We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ibis Portsmouth Centre

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Winston Churchill Avenue, Portsmouth PO1 2LX, England
Special Offer
UK SUMMER SALE
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with ACCORHOTELS.COM to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Add Photo Write a Review

989 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    143
    360
    284
    124
    78
See reviews for
148
364
105
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (989)
  • Mar-May only
    (250)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (322)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (250)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (167)
All months
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Stayed for two nights, no parking, tiny rooms and well housekeeping a joke. Second night could not get into room so had to get card re-programmed. No milk for coffee in the morning and could not believe response from the Reception when I said there was no milk told 'you could have come and asked'!!! Inappropriate response in my opinion.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Level Contributor
153 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had the misfortune to stay here. Location is ok not in the best area with nothing around. Rooms are tiny. Parking is a joke. Advised it was full (but some guests are allowed to park at the front where it says 'strictly no parking'). Alternative parking is only available till 8am in morning and staff have no clue where else... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review

Dear UkPeteD, I'm sorry you felt that you had a misfortune to stay with us and that you did not find our city centre location to your satisfaction. I was also disappointed to read that you did not manage to secure a space in our limited car park, I've taken note of your comments and will ensure that your feedback... More 

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Having used the Ibis chain before I knew what to expect in terms of room space (they always maximise every metre) so was not too disappointed withe the limited free area around the room. The toilet & shower area could have been at least a metre wider and this would have given a bit more comfort, and the shower was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review

Dear Des F, Thank you for your kind review. It's always a pleasure to read how my team are able to make a guests stay. We aim to deliver the best service, therefore, when it is recognised by our guests, it's always an encouragement to the team for the efforts. I was also pleased to read of your satisfaction with... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Recently stayed here for my Nephews graduation. Reception and bar area are quite nice although we found the reception staff rude especially when we said we were dissapointed we had to pay 7 pounds to park. Room was really basic but the one thing we will all remember are the minute bathrooms. Just so small you could barely fit in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review

Dear chimpy55, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I was delighted to read of your satisfaction with our location. I'm sorry that you were not happy with my team upon arrival, we pride ourselves on delivering the highest levels of service, therefore, it's disappointing to read that you were not completely satisfied. Kind Regards, Paul Upton... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

For: Good continental breakfast buffet Scandi style restaurant/bar/lounge Friendly staff Central location Against: Limp hot breakfast buffet Compact room, sub-compact bathroom Dinner menu promises far more that it delivers Bizarre corridor decor Conclusion: Sleep in the room, relax in the foyer, go out to dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review

Dear C901S, Thank you for taking a moment to leave your thoughts regarding your recent stay. I've taken note of your comments and will ensure that the feedback is used productively to improve our services. We hope to see you again. Kind Regards, Paul Upton | General Manager More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The reception, breakfast and bar staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast ran for most of the morning and there was a good choice of hot and cold buffet. There was a locked secure car park if you are there in time for a space. The double room was the smallest we have experienced and the En suite was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review

Dear briju2014, Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your recent stay. I was delighted to read of your satisfaction with my team and the large selection of food on offer from our Breakfast Buffet. I hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back again. Kind Regards, Paul Upton | General Manager More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here for one night as my daughter was graduating the following day. On arrival the lobby and bar looked very nice and modern so I was quite looking forward to getting up to my room, SUCH A DISAPPOINTMENT. The walls in the corridors are made of plastic, pretend stone and the carpets were shocking. The room itself was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review

Dear JAD2971, First of all, thank you for taking the time to leave a detailed review. I'm sorry that you were not happy with the décor, rest assured, I've taken note of your feedback and will ensure this is logged and taken in to consideration with any future refurbishment. All the televisions in our bedrooms are on individual stands, therefore... More 

Reading
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 1 night with friends, very cheap deal and close to gunwharf quays for shopping and the night out. Very basic rooms and quite small but had everything you need for 1 night. Tea and coffee facilities, wardrobe, hairdryer etc. Small but compact bathroom which was very clean and modern. One negative would be how close the bed was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review

Dear rachie1781103, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, I was very pleased to read that you found the hotel to be comfortable and of good value. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards, Paul Upton | General Manager More 

Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went to Portsmouth for some shopping in Gun Wharf Quay and dinner and drinks. Good location and the bar area was pleasant enough and staff helpful but the rooms are tiny and boiling hot if the weather is warm due to no air con. One negative, I called down to reception at 2am and asked if they could bring some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ibisportsmouth, General Manager at Ibis Portsmouth Centre, responded to this review

Dear IS_Scotland, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm delighted that you found our location to be good and liked our bar and reception area. Thank you for the constructive feedback regarding the request you made for some ice, I'll be speaking with my team to ensure that does not happen again. We look forward to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Portsmouth
Ibis Budget Portsmouth
#23 of 39 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 849 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#25 of 39 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Marriott Portsmouth
Marriott Portsmouth
#15 of 39 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 754 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southsea
Premier Inn Southsea
#13 of 39 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Maritime Club
Royal Maritime Club
#22 of 39 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay