room quality was adequate and overall you have had a good night sleep. The standard room offering as per our website means that the actual room type will be allocated upon arrival. We always strive to accommodate all our guests requests and I... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is perfectly situated within all the fantastic retail, bars and restaurants of Gunwharf Quays and its marina - was a lovely sunny day for those not working. However my stay was marred by the lack of lifts at the hotel, meaning I had to trek up and down multiple flights of stairs throughout my stay. I wouldn't have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you have found our location to be just right for your stay. I am very sorry that your stay has been badly affected by our current lift scenario. I do apologize that there was no follow up on your feedback. We have instructed our... More 

Berkshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a pleasant weekend break in Portsmouth visiting the historic dockyards and enjoying the locals restaurants. The spinnaker tower was also very interesting. It was disappointing that the hotel although well placed, expected guests to use stairs if they wanted rooms on high floors. The lift was out of order all through our stay. The wifi was very poor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent feedback. I am very pleased to read that you have had a good stay with us. We are located in the middle of Gunwharf Quays. I am very sorry that your stay has been affected by our recent lift failure. We hope to get it all repaired soon. We have contacted our internet... More 

Cascais, Portugal
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is in an excellent location, in a modern development next to a large shopping mall, and close to historic Portsmouth. The staff are helpful and pleasant, and the discounted rate in the large adjacent public car park is very good. However, the overall experience is extremely poor. First, the lifts are out of order and, as it's because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review. I am very sorry to hear that our current lift status has affected your stay. There is a major structural failure in both of the lift shafts and we are now progressing with the repair. I do apologize that we have not been ready for your arrival. We are due to start... More 

Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were with a group of friends visiting Portsmouth over the weekend so only stayed one night. The staff were excellent - very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were clean and functional. The buffet breakfast was plentiful and of good quality. Parking was free for 24 hours, which was unexpected given we were in Gunwharf Quays. The only negatives were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you for the review on our hotel here in Portsmouth. It's great to hear your positive experience with the team and I will pass these comments onto them. We are in a busy shopping centre with restaurants, bars and night clubs. I'm sorry to hear the bar opposite disturbed you during your night with us. I hope you will... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

129 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (72)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (57)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question