We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan Hotel

Hotel website
16 Market Street, Wotton-under-Edge GL12 7AE, England
The Swan Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015
UkBri uk
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    26
    20
    8
    5
See reviews for
17
22
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (72)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

Thank you for an excellent 80th birthday party dinner.The owner made us feel very welcome. I had the Soup, Steak pie and Vegetables, and Chocolate fudge cake, good choice. My wife had similar except she had the cheese board (amongst the best she has ever had). the staff were very friendly. I wouldn't hesitate recommending the Swan Hotel . We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

i spent saturday 31st january a his hotel as part of a birthday pary for something like 30 guests. i had booked some time ago and confirmed my booking 2weeks ago. When i booked this room i explained i was par of a birhday party and that some rooms had been reserved for us but that i wished to upgrade... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
David H, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi John, There are just a few points that we would like to address regarding this review; Regarding the room, we do not have a four-poster bed, nor do we advertise one. You claim that you asked for ‘the best room in the house’ and were given room 1 because that is the room that customers give the best feedback... More 

Tetbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

As a group of friends we visit The Swan regularly to eat and have a drink before walking just a few yards up the road to the lovely Wootton Electric Cinema. A lovely old building with loads of charactuer. They have upgraded the bar/eating area recently and it looks good and has a warm welcoming wood burner. The girls and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David H, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou so much for your lovely review. We try our hardest to achieve a friendly, relaxing atmosphere. With good food & fine wines & ales. We look forward to seeing you in the future. More 

1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Attended my cousins wedding here on 20th Sept I arrived first from the church to a very rude manager telling me the reception room was nowhere near ready! And I was early! Later on when it come to the meal, they never bought my 2 year old daughter any lunch, I asked where her food was and was told by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
David H, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

In response to your receant review i am responding to the comments you made. ARRIVAL: We where advised the wedding party was arriving at 3;30pm, to eat at 4pm. Wedding party arrived at 2;45pm hence why we where not quite ready, and we pointed you in the direction of the bar area. CHILDS MEAL: We where only advised fri afternoon... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

Have just spent a couple of nights staying at The Swan Hotel during a business trip, I received a friendly welcome and was promptly shown to my room. The accommodation had been booked at the last minute and the room I was allocated was along extended corridors and up several uninspiring flights of stairs. The room itself though was clean,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

The Swan Hotel is an old hotel, with lots of character. Our room, up narrow stairs and along passageways, was comfortable and clean and it had been refurbished fairly recently (though with less character). We slept well, in a comfortable bed. The wifi was easy. Staff were very pleasant and had to work very hard, each covering a multitude of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David H, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

In response to your receant review of our hotel. I would like to thankyou very much for your kind comments, we are a small family run hotel and we try our hardest to accomadate all our guests to the best of our abilities. I agree that the corridors and stairways up to the room you where staying are unispiring decorating/carpeting... More 

Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
111 hotel reviews
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

There is no carpark for this hotel, but there is a large free carpark bit further up the road which is free, but if you have heavy luggage then drop and park! On walking into the hotel,there's no signage to say where the reception is and no staff about! After about 5 minutes a young girl appeared, then a lady,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David H, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

I am writing in response to your review which you have written about our hotel. I would firstly like to state that we do not have a carpark and do not advertise having one. although you are able to drop off heavy baggage with us before parking your car in the car park less than 2 minute walk from the... More 

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

I stayed at the Swan Hotel in August 2014 while visiting the Cotswolds. There is no parking available and unloading cases in a very narrow street was difficult and protracted and had to park permanently overnight in the car park at the top of the street. I did not find the staff particularly welcoming or helpful. Our room was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David H, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

In regards to your receant review we The managers/owners would like to respond At the swan hotel we do not advertise parking any where on our website and we have never had any trouble with residants finding parking in the Chipping 23 hour free Car Park. We also do not advertise unloading out the front of the hotel as the... More 

Delft, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Swan Hotel for one night, and had a row of disappointments. First, the bed was crooked and worn down, so we had a terrible night. Second, while receiving two wifi-codes, none of them worked. Third, we asked the staff twice to help us plan public transport to Bristol. While promising to do so, they forgot. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed here for four nights to enable us to attend a family celebration and were very impressed with the food and staff. Yes it is old - 16th or 17th century coaching inn - but the rooms had been given a sympathetic up-grade in keeping with the character of the building. Unfortunately no lift but the room on possibly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question