We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan Hotel

Hotel website
16 Market Street, Wotton-under-Edge GL12 7AE, England
The Swan Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Emmard UK
Add Photo

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    13
    27
    21
    9
    6
See reviews for
17
24
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (76)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Middlebury, VT
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our worst night on the Cotswold Way. We booked the rooms months in advance but when we arrived we were placed over the pub and our friends' room was in another building down the block and up 3 levels. Our room was acceptable – until the band started playing at 9:00. The volume was so high that the floor was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I'd read all the reviews so had a fair idea of what to expect. What I got was a warm welcome and a clean, comfortable room. I couldn't open my window which was as s shame as it was a warm room. Also, the boiler being broken meant we had to run the shower a full 10 mins before use.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shropshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed onenight whilst walking the Cotswold Way.Hotel and room very clean and tidy.Staff helpful and friendly. Room a little dated but it was large and the carpet was new.Bathroom bit old fashioned but it was very clean and functional. When we couldn't get the radiator to come on and we were getting cold, we reported it to reception.Within 5 minutes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David H, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, unfortunate we have had trouble with the boiler and we are awaiting the fitting of a new one. We hope this didn't spoil your stay. We are about to under go building to work to add four more new bedrooms and once this is completed we will start on the refurbishment of our existing bedrooms... More 

uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

Thank you for an excellent 80th birthday party dinner.The owner made us feel very welcome. I had the Soup, Steak pie and Vegetables, and Chocolate fudge cake, good choice. My wife had similar except she had the cheese board (amongst the best she has ever had). the staff were very friendly. I wouldn't hesitate recommending the Swan Hotel . We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

i spent saturday 31st january a his hotel as part of a birthday pary for something like 30 guests. i had booked some time ago and confirmed my booking 2weeks ago. When i booked this room i explained i was par of a birhday party and that some rooms had been reserved for us but that i wished to upgrade... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
David H, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi John, There are just a few points that we would like to address regarding this review; Regarding the room, we do not have a four-poster bed, nor do we advertise one. You claim that you asked for ‘the best room in the house’ and were given room 1 because that is the room that customers give the best feedback... More 

Travelers are raving about these Wotton-under-Edge hotels

Tetbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

As a group of friends we visit The Swan regularly to eat and have a drink before walking just a few yards up the road to the lovely Wootton Electric Cinema. A lovely old building with loads of charactuer. They have upgraded the bar/eating area recently and it looks good and has a warm welcoming wood burner. The girls and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David H, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou so much for your lovely review. We try our hardest to achieve a friendly, relaxing atmosphere. With good food & fine wines & ales. We look forward to seeing you in the future. More 

1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Attended my cousins wedding here on 20th Sept I arrived first from the church to a very rude manager telling me the reception room was nowhere near ready! And I was early! Later on when it come to the meal, they never bought my 2 year old daughter any lunch, I asked where her food was and was told by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
David H, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

In response to your receant review i am responding to the comments you made. ARRIVAL: We where advised the wedding party was arriving at 3;30pm, to eat at 4pm. Wedding party arrived at 2;45pm hence why we where not quite ready, and we pointed you in the direction of the bar area. CHILDS MEAL: We where only advised fri afternoon... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

Have just spent a couple of nights staying at The Swan Hotel during a business trip, I received a friendly welcome and was promptly shown to my room. The accommodation had been booked at the last minute and the room I was allocated was along extended corridors and up several uninspiring flights of stairs. The room itself though was clean,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

The Swan Hotel is an old hotel, with lots of character. Our room, up narrow stairs and along passageways, was comfortable and clean and it had been refurbished fairly recently (though with less character). We slept well, in a comfortable bed. The wifi was easy. Staff were very pleasant and had to work very hard, each covering a multitude of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David H, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

In response to your receant review of our hotel. I would like to thankyou very much for your kind comments, we are a small family run hotel and we try our hardest to accomadate all our guests to the best of our abilities. I agree that the corridors and stairways up to the room you where staying are unispiring decorating/carpeting... More 

Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
122 hotel reviews
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

There is no carpark for this hotel, but there is a large free carpark bit further up the road which is free, but if you have heavy luggage then drop and park! On walking into the hotel,there's no signage to say where the reception is and no staff about! After about 5 minutes a young girl appeared, then a lady,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David H, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

I am writing in response to your review which you have written about our hotel. I would firstly like to state that we do not have a carpark and do not advertise having one. although you are able to drop off heavy baggage with us before parking your car in the car park less than 2 minute walk from the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay