We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 36 Portsmouth B&Bs / inns

Duke Of Buckingham

119 High Street, Portsmouth PO1 2HW, England
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Hotel amenities
Duke Of Buckingham
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Duke Of Buckingham to your Saves list
68%
Ranked #11 of 36 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
mommabearct Port Charlotte, Florida
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    54
    28
    15
    7
See reviews for
27
70
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (146)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Arrived at hotel for early afternoon greeted by polite lady on reception.Then told us it was not a B&B - just a bed.(which not clearly stated as searched for B&B!) We was placed in a room on 3rd floor in a extremely small double bedroom, which i only only describe at a loft extension perfect for a student. No help... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Charlotte, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for one night, arriving from the U.S. before moving on to the Isle of Wight....wish we could have stayed longer. Within walking distance of Gunwharf Quays where there are multiple shops, restaurants and a casino. The room was clean and comfortable and located next to the pub. Staff were super friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was not included,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah T, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. I am so please to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. Feed back from our guests is so important to us and the rest of the team will be so please to read your lovely comments. Thank you again. Sarah Templeton General Manager More

MK UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in one of the upstairs rooms in the cottage so did not suffer the noise issues referred to by those in the downstairs rooms but I can see how it could be an issue. We were also aware the front door being shut could be an issue for those in the downstairs flats - something we were especially... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah T, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, Customer feedback is very important to us. I am very pleased to hear you were happy with the quality of our new mattresses and pillows and the staff were helpful and friendly. Thank you for your suggestion on the padding for the key box, this is a... More

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed Sat 26/09/14-30/09/14 could not fault any part of our stay staff were so helpful nothing was to much trouble very clean and refreshing,We will be returning next year,well within walking distance to attractions

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah T, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review

Good Morning, It was lovely to come to work today and read your wonderful review. I am so pleased to hear that the staff looked after you well and you really enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again next time you visit the city. Thank you again for taking the time to review us. Sarah Templeton More

Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I booked a room at the Duke of Buckingham for 2 nights on Friday 19th and Saturday 20th September. On arrival found staff to be very welcoming, parked outside the pub on the street with a parking permit and were shown to the rear of the pub to the cottage at the back. We were allocated Room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sarah T, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review

Good Morning, Firstly thank you for taking the time to write us a very detailed review. It is the customer’s feedback good or bad that really helps us to improve. I am very sorry to hear your disappointment with your stay with us and would like to apologise for the problems you had during your stay. Unfortunately we were not... More

Radstock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on 16 th sept before a channel crossing with our friends from the USA whom we had just collected from heathrow after an 11 hour flight the location and comfort of the rooms along with a fab bit of food in the welcoming pub made their 1st in the uk night a very comfortable stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah T, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to write us a lovely review. We are so pleased to hear you had a lovely stay with us and we are glad we helped make your 1st night in the UK a good one. I hope the rest of your time in the UK was enjoyable and we hope to welcome... More

Essex
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

stayed here last Monday & Tuesday Night, Room Only. Location is good, 10 to 20 minute walk to most places and the Pub is ok too. Street Parking with permit from reception, no problem. We were given Room 15 which is in the Cottage to the rear. Nice and clean / tidy, decor "influenced" by Lenny Henry !!! all seemed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah T, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review

Good Morning, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay with us. It is the customer’s feedback that helps us to improve and we greatly appreciate your comments. We are very sorry to hear that your experience a lot of noise during your stay with us and this is currently being looked in... More

london
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Me and my mum stayed in the duke of buckingham the night before my graduation. The location is in one of the best parts of portsmouth and couldn't be improved. The room rates are also the bet you will find in portsmouth, although there was just one thing wrong with the room and that was that there was a huge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah T, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are please to hear all your positive comments and would like to thank you for your feedback. It is the customers feedback that helps us to improve and this issue is being dealt with. More

Saint Athan, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We recently booked a 2 night break at The Duke of Buckingham which we were unfortunately unable to take as my husband was given an unmissable hospital appointment at the last minute which meant we could not go to Portsmouth. I phoned the hotel not really expecting a refund at such short notice but was very pleasantly surprised to receive... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah T, General Manager at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a positive without even staying with us! : ) we really appreciate your feedback on this and we are please you were happy with the way we handle situations like yours. We really hope we are able to welcome you when you are able to visit the city. More

Dorset
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

Just had 2 nights there. Location is good, parking in residential area is not a problem, reception staff on book in were friendly and helpful, room was clean and as suggested on here asked for a room at the back for quiet. However, first morning someone left really early banging the door and then second night people upstairs really noisy,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
George&Linda, Owner at Duke Of Buckingham, responded to this review

Dear Madam, I am really sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay in our hotel. Unfortunately, we do not have any influence over people making noises in their rooms and there is nothing we can do unless this is an ongoing issue in which case our duty manager would then take the appropriate action. The pub in the... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Duke Of Buckingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke Of Buckingham

Address: 119 High Street, Portsmouth PO1 2HW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Duke Of Buckingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Duke Of Buckingham Hotel Portsmouth

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay