We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

3.0 of 5 The Plaza | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    317
    199
    80
    21
See reviews for
132
298
34
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (764)
  • Mar-May only
    (161)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (212)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (204)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (187)
All months
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The rooms were modern and clean, the staff are friendly, the bed was a little firm for me but that's just a personal preference. Breakfast was nice but only 4 things to choose from the English cooked department. On the plus side the serve a nice cold pint in the bar

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunbury on Thames
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I arrived here and was quite unimpressed when the lifts were not working - and reception was on the 1st floor. The room I was given was quite a walk...and was next to a corridor door that banged shut - so I was moved....to a room where the wind was whistling through the window that wouldn't close properly. I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed on 15th & 16th Feb, good hotel, in a very good location, its a shame that the lifts have not been working since November ( They have been condemned ), manager said this was clearly stated on "their" website, unfortunately it does not tell you on holiday inn express website ( hiexpress.com. ) Manager did offer a refund, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
9 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

You can not beat this place for location. If you are in town for some serious retail therapy or want to be close to the action, you can not get much better than this. A fairly clean and modern feel inside with all the facilities you will need. I have stayed in worse but stayed in many considerably better. Not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review. I am glad that you have found our location to be conveinient for your stay. It is also. We do offer free car park to all hotel residents for the first 24hours and each additional 24h period only £2 thereafter. It is also encouraging to read that you have found our hotel... More 

Cornwall,England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Excellent hotel.Perfect for all the great shops in Gunwarf and visiting the Historic dock and museums .Big free breakfast and very comfy rooms.110 was a huge corner room.Clean,helpful staff especially Natasha and Jaimes Italian very yummy and the casino were right there if required.Am going back and would recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very pleased to know that we have managed to exceed your expectations, I will certainly pass on your feedback to Natasha. We hope to see you very soon. More 

Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location for historic dock and outlet shops. Good restaurants around it. Clean room. Friendly staff, easy check in. No lift though, However carpets need a really good clean, stained and very marked. Toilets needed a bleach! Breakfast was poor- dour staff and lack of quality. Overlooked pastries, cooked breakfast not renewed. Messy floors, not cleared up by staff. Did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for you recent feedback. I wanted to thank you for your positive comments regarding your check in experience and the service provided throughout your stay. I am very sorry to hear that you have not been satisfied with the level of cleanliness acrros the hotel. I will address all your points with our housekeeping team. I... More 

Oxford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed here for a night away for a birthday surprise. The location was better then I could of hoped for seeing as we were going to tiger tiger just round the corner. The lift was out of order which was a bit of a pain (but not a disaster like other people's reviews.) staff were very helpful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very pleased to know that you have found our location to be just right for the purpose of your stay. We are in the middle of Gunwharf Quays, making it convenient to all our guests. Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding our staff.... More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in this joke of a hotel recently, firstly the lift is out of order, which is simply a bit of a joke when you have just been on a 2 day journey and have a lot of luggage. Everything seemed nice despite that, but when I get to the reception they are generally quite rude. It took 15... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review. I am extremely sorry to read that we have failed on so many points during your guest journey. We do normally receive a lot of compliments regarding our front office staff, please accept my apologies that it was not the case this time. I will follow up on your feedback with our... More 

Hampshire
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the second time we have stayed here and again our stay was fantastic. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The staff are friendly and helpful. The only down side is that for some bizarre reason to do with them being an express they dont have bacon in the breakfast buffet ! Not the end of the world.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that we have managed to exceed your expectations and your stay was truly fantastic. Thank you for you kind comments regarding our staff, I will share your feedback with everyone concerned. We hope that you will visit us again. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights over the valentines period. Overall lovely stay just a couple of negatives, lift was broken when we arrived so we had to lug our heavy bags up 3 flights of stairs to our room. Then we had trouble with our light on the desk which kept cutting out, the staff were brilliant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review. With regards to our lifts as we are now progressing with the repair, we have put in place some additional resources and the luggage assistance is provided 24/7. I will follow up on your light challenges with our maintenance. I am glad that to read that you have been satisfied with the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Address: The Plaza | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays Hotel Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth

128 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (71)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (57)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay