We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
South Parade | St. Helen's Parade, Portsmouth PO4 ORN, England
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

794 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    323
    295
    119
    38
    19
See reviews for
117
284
56
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (794)
  • Mar-May only
    (206)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (237)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (190)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (161)
All months
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel is a very old building the photos do not show the true pictures off the bedrooms. We were given a room at first which was very small and somebody had been smoking in the room 223. The net curtains were filthy wallpaper old wallpaper peeling. When we complained we were given another room better but still disappointing226. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a nice hotel on the seafront. Check in was quick, the staff friendly and welcoming and nothing seemed too much trouble. The room was a good size, clean and with some nice complimentary tea, coffee, biccies and bathroom stuff. Nice bar area by reception, though the prices are quite expensive. Good choices of cooked, continental, cereals and fruit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband & I booked 2 nights to attend a wedding. Every room we saw was excellent. Unfortunatly, we didn't get a sea view as the America's Cup was on this weekend. The hotel was full to capascity but, nothing was lost in this fantastic venue. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. One family member asked for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review of the hotel and team, I am pleased you had a wonderful stay with us and everything went to plan, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM More 

Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Generally what you would expect from a Best Western 3 star. However the standard of housekeeping in my room, 229, was not what I would expect! I complained and was assured that the room would be recleaned while I was at dinner. These photos were taken after the room had supposedly been re cleaned!

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, I am sorry the standard of cleaning in your room was poor and wasn't corrected as you requested, We held a meeting this morning with our house keeping and maintenance teams and pointed out the discrepancies in that room, guest feedback is always appreciated and helps us in improving further, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM More 

Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our Grand daughter graduated from Portsmouth University and we wanted to be there so we looked for accommodation for the night .We looked at several and finally chose Royal Beach and it was perfect both for location and quality of room and food . I never realised what a lovely place South Sea was ,with promenade walks and gardens.The Hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing the Hotel and local area, I am pleased you had a good stay with us and enjoyed the walks and attractions Southsea has to offer, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM More 

Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you book a room here try and get a room at the front because we had a room above the kitchen and all night we could here the I assume the kitchen extractors . The bar prices are some of the highest I have come across otherwise staff were attentive and the rooms large

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am sorry you experienced noise issues during your stay and as you say I can only assume it was a kitchen extractor they should be turned off at the end of service, we have installed a timer clock now to avoid human error in the future, I hope this does not put you off... More 

Wickham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a Linedance event at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed the event and the hotel. Dance floor superb, staff kept us supplied with chilled water whilst dancing till the early hours, Rooms were modern well decorated and spacious and the blackout curtains worked a treat with the early morning sunlight. The food and the cooking was of a high... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing the Hotel, It is always good to get feedback from a group that uses our ballroom facility and I am really pleased your weekend was a huge success, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM More 

Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed here twice - once with my mum while she was visiting and once by myself. Recently I stayed for one night in a single room while I was in the process of moving. It was perfect - I was able to get a bargain last minute and ended up with a seaside view! While it was a plus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you had another good stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our group of 32 had an excellent time staying four nights. Bedroom clean with comfortable beds. Breakfast and Evening meal was excellent with lots of choices. Staff very friendly, helpful and efficient.with 32 in the group and NOT ONE complaint I would say that was a result. Great Location , Coach park 10 mins away from the Hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a really nice review of the Hotel, I am pleased all of your party had a good time with us and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Car park(10)
  • Sea view(10)
  • Very comfortable(4)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

109 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (93)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
4.6 mi away
Marriott Portsmouth
Marriott Portsmouth
#14 of 39 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 755 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 stars 890 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#25 of 39 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#3 of 39 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southsea
Premier Inn Southsea
#13 of 39 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay