We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

3.0 of 5 The Plaza | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    300
    181
    72
    19
See reviews for
123
273
34
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (712)
  • Mar-May only
    (160)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (212)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (204)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (136)
All months
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Currently staying at the hotel but i would not do it again. The staff here is great but the dirty carpets, unusable internet and really poor room lighting did not make this a buisness friendly hotel. I didn't need the lift but it is out of order and not getting fixed any time soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review. I am really sorry to hear that we have failed to deliver on so many occasions. We are going to start our carpet replacement program as of spring 2015 and we hope to improve our guest experience in that area. We do provide a complimentary WiFi throughout the hotel, it is a... More 

Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, staff were great, good breakfast and easy access to all local attractions, shops ferries, historic dockyard.Only downside was lift out of order but the staff carried your luggage shopping etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am really pleased to know that you have had a lovely stay with us. I will also share your kind feedback with our team here. I do apologize about the lift challenges and I am happy to read that our staff have been able to help. We... More 

Caldicot, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We did not knowanything about Portsmouth but i wanted to see the historical dockyards, imagine my delight when i discovered that this hotel is next door practically to the dockyard. And imagine my wifes delight when she discovered that it is next to the designer outlook shopping precint!! there is no restaurant here but they do serve you breakfast which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review. I am very pleased that you have found our location to be just right for you or even more. Thank you for your kind feedback regarding our staff, I will share your kind comments with the team here. The Portsmouth Harbour station is only a five minute walk from our hotel, we... More 

Reading, Hampshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed with a friend on a Saturday night as part of a weekend get together to shop at Gunwharf and have a nice meal out and a boogie at Tiger Tiger (it is Christmas after all!). The lifts were not working (as mentioned by many previous guests) but you can phone Reception from the ground floor to ask for assistance... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you have enjoyed your time with us despite our current lift scenario. I am really pleased that you have pointed out all the strengths of our brand to include your bedroom experience, our free wifi and a wide range of our continental breakfast with a selcetion... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the HI Express Portsmouth earlier this week. It was very disappointing. * Lifts out of action (not shown on hotels.com when booked, as STILL not reflected even now!) * We arrived at 11.30pm and had a LOT of expensive equipment. Asked for a porter and staff made one journey helping us we equipment then conveniently disappeared for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was far from being adequate. I do apologize for the fact that you have not been notified about our current lift status. We have informed all our relevant channels and I am sorry to hear that the information has not reached you before... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Once again my sister and I were not disappointed, the hotel provided us with a great base to enjoy Gun Wharf and the Festival of Christmas over in the dockyard. Great location, comfortable beds and a nice choice of food at breakfast. Free WIFI was great, fast enough for what we needed, which was general browsing. Yes the lifts weren't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. I am really pleased to see that you are our regular guest and we have yet again managed to make your stay enjoyable. Please accept my apologies for our lifts, we are trying to get if repaired urgently. We hope to see you next year. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights to do some shopping, sightseeing and visit the excellent Victorian Christmas market. Unfortunately the lifts weren't working, but we turned it into a positive as using the stairs would be beneficial to our health! Then I spotted the ice machine, marvellous for the pre dinner and after shopping gin and tonics. The hotel was perfectly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for kind feedback. We do currently experiencing a challenge with our lifts being out of action. I am glad that it has turned out to be a positive experience throughout your stay. I am happy to see that you have enjoyed our location and also excellent service provided by our staff. We hope to see you... More 

rox_uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here for one night after coming to see a gig. It was our first night away from being "mummy and daddy" since our daughter was born 2.5 years ago so we were hoping it would be special. Well the Holiday Inn Express did not disappoint!! The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. I am pleased to read that you have had such a great stay with us. I will share your feedback with our team. We are working hard on our lifts so please come back and visit us soon. More 

Nantwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked a nights accommodation for the 24th November. The postcode on the website was incorrect and I had to phone for directions. The website indicated that it had parking which was not the case and I had to park on the NCP Car Park. The lifts were broken and the room was extremely noisy not only with the air... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I do apologize for your initial experience with the post code, I will verify it and update accordingly. We do share our car park with Gunwharf Quays, as a part of the shopping complex and offer our guests 24h car park free of charge and £2 for each 24 hour... More 

Melton Mowbray
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location of this hotel is brilliant, Gun Wharf is an awesome place too but as good as this hotel is, during this visit the lifts were out of action meaning a lot of stairs to climb! A hollow apology at check - in but surely for both to be out of action says "long term" problem. Surely a complimentary... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tom S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your recent review. I do apologize for our current lift status, we do our best to make sure that our guests disturbance is kept to a minimum. We thank you for your suggestions and we will consider it going forward. We hope to provide you with a better service upon your next visit to Portsmouth. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Address: The Plaza | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays Hotel Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth

123 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (57)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay