We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 39 Portsmouth hotels

Red Lion Hotel

London Road | Cosham, Portsmouth PO6 3EE, England
Hotel amenities
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #30 of 39 hotels in Portsmouth
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Portsmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    4
    6
    6
See reviews for
2
6
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited this hotel / pub on a Saturday evening with friends. Nice pub layout and decor with a pleasant atmosphere, not to mention great pizzas and friendly bar staff. Has its own car park adjacent, will definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanRedLion, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words. It is always appreciated when our guests take time to write about us. I am extremely pleased you enjoyed your visit here. We look forward to your visiting us again soon. Warm wishes, Ian More

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We popped in for dinner with friends, there were 6 in total. Our main meals were perfect and service was quick and polite. Until we ordered dessert... We ordered seperatly and had 4 desserts in total. Mine and my partners puddings came out within about 15 minutes. Our friends who ordered theirs before Us had to wait 50 minutes!! I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanRedLion, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

I'm very sorry your dessert experience wasn't to our usual high standards. I've spoken with the Kitchen Team to ensure there isn't a stock shortage again. I apologise profusely for the waitress' comments and ask that you contact me directly in order to address these matters personally. I'm grateful for the positive words regarding your main course and look forward... More

england
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I saw a complaint about an older barmaid. She was nothing but pleasant helpful and sympathetic, directed me to the manager who kindly printed me directions home even though I wasn't a paying customer. Lovely friendly staff and if I'm ever staying in the area I know exactly where I will be booking! Thank you, we would still be driving... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

What a blessing to have the pub refurbished. The only problem they have is the older lady bar maid ( big earrings and nose pierced) very rude lady. She never smiles and is never polite. The food is great A few tweaks needed and this would be a great venue.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanRedLion, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words about our refurbishment. Completed in early February we too are impressed with the overall quality of both the rooms and the bar / restaurant area too! We are still a pub, and are proud of our history and charm. I hope you took time to enjoy one of our freshly prepared pizzas! Apologies for... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night last Saturday. Wanted somewhere closer to town, but everywhere was booked. The rooms are in apartments behind the pub, although basic, and in need of some more secure windows, they were clean and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable and we had a great nights sleep; we paid £4.50 for breakfast the next day which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Positives - super friendly staff & owner - friendly pub atmosphere - cheap - almost value for money Negatives - I won't comment too much on the decor as read that a refurbish coming. - What put me off was that in the shower, there was a used bar of soap with someone's bodily hair on it... If it hadn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Had stayed here before some years ago and found the accommodation adequate for my purpose so decided to stay here again. The welcome was warm and friendly as I remembered but as we arrived early we were told our room was not ready. This was ok because we were meeting friends and would come back later. When we did manage... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

trip advisor said I didn't add enough detail to my comment so here goes . the red lion is best avoided because of the state of the rooms not only old and tired but dirty as well, I have two videos if you wish to see the state of the two rooms ive stayed in over 6 days which spanned... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
portsmouth
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Myself and colleagues pop in for lunch sporadically as its near to our work. The staff are always polite and take orders quickly. The food arrives promptly, which is essential as we are on a time limit, and is always well presented and tasty. I understand they are going to have a refurbishment shortly, I am eager to try the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IanRedLion, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words. It's always nice to have good things said about the Red Lion and the team here. We look forward to seeing you in October after our refurb. Don't forget to like our Facebook page please for updates and offers in the leadup to the refurb. Thank you :-) More

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed here for two nights recently and have stayed in hotels all over the world some had sheets for a door walls that didn't reach the ceilings and one in Costa Rica had bullet holes over the door at the entrance. But the room I had on the second floor was truly awful the door lock was next to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IanRedLion, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review

I'm always bemused to read extensive comments which usually have no basis at all. If I may, I'd like to reply to your tyranny of comments. First however, I fully accept and agree that our rooms need refurbishment which, I am proud to say, is due to commence in September; which will encompass all public areas of the hotel including... More

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Address: London Road | Cosham, Portsmouth PO6 3EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 39 hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ian and the team welcome you to the Red Lion Hotel. A pub and 16 bedroom hotel located near to Cosham train station, Queen Alexander Hospital, and a short drive to Portsmouth town centre.Above all we pride ourselves on being the friendliest pub in Cosham! Everyone is welcome!Our rooms are all ensuite with double or twin beds. We have a free wi fi service for those with lap top pc’s, signal is stronger on the ground floor. The rooms are all of a good standard bringing people back again and again. Breakfast is served from 0730 to 0930 Monday to Friday and 0800 to 1000 at the week ends. Though we offer room only rates, the pub downstairs provides breakfasts and meals. Meals are available all day from the pubs extensive menu. The pub has the full sky sports package - though theres no need to worry about noise as the hotel is located on a different wing in the building. We suggest you try to book early as we are normally full monday to friday. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Red Lion Hotel to your Saves list