We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 39 Portsmouth hotels

The Westfield Hall

65 Festing Road, Portsmouth PO4 0NQ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Westfield Hall to your Saves list
The Westfield Hall
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #30 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012
suitcases_packed59 SE England
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
SE England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We've stayed here several times before and always enjoyed our stay finding both the accommodation, food and service provided by the staff to be of a high standard. We had booked (by phone) earlier this year to pay a short visit again this summer and, when I made this booking I was told we could have our usual room and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Helsinki, Finland
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Visited: July 2009 =Accommodation: A no-frills room with a bathroom. Had a curiously quaint open keyhole pointing to the bed open to the hallway, key in the hole got that sorted. =Location: Somewhat off the beaten track, about 3 kms from the city center as the crow flies; on the other hand it gave me a chance to take a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012 via mobile

Just had a very nice weekend, booked last minute as love Southsea. The service was great and breakfast lovely. Bathroom in our room could do with an update but other than that the hotel was good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harleston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We found this hotel using Trip Advisor and were certainly not disappointed! Friendly welcome, super comfy bed, everywhere very clean, staff attentive and breakfast superb. We hope to visit again and would not hesitate to recommend to our friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Another trip tp Portsmouth visiting friends and i saw no reason why i should not stay overnight here again. I arrived at 6pm to be greeted on reception by Claire who i found to be very helpful in suggestion places locally that my friends and i could visit and on this occasion i took her advice and spent the evening... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

I recently stayed at the Westfield Hall hotel and they really did go the extra mile - in fact 5 miles to be more precise! I left my house keys in the room and they drove 5 miles to drop them off as I did not have time to go back and pick them up and had to catch a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zaandijk, The Netherlands
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Room was clean, but very small with a family of four. The folding bed was the best one to sleep in. Walking to the city centre is quite far. Breakfast was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Small room even though it was a 'superior'. Carpet on ensuite floor - not hygienic. Handbasin very small. Frayed worn bath mat and lump of dust hanging down below radiator. Very limited parking - had to move my car to allow someone out in the morning. Not impressed with staff attitude. Breakfast was fine. Would not stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Margaret6567, Owner at The Westfield Hall, responded to this review

I am sorry you were unhappy with your stay at the Westfield Hall. Our car park offers generous parking. You informed the desk at 8.00am that you had blocked someone in, and that if we called your room, you would be happy to move. We called at 10.15am and you quite happily moved your car. I don't understand why you... More

Derby, United Kingdom
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I stayed at this hotel in July 2011. I had to book the single as they were fully booked and so was everywhere else. The single room B&b was £58.28 per night. The room had a single bed, desk, bed side table and ensuite shower. It is the smallest room I have ever stayed in. Although clean and tidy, it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Margaret6567, Owner at The Westfield Hall, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were unhappy with your stay at the Westfield Hall. You booked a single room which meets the stringent standards set by the AA in size and amenities and we are sorry that it did not meet your expectations. Regarding the cleaning of the room, our cleaners went into the room on the first occasion and... More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stayed here for one night on 29th September on our way back from France and it was a hot night. We soon discovered that the bed had a rubber under-sheet which we hate. What with that and a fairly heavy quilt we were hot and sweaty all night. We complained in the morning and were told that they had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Margaret6567, Owner at The Westfield Hall, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Westfield Hall. Unfortunately, there is a need for all Hotels to provide mattress protectors (not rubber sheets) for purposes of hygiene. This is also a requirement of the AA. I do not understand however, why you did not remove the mattress protector, if you were unable to sleep... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Westfield Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Westfield Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westfield Hall

Address: 65 Festing Road, Portsmouth PO4 0NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Westfield Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westfield Hall Hotel Portsmouth
Westfield Hall Portsmouth
Westfield Hall Hotel Portsmouth

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (12)
Bathroom (2)
Hotel & grounds (1)
Dining (1)
View from room (1)
Room/suite (2)
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (3)
Room/suite (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
hotels in Portsmouth with
any amenities


Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Number of rooms

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Westfield Hall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer