We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Pembroke Road, Portsmouth PO1 2TA, England
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    238
    156
    62
    26
See reviews for
111
236
25
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (597)
  • Mar-May only
    (148)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (186)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (148)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (115)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I'm not a great lover of chain hotels, but this one is actually much better than average, mostly due to the excellent staff and the good pool/sauna/steam room. Rooms are quiet and the ones with seaview are very quiet and offer great views of the boats going past. Wifi was free as we were in an Executive room which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Firstly, let me say that I booked this hotel and standard because it was my wedding anniversary, and I though I would get something a bit more special for us both. Big mistake. Whilst the location is great, the staff are fine, the rooms are ok, if a bit tired and in need of an upgrade, I should have done... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durham
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were shipped in here when we were unable, due to bad weather, to board P&O's Oriana on a cruise from Southampton. We were amazed that all went so smoothly with bus loads of stranded passengers invading the hotel at short notice. The staff were incredibly helpful and put themselves out to keep us informed: the restaurant manager was particularly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a double executive room. The room was on the small side but well equipped and we had complimentary water and chocolate. Sadly the ridiculously small ensuite bathroom was a big let down. They had fitted a smaller than standard door, otherwise the toilet would have prevented the door from opening! I asked the receptionist if all the bathrooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmilyAP283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Lindaj0y, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. This hotel was built in the 1970's hence all the rooms are of a similar size, sadly on the small side especially the bathrooms. Obviously there is a slight variation in different rooms but, as a whole, they are all small so we have to... More 

Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Had a very nice stay at this hotel. The room was clean and tidy and staff professional and friendly. The breakfast was also very good with quite a bit of choice. The hotel is well located within Portsmouth. Would recommend a stay to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmilyAP283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Darren V, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay at Holiday Inn Portsmouth. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thankyou for all of your positive feedback. Customer experience is of utmost importance to us so it's lovely to hear that all aspects of your stay were pleasurable. Thankyou for recommending us if... More 

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From the moment I arrived I was disappointed. The reception girls were both young and certainly not welcoming, when I asked questions it seemed like a chore to be answering. If you call down from your room you're waiting a very long time for the phone to be picked up. The room itself was nothing special, a bit dated but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmilyAP283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Serena E, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I'm very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay from the moment you arrived. The reception girls are normally very friendly and welcoming so it's sad to hear that they weren't on that day but I will pass on your comment... More 

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A very welcoming reception, lovely and very comfortable rooms and beds. We had requested a sea view for our childs birthday well in advance, but sadly didn't receive this. The pool facilities were great and breakfast fantastic. Not that it was the hotels fault but other guests were extremely noisy, rude and inconsiderate of others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmilyAP283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Matt L, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, I'm sorry you didn't get the sea view room that you requested though. I hope your child's enjoyment in the pool compensated for this? Thankyou for your positive comments about the welcoming reception and... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've been here a few times now for meetings and conference and the overall experience has been very good with staff being very attentive. The only issue I've had is with the food. Sure it's ok, but if I'm paying £13 for a king prawn pasta I would like a little flavour and some more on my plate!! I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmilyAP283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Alicerosejohnson, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. Thankyou for your positive feedback with regards to the staff and rooms but I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your prawn pasta. I will pass on your comments to the chef as we want our guests to want to use our restaurant and... More 

Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here on a couple of occasions when visiting our son, perfect location for us, close to all amenities & parking available, on this occasion breakfast was also included which was very good & plentiful.

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmilyAP283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Warren P, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. We are delighted to hear that you enjoy your visits when coming down to see your son. Thankyou for your positive feedback about our location and we're delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast. Thankyou again and we look forward to welcoming you back in... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms and the leisure facilities are good, but the food is awful it is microwaved or thrown into a deep fat fryer and incinerated to an inch of its life, as a result the food is tasteless and bland. The staff are friendly and try hard but the amount of complaints I witnessed should ring alarm bells.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
EmilyAP283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear A Trip Advisor Member, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. Thankyou for your positive comments about the rooms, the staff and the leisure facilities but I'm sorry to hear about your experience in the restaurant. It doesn't sound pleasant having your food incinerated to within an inch of its life, I hope... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

119 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (74)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
0:41
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question