We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ibis Portsmouth Centre

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Winston Churchill Avenue, Portsmouth PO1 2LX, England
Special Offer
Best deal of the day
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with ACCORHOTELS.COM to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,021 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    147
    373
    294
    129
    78
See reviews for
156
380
108
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1021)
  • Mar-May only
    (250)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (354)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (250)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (167)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We went to Portsmouth for the Victorious Festival and we both were very happy with the hotel location, the staff were very polite and jolly (Atilla the bartender, was a very nice guy), the rooms were reasonably sized, the breakfast was very good and the price okay. Now, let's talk about the bed, we didn't want to leave it, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review

Dear Nick_Rafaela, Thank you for leaving a review, I was delighted to read of your satisfaction with the Sweet Bed by ibis™ in your room, we think they are very special too. I'm pleased you had a great stay and had fun at Victorious too, I've noted your feedback regarding the window and water and will ensure that I will... More 

Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was a competition win but I really felt the manager pushed the boat out with the wine and fruit bowl, thank you Paul. Regardless of this my review shall be very honest, as always. The staff were fantastic at check in and at breakfast. The breakfast was fantastic and the spread was lovely, only possible letdown was having to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review

Dear KirstyFoundHerNoah, Thank you for your kind comments, I'm pleased to rad that you had a great weekend and stay with us. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we hope to have the opportunity again in the near future. Warm Regards, Paul Upton | General Manager More 

Cheltenham England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This Ibis is well placed in Portsmouth will easy access to Gun Wharf, Historic Docklands and only a 10 minute walk to the sea front to the hover craft. Rooms are of good size, clean, tidy and well presented. Staff are polite, friendly and happy to help you. Always try to book this hotel when we come to Portsmouth.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review

Dear klg84, Thank you for your kind review, I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards, Paul Upton | General Manager More 

UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A very basic hotel. The rooms remind me of student accommodation. All the walls are covered in artex, but still look dirty. The rooms are very small and depressing. Noisy slamming doors. Tiny bathroom. Little wardrobe space. Hotel staff are pleasant enough, in a 'summer job' type of way. Well located but that is the only positive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review

Dear cerij101, Thanks for taking a moment to leave your thoughts on your recent stay. I'm sorry you were not completely satisfied. I've taken note of your comments and will ensure they are shared with our development team for consideration during our forthcoming refurbishment plans. Kind Regards, Paul Upton | General Manager More 

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

england
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Let's get the not so good out of the way. Bedrooms are compact and bathroom even more so!!.However having stayed here before it seemed more manageable this time and the beds are comfortable The price we paid was high for when we stayed but it was weekend and other hotels cost even more. On the plus side ,breakfasts are superb... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review

Dear klammer, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, it's always a delight to read of our guests satisfaction with the efforts of my team. I'm delighted you had a good stay and found our beds to be comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Best Regards, Paul Upton | General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I Stayed here recently with 2 friends. We visited Portsmouth for shopping, sight seeing, day out. The rooms are basic and clean. The rooms are small, the bathrooms very small. I wouldn't recommend as a hotel for a week long stay!! But if you are visiting Portsmouth for a night, want to be within walking distance of Gunwharf Queys and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review

Dear MissT1976, Thank you for leaving a review. I'm pleased you were happy with your stay and hope to welcome you back again in the future. Kind Regards, Paul Upton | General Manager More 

Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a late break with few options left. The deciding factor was the limited parking. A 4 night stay, parking £7 a day paid in advance but parking most definitely not guaranteed if using the car and returning in the evening. The automatic gate being left open until very late in the evening so why give out barrier cards.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review

Dear Andrew N, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I was disappointed to read of the unfortunate accident with your car, please pass on our details to the police and your insurer and we will of course assist with their enquiries. I'm sorry you did not find the décor to your taste, I have... More 

Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have not stayed in an Ibis Hotel in the UK but was pleasantly surprised with this one. I stayed here for one night on Friday evening and then returned for one night on Tuesday evening. Both times the check in went well. I opted to do it in the hotel and not online for these first visits. There were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review

Dear Wilma S, Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel. I was extremely pleased to read of your satisfaction with the facilities and service offered. It is always pleasing to read positive feedback regarding my team and I'm pleased they were able to make your stay pleasant. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near... More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff were nice, it was handy for the ferry. That's it really. Tiny rooms....sort of an octagonal shape with a bizarre toilet layout, so you had to sit sideways on it to fit in the room! Seriously! The bed was ok and it was quiet. If it was about £35 it would be ok value...... so it wasn't.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review

Dear Superharrio, Sorry you were disappointed with the price you paid, we do closely monitor our prices to ensure we are offering the best available rate and are priced significantly lower than other hotels of a similar standard. I've noted your feedback regarding the room layout and will ensure it is passed on to our development team for use with... More 

Derby UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very small room with even smaller bathroom which was difficult to move in. Shower only which was a trickle of cold water. Two small single beds. We had a poor evening meal. Overall poor value for money. Our first and last stay at an Ibis Hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review

Dear kestrel077, I'm sorry you were disappointed with your recent visit. Rest assured, I've taken note of your feedback and will ensure that my maintenance team take a look at the shower. Reception are present 24/7 to assist should you ever experience a problem and would always be happy to help. Kind Regards, Paul Upton | General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Portsmouth
Ibis Budget Portsmouth
#24 of 39 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 874 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#25 of 39 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Marriott Portsmouth
Marriott Portsmouth
#14 of 39 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 789 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southsea
Premier Inn Southsea
#13 of 39 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth - Port Solent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay