We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Pembroke Road, Portsmouth PO1 2TA, England
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Add Photo Write a Review

616 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    116
    248
    163
    63
    26
See reviews for
112
245
25
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (616)
  • Mar-May only
    (167)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (186)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (148)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (115)
All months
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Excellent staff easy check in and out rooms are fairly standard holiday inn room with the usual faults ie no ceiling lights and no plug sockets near the bed but more than adequate for the odd nights stay. Nicely located close to the sea front and 10 mins walk to the gun wharf quays with its shops and restaurants and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

As Holiday Inn's go, this gives you exactly what it says it will. First the Staff. Lovely and friendly and very helpful. I enjoyed my interaction with them very much. Bar Food. Let's not put too fine a point on it, the Lasagne I had was pretty dire, the crumble I had with the custard was pretty good The Gym... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very convenient for visiting the Mary Rose exhibition. No I bus avoids driving to the Dock. We returned from Brittany on the evening ferry and made our way to the hotel as we usually pass through Portsmouth and continue our long drive home. The visit to the Mary Rose was well worth the stay in Portsmouth and the hotel is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

If arriving by car, finding a space in the hotel car park can be a little challenging but in the event of having to park outside then it's free (via a permit from reception). Bright, clean and welcoming reception area with friendly and polite staff. We dealt with "Maz" and he was exceptionally helpful to us. Our room was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed here recently over night, and - like so many similar hotels - one knows exactly what to expect. The only surprises are whether or not a particular hotel has recently been refurbished, and is therefore brighter, cleaner and (one feels) temporarily better organised. Unfortunately that doesn't seem to be the case with the Southsea Holiday Inn. Booking in and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmilyAP283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear MIKE F, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. Firstly I would like to say thankyou for your thorough feedback, without it we wouldn't be able to constantly improve our standards to ensure the best possible guest experience. Secondly, thankyou very much for your positive feedback with regards to the reception and breakfast.... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Can't fault this place, my fiancé and I regularly stay for any special occasion. We live fairly close but sometimes you need a little bit of peace and quiet away from the hubbub of the daily routine. The executive rooms are well worth getting. Location is great, right on the seafront, close to Gunwharf quays and Southsea shopping centre. Fantastic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmilyAP283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear lisa_jayne8, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. Thankyou for your lovely review - we work hard to ensure that we give the best possible customer experience so it makes it all worthwhile when receiving such positive feedback. Thankyou very much for your positive comments about all aspects of your visits and we... More 

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We travelled to Portsmouth last Summer and had the pleasure of staying in Holiday Inn Portsmouth. The hotel was generally well maintained and the room we stayed in was fantastic, we managed to fit two adults and 2 children in comfortably with room for our stuff and space to relax and unwind. The location is fantastic with plenty to do... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmilyAP283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear natashaa893, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us last summer and thankyou for your positive feedback about our location, food and staff. Customer service is of utmost importance to us your kind words makes all the hard work worthwhile. I'm sorry... More 

Derbyhire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is OK - rooms are a reasonable size, but have seen better days - it's clean but there are bump marks on the doors and skirting, towels are well used etc. Facilities on site (bar/restaurant) are OK. Parking is free but limited - plenty (paid for) parking outside and it is close to the shore and a 10/15... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmilyAP283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear DerbyhireHappycamper, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and thankyou for your 7/10 score. Thankyou for your positive feedback about our location and parking. With regards to the bedrooms looking tired, we are currently undergoing some refurbishments but we have to do this slowly so as... More 

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Customer service cannot be faulted - extremely good. Whilst waiting in the reception to book in, I witnessed fellow travellers being served and was extremely impressed at the service each and every one was afforded by the reception staff. The rooms are perhaps a little tired, paintwork scuffed in the bathroom; only one double plug in the bedroom with one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmilyAP283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear csmd2612, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. Customer satisfaction is of utmost importance to us and we work hard to give the best customer service possible. Your kind feedback makes everything worthwhile so thankyou very much for your positive comments about the staff. The rooms are currently undergoing refurbishments but it has... More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our party of 13 mature couples, spent £4k plus on package, however mostly left disappointed. Dinner on first night very poor quality, basic buffet meal only ,couldn't put us on large table, all ate separate. Second night, improved but little choice,chicken or veg curry only! Two rooms had plumbing issues, advised no maintenance staff available at weekends (for 166 bedrooms?).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
EmilyAP283, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Marilyn R, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your experience. I will speak to the restaurant manager and investigate why you couldn't sit at one large table. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your meals, I will pass on those comments to the kitchen... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

119 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (74)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
0:41
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay