We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
South Parade | St. Helen's Parade, Portsmouth PO4 ORN, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

923 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed here with 3 colleagues and enjoyed the stay,it's a grand hotel let down massively by the lack of parking. The hotel is tired in places but it's almost it's charm, the staff vary from very young and enthusiastic to the old and clearly going through the motions. My room was clean and newly decorated and was really nice,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank MCP77
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing the hotel, I am pleased you found your newly decorated room acceptable and enjoyed your stay, parking is an issue for all the hotels in Southsea but we do try to assist guests with parking as much as we can and all off street parking is permit free, best wishes, Chris Gilmore GM More 

Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

A clean and well cared for older hotel. We had a lovely seaview room ( hopefully the pier will be up and running soon). The food was excellent in both the restaurant and bar. The choice for breakfast was exceptional and my poached eggs were probably the best I've ever had. All the staff were friendly and helpful, especially Margaret... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Frances1813
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review which I have copied out to Margaret. The pier is currently being refurbished and fingers crossed should be open for the 2016 summer period, best wishes Chris Gilmore GM More 

Horley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a wonderful stay and found the hotel well cared for and spotless. The staff were friendly and very helpful, especially Margaret and David, but I must also mention Sam, Jose and Elsa. The food was excellent in both the restaurant and bar. The breakfast choice was vast and the poached eggs were the best I've ever had. Hence... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank S W
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you had a good stay with us and have passed on your comments to all the team, best wishes, Chris Gilmore GM More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have stayed here once before about ten years ago when it was a bt disappointing but recently stayed here overnight on business with a colleague and booked two single rooms. Both really cheap at £49 each including breakfast. Parking at rear of hotel included in the price although not that easy to find a way to the back of... More 

Helpful?
Thank HenryHoolihan
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am pleased that not only was your stay extremely good value you found everything clean and fresh. As a team we all chuckled at your breakfast sausage comments, we trialled over twenty varieties of butcher prepared sausages all with different fillings, flavors ,skin thickness etc and agreed on the one we currently use as... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The room we had was taller than long! It was tired, noisy and not what I expected. The bathroom had tiles falling off and a rotten window frame. The bath SHOOK when the lift went past. The room backed onto the lift shaft and we had this noise all night. The car parking is ridiculous.... very small car park and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian B
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you had a disappointing stay with us, I did check your room personally today and whilst I agree the bathroom is one of our oldest the tiles and woodwork were not quite as you described, We have a duty of care for our customers so I also asked a member of staff to travel up and down... More 

Poole Dorset
Level Contributor
155 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location which is why we have stayed here on a couple of occasions. Nice rooms very clean although bathrooms could do with a bit of updating. Staff all very pleasant but could do with more than one on at a busy time when people are checking out. Breakfast buffet very good. Beds really comfy.

Helpful?
2 Thank flash082
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing the hotel, I will pass on your comments re cleanliness to our housekeeping team, we are refurbishing bathrooms at the moment which will transform the impression of the hotel, best wishes, Chris Gilmore GM More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a pleasant hotel on the sea front, although there is not much in the area within easy walking distance and you will need to drive to have a choice of cafes, restaurants etc. The concierge was extremely helpful with parking when the hotel car park was full - it does seem rather small for a hotel of this... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank h0lidayg0lightly
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you thought the hotel to be good value and I am sure with our continued refurbishment we will continue to satisfy our guests. Breakfast last orders are 9.30 in the restaurant but room service is available through until 10.30 am. With regard rates, phoning the Hotel direct will always ensure you get... More 

Travelexperience12
Level Contributor
277 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having stayed previously, on attempting to book, all websites indicated this hotel was full for our required dates. On contacting the hotel direct a room was secured for two weekend (Saturday/Sunday) nights. Our room was small. but comfortable and well equipped. We had a problem with the safe, which was quickly remedied by a staff member. The small hotel car... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Travelexperience12
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing the Hotel and I am pleased you had a good visit and would choose to stay with us again, best wishes, Chris Gilmore GM More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked day before we travelled after reading good reviews on TripAdvisor. Reception staff friendly and helpful. Allocated a very nice spacious sea facing room with queen size bed, two seater sofa and small round table and two chairs. Bathroom was rather small but perfectly adequate and complimentary shower gel, shampoo/conditioner & hand wash supplied in fixed 250ml bottles - always... More 

Helpful?
Thank EllieAmy
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for lovely review of the hotel and team, I am pleased you had a great stay with us and hope you visit again, best wishes, Chris Gilmore GM More 

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a pleasant stay at this hotel and paid extra for a superior room. The room was large with good views across the Bay. Although the bathroom had been refurbished it wasn't to a great standard and on the first morning we didn't have any hot water. This was quickly remedied. The breakfast was good if you like the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Leonard R
GeneralManager99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing the Hotel and I am pleased you had a pleasant stay with us, we offer on a daily basis a full continental style breakfast which includes assorted pastries croissants, breads and rolls with granolas and a choice of 12 other cereals, to accompany the fresh fruit we have two types of grapefruit, figs. prunes and fresh... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

120 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (105)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.3 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 40 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 stars 931 reviews
4.6 mi away
Marriott Portsmouth
Marriott Portsmouth
#19 of 40 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 872 reviews
0.4 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#3 of 40 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Seacrest Hotel
Seacrest Hotel
#4 of 40 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#24 of 40 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#29 of 40 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay