We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ibis Budget Portsmouth

4 Pompey Centre | Fratton Way, Portsmouth PO4 8SL, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Portsmouth)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ibis Budget Portsmouth
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ibis Budget Portsmouth
Add Photo Write a Review

847 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    186
    332
    200
    82
    47
See reviews for
204
291
103
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (847)
  • Mar-May only
    (219)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (213)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (232)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (183)
All months
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

a basic hotel but what else do you need when youv`e been out all day in Portsmouth. there are plenty of facilities locally ,good bus service. the bed was slightly firm for our liking but very clean.you can get extra pillows a towels from reception. we were fortunate to be able to park outside the hotel so left the car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Two mums and three children aged 9-11 stayed at the Ibis Budget hotel Portsmouth for a three day trip at the start of the summer school holidays. We had booked two triple rooms.The hotel was a 5 minute walk from Fratton station, and on arrival the receptionist went out of her way to suggest trips to do with the kids.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a very clean and comfortable hotel, the rooms are quite small but adequate, with everything you need, including TV and wifi. My only comment is if you don't get a car parking space (which are limited) you have to park in the B&Q car park across the road, and if its raining and you have a case this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As per its name the hotel is basic but its a decent one. The room is clean and I felt confortable to stay in the room a bit longer. The staff were friendly and the hot is located just 5 mins walk from Fratton station

Was this review helpful? Yes
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Ibis Budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Jac I, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to read that your stay pleasant one and look forward to welcoming you as a guest again soon. Kind regards More 

Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel twice now and it's exactly as you would expect from a budget hotel. The bedrooms are on the small side and the bathrooms are built for either very thin of very flexible people ( you have to turn sideways to access the toilet unless you are a size 6! ) and the shower cubicle is again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Ibis Budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Sharon S, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to read that your needs were, largely, met on your recent stay with us and hope that you will have the occasion to stay with us again soon. We look forward to welcoming you and will take your points of critique under advisement with... More 

Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nothing really wrong with the Ibis Budget, but it is really basic, if you are looking for a bed for the night its ok, basic clean room. Good points if you are in Portsmouth to see the dock yards, its in a good location, the staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was ok. Good tip, if you are driving leave... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Ibis Budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Henry P, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to read that you were satisfied with your recent stay at the Ibis Budget and hope that you will stay again soon. We look forward to welcoming you. Kind regards More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I travel for work and stay in many hotels but by far this is the worst I've stayed in. Service is substandard There is no tea and coffee in the room The wifi doesn't work Breakfast is unorganised Bed is like sleeping on a slap of concrete Want be staying there again

Was this review helpful? Yes
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Ibis Budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear James C, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was disappointed to read that your stay left you so dissatisfied. While our product is, admittedly and as our name suggests, an offer of the essential comforts, we do not expect our guests to be subjected to substandard service and if this was your experience on... More 

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Disappointing to find this was supposed to have parking but there were very few parking places and none for us. The rooms are basic, clean but no-frills. The top bunk had not been made up even though the bookings were for 3 people. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The continental breakfast was excellent and plentiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Ibis Budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear davnan1, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is unfortunate that on your arrival we were unable to offer parking directly outside the hotel, however in instances where our spaces are all full, we offer use of our overflow car park (across the road, outside of B&Q) free of charge. Parking is certainly at a... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It is what it is, a functional budget hotel, but it does that perfectly well. Service is surprisingly good, rooms (as always with Ibis Budget/Etap) are very basic but clean and comfortable. There are fast food places a few yards away (KFC and MacD), Andy's Kebabs a shirt stroll away and loads of great pubs and curry places on Albert... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IbisBudgetPortsmouth, Management Team at Ibis Budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Jim_wsc2014, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased that your stay left you satisfied and that the experience was a positive one. We hope that you will stay with us again soon and look forward to welcoming you. Kind regards More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Good value(6)
  • Reception staff(6)
  • Car park(4)
  • Friendly and helpful(3)
  • Hot drink(3)
  • Very clean(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

38 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (36)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#27 of 39 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 986 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southsea
Premier Inn Southsea
#13 of 39 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 480 reviews
3.0 mi away
Portsmouth Park Hotel
Portsmouth Park Hotel
#20 of 39 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#25 of 39 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 651 reviews
3.6 mi away
Marriott Portsmouth
Marriott Portsmouth
#15 of 39 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 754 reviews
1.6 mi away
Farmhouse & Innlodge
Farmhouse & Innlodge
#32 of 39 in Portsmouth
3.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay