We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Pembroke Road, Portsmouth PO1 2TA, England
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    230
    150
    60
    26
See reviews for
110
224
23
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (579)
  • Mar-May only
    (130)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (186)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (148)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (115)
All months
Keighley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars NEW

Stayed here en route to Portugal. Getting early ferry from Portsmouth to Santander. Good location. Comfortable rooms with Wi-Fi, tea and coffee making facilities and a bath tub. Parking was a bit restricted but there is also on road parking available. Staff efficient and friendly. Good restaurant opposite. Missed breakfast due to an early check out but hot drinks and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmilyAP283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Helen R, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we provided you with a comfortable night before your journey to Portugal. Thankyou for your positive feedback about our rooms and staff. Customer service is of utmost importance to us... More 

Alresford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just spent a very pleasant weekend at the Holiday Inn Portsmouth.The hotel was clean and comfortable and the staff were very pleasant and went beyond the call of duty when they helped us technophobes print out historic dockyard tickets!The breakfast was good although the coffee could have stripped paint,but as a base for exploring Portsmouth we couldn't have asked for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmilyAP283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear tigs1963, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. We are delighted to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one and I'm pleased to hear that the staff were very helpful when it came to printing off your tickets - customer service is of utmost importance to us. Thankyou for your positive comments... More 

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of the hotel is fine, not far from the city centre or gunwharf for shops and restaurants. The decor of the hotel is a bit dated and in need of an update, mould on the bathroom tiles is never a peasant sight. On top of that, service could be a lot better, 5 calls to try and get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmilyAP283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Steve J, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. Thankyou for your positive comment about our location but I'm sorry to hear that the rest of your stay was a bit of a disappointment. I will pass on you feedback about the décor looking dated and finding mould on the bathroom tiles is... More 

Kent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is within walking distance of the seafront and Clarence Pier (with hovercraft to Isle of Wight) and is extremely well served by buses, except on a Sunday evening when the bus service stops at 7.30pm. The room was clean, comfortable and had everything needed for a short break, and the breakfast (pre-booked as part of advance rate) was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmilyAP283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear IslandhopperKent, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. Your feedback is very important to us in order to deliver the best possible customer experience. Thankyou for your positive comments with regards to all aspects of your stay except the music. I will have a word with the restaurant manager and pass on your... More 

Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here with work, very ugly building from the outside but that can't be helped. Staff very friendly and helpful from the off. The reason I gave this 2 starts was that the food I ordered for dinner was blatantly microwaved to heart it up and not cooked fresh which is more than a little disappointing when they're expecting £200... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmilyAP283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear fluffymallows, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. Customer service is of utmost importance to us so thankyou for your positive feedback about the staff. Please accept my sincerest apologies for your experience in the restaurant. We do not microwave the food and I will be investigating why your food wasn't up to... More 

Telford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we stayed here Saturday 7/2/15 when we checked in we were asked if we would like a newspaper next day we said yes but it was never ordered so no paper. The noise was horrendous from 3pm to 3am slamming doors bad language we reported the door slamming at 6pm to be told the doors cant slam they have something... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmilyAP283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear kimc20152015, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. Please accept my sincerest apologies for your experience. With regards to all the noise that night, I believe that you have been compensated in the form of IHG Reward Club Points.. I am very sorry, and it is not something that happens often and we... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice hotel with friendly staff, enjoyed the bonus use of the leisure facilities including swimming pool. We were lucky enough to take advantage of the free car parking. Its a good walk to the historical docks about 20mins but lots of things to see on the way.

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmilyAP283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear sam w, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. Thankyou for all your positive feedback and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the leisure facilities after a long day visiting the historical docks. I'm glad you found a car parking space on site but, even... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Welcoming, friendly & helpful staff. Clean rooms with excellent comfy beds. Lovely lounge / bar area to relax. Food looked nice but we were eating out & drinks vg Considering it was Christmas party season the parties did not impact our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EmilyAP283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear little-e2012, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Your feedback is very important to us in order to ensure the best possible customer experience so thankyou very much for your positive comments with regards to the staff and the rooms. I'm sorry you... More 

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Double room is not very big, bathroom very small. Tatty around the edges and in need of a refit. Good TV. Awful bed with thin duvet on a very cold night. Basic, no personal touches such as biscuits. Biggest annoyance is pricing, £135 for the room and then £12.95 for one day of wifi. Really? Come on. I'm glad it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmilyAP283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Mike L, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I'm sorry to hear that your experience wasn't a pleasant one. The hotel has just taken on a new ownership so lots of changes are taking place. The hotel was built in the 70's and so all the rooms are of a similar size,... More 

Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I recently stayed at this hotel for a week in January 2015. Firstly I would like to say the receptionist that booked us in was very good, really friendly and accommodating, young lady think her name was Daisha...... Our room was a good size a family room that could accommodate 4 people, however the view was awful small window straight... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmilyAP283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear A8nnc, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. We are pleased to hear that your overall stay was a good one but please accept my apologies for the few problems you had with your lunch. I will speak to the food and beverage manager and ensure he reassesses how many staff he puts... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Address: Pembroke Road, Portsmouth PO1 2TA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn

119 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (74)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
0:41
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay