We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

The Plaza | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Add Photo Write a Review

844 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    157
    335
    229
    93
    30
See reviews for
145
330
35
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (844)
  • Mar-May only
    (224)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (229)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (204)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (187)
All months
Wythall
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

ok for budget hotel , I was in the disabled room in which somebody had been smoking in the bathroom which left and awful smell. the room was basic the view was pretty soul destroying (the roof) wouldn't recommend staying there unless you had to. the bed was relatively comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Modern hotel, but not very atmospheric bit very handy for Gun wharf, shops restaurant and night life, and only a few minutes from the Dock yard. Rooms bigger than typical HI Ex , sound proof and very comfortable, excellent buffet breakfast and helpful front of house staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for you review. Thank you for all your kind comments and I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your time in Portsmouth. I will share your staff feedback with everyone concerned. We would like to welcome you back in the future. More 

Moorpark, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel is summed up in those 3 words. We booked this hotel because it was walking distance to HMS Victory and the other dock attractions. The room was so small you could not swing a cat without hitting the walls. I would say about 12'x12' and that is generous. We stayed only one night any more and it would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent feedback. I am glad to read that our location was just right for your stay. Thank you for your in room comments and we would like to invite you back in the future. More 

Esher, Surrey
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Tripadvisor (& subsequently the hotel) warned us the lifts would still be out of order - but they did work on the day we arrived. This coincided with a wheelchair users arrival so perhaps they had just turned one lift on temporarily? They weren't working the next morning. There is parking for disabled badge holders straight outside the hotel -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review. I am very sorry to hear that you have experienced so many challenges on your guest journey in our hotel. The Gunwharf approach most of the times is traffic free and I do apologize that this time the above was not the case. Thank you for your feedback regarding our linen, we... More 

Gibraltar
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, perfect place for our short stay in Portsmouth. Pleasent welcom helpful informative staff. On arrival noticed one lift ( out of 2 ) out of order, which remained O.O.O for our entire stay. Not a problem except the second went O.O.O on saturday night and climbing three floors with arthrictic knees was not very pleasent. Towels in shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review. Thank you for your kind comments regarding your arrival experience. I do apologize about our lift failure, we have managed to fix our lift on that particular weekend. As per our brand guidelines we do provide continental breakfast only with a few hot favourites to include sausages, eggs and beans. I hope... More 

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My experiences have made me conclude that the Holiday Inns of America/Canada seem to a completely different brand from the Holiday Inns of the UK. I actually like the N. American brand - clean, efficient, good breakfast (although not the best). My few experiences with the UK brand have all been pretty bad. I would rate this hotel a 2-star... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very sorry that you have not felt that our hotel represents similar standard to the ones in the US. We are due to commence our carpet refurbishment program very soon. We have been gradually replacing our linen stock. I do apologize for any inconvenience throughout your... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for only one night on our way to France. On arrival we found the car park to be very convenient and safe with it being free for the night stay here was great. On checking in with very nice staff on reception we were give a 10% off list for local restaurant's which we used. Room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review. I am very pleased to read all your comments regarding your stay with us. We would like to invite you back in Portsmouth. More 

Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having read some of the reviews my expectation levels were not set very high however upon arrival the staff were very courteous and professional and hassle free. The room was clean and tidy. Bathroom clean and bed very comfy. You cannot beat the location and I'm assuming the price of the hotel is based on the location. For the price... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review. I wanted to thank you for your fair comments regarding your stay. I am sorry to hear that you have not found our hotel to be a value for money. Thank you very much for your feedback regarding our breakfast, I will follow up on your comments. We would like to welcome... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here because of the excellent location. Being right next to all the gunwharf shops and restaurants was great. The hotel itself is a bit tired. The room was adequate but nothing special. No shampoo at all and only products at all week soap and shower gel in big dispensers. No bath. Dated decor. But sufficient. The really bad... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review. I am glad to read that you have found our location very convenient during your stay. Thank you for your feedback regarding our breakfast, I am very sorry that we have not lived up to your expectations. I will follow up on your comments with both our breakfast team and our suppliers... More 

St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was a bit dubious having read some reviews about the booking I had made but was pleasantly surprised when we stayed there. Yes its in a central location and so really you will get noise (even from those inconsiderate people who hold a conversation at 2am outside your door and ignore the polite management notice). My suggestion is,stay outside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the to review our hotel. I wanted to thank you for all your kind comments regarding our staff, I will share your lovely feedback with our team. I am very please to read that you have enjoyed our current breakfast offering. We hope to see you again in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

162 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (92)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (70)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay