We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ibis Budget Portsmouth

4 Pompey Centre | Fratton Way, Portsmouth PO4 8SL, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Portsmouth)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ibis Budget Portsmouth
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ibis Budget Portsmouth
Add Photo Write a Review

840 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    185
    329
    197
    82
    47
See reviews for
202
289
103
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (840)
  • Mar-May only
    (219)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (206)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (232)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (183)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I travel for work and stay in many hotels but by far this is the worst I've stayed in. Service is substandard There is no tea and coffee in the room The wifi doesn't work Breakfast is unorganised Bed is like sleeping on a slap of concrete Want be staying there again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Disappointing to find this was supposed to have parking but there were very few parking places and none for us. The rooms are basic, clean but no-frills. The top bunk had not been made up even though the bookings were for 3 people. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The continental breakfast was excellent and plentiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Ibis Budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear davnan1, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is unfortunate that on your arrival we were unable to offer parking directly outside the hotel, however in instances where our spaces are all full, we offer use of our overflow car park (across the road, outside of B&Q) free of charge. Parking is certainly at a... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It is what it is, a functional budget hotel, but it does that perfectly well. Service is surprisingly good, rooms (as always with Ibis Budget/Etap) are very basic but clean and comfortable. There are fast food places a few yards away (KFC and MacD), Andy's Kebabs a shirt stroll away and loads of great pubs and curry places on Albert... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Ibis Budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Jim_wsc2014, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that your stay left you satisfied and that the experience was a positive one. We hope that you will stay with us again soon and look forward to welcoming you. Kind regards More 

Harbin, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Spotlessly clean room, with everything you need in a hotel and not much else. No frills, but great if you're on a budget. Close to the town centre and it's activities on public and personal transport.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Ibis Budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear NicEC154, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to read that your stay was a comfortable one and hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My room was spotlessly clean with a comfortable, firm bed and a really excellent shower with great water pressure. I slept like a log for each of the 4 nights I spent here and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. This is a no-frills establishment so don't expect luxury. The bedroom floor is lino, there is no bathroom as such,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Ibis Budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear widdowjo. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased to read that your stay was an enjoyable and that your experience of the Ibis Budget Portsmouth and what we have to offer left you feeling satisfied. We hope that you will come and stay again soon and look forward to welcoming... More 

Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel had a clean room but disappoints compared to every other similarly prices budget hotel room. The main bed was a very thin mattress on a plank of wood and the bunk bed creaked like mad when you moved on it. The room came with 1 plastic stool and none of the amenities you get in most other budget... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Ibis Budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear dcoady12, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear that your stay was so very disappointing and hope that you will reconsider the sentiments expressed and stay again. Your comments have been noted and will be taken under advisement. Kind regards More 

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here last night was very pleasant for what it is, the women on reception at mid-day yesterday was very polite... There is parking out front and round the side but it is abit limited but that's the only thing I can say that's not great, would defiantly stay here agen.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Ibis Budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Kimberlie P, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and doubly so to read that you would stay with us again. We look forward to receiving you. Kind regards More 

Leicestershire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked into the Ibis Budget purely because I couldn't get into my normal B&B due to the Goodwood festival. I wasn't expecting much, but this hotel really does offer the bare minimum of what is required of a hotel. The only difference between this and a youth hostel was that the bed was already made. First impressions on arrival... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Ibis Budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear jaf5, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that you would not consider staying here again. We understand that your sentiments and hope that you reconsider and take advantage of our online promotional offers for the best price possible. In the... More 

Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

These hotels like most "budget" chains have cleverly carved out a niche and are now quietly pushing up prices. The rooms are spartan but clean and the in room shower was good. Nothing much more to say really but they will need to cap off prices as I'd suggest that £75 for this is an absolute max and well short... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Ibis Budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Moorman59, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are grateful for you input and will take your comments under advisement. We hope to be able to welcome you again soon. Kind regards More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As with all Ibis Budget hotels it is all very basic. Mine was a nice double room. Some have an additional bunk bed. I stayed in the Berlin one which was almost identical. Everything very clean and comfortable and staff friendly and helpful. Good breakfast for the price. Free WiFi worked well. This is an ideal hotel for a one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Ibis Budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear John P, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to read that your requirements were met on your recent stay with us and very glad that you would use this hotel again. We look forward to welcoming you. Kind regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay