We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan Hotel

Hotel website
16 Market Street, Wotton-under-Edge GL12 7AE, England
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
The Swan Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

After eating a couple of mouthfuls figured out that maybe Mc Donalds is worth a Mitchelen star. The staff in the restaurant were useless. The oven chips soggy Iceland fish over cooked. But on good note atleast it wasn't raining

Helpful?
Thank Dan W
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015

We stayed at The Swan for 1 night on a weekend in October 2015. We were given a deluxe family suite however we got charged for a cot for our baby which they forgot to put any sheets on. Fantastic room but some damp and mould near windows.

Helpful?
Thank pnpn
David H, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, I'm sorry to hear about the bedding for the travel cot. I have spoken to the house keeper and unfortunately this was just human error and had been forgotten about, she was meant to go back to remake the cot and this slipped her mind. We have looked into the damp and have cleaned this... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

I stayed here one night and I found it very quiet and clean, the dinner was lovely and I enjoyed the starters on offer and had the pate and a side salad. Its a great location, well priced, clean and peaceful and even though there was building work ongoing, there was no disturbance at all. Parking was located 1 minute... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cathe G
David H, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review it was great to hear that your stay with us was pleasant. We must agree with you about the hanging baskets lots of hard work are put in by The Wotton in Blume team work very hard to keep them looking fab. We wish you well and Thank you again for for the review. More 

Yackandandah, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2015

We "fell" I to this pub after a walk through the village. We needed to eat and we needed wifi, both were excellent. The menu was extensive and reasonable and choices difficult . We chose Bangers and Mash and were nit disappointed. A very large meal, cooked well and delicious. The best bangers and mash we had on our trip... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jan B
David H, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are very pleased to hear that you had a nice meal and had a pleasant dining experience. We hope you had enjoyable trip around England and wish you well for the future. More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2015

We stayed at this hotel Friday 25th Sept 2015 to 27th Sept2015. We arrived mid morning on the Friday and even though the kitchen was about to close,we asked for and received a magnificent breakfast . We were already aware that booking in times were 3.00pm,but the very friendly staff had our room ready within the hour. Our room was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Philip A
David H, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, it was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you all stay with us. We hope you all made it home in time for the Christening. Look forward to seeing you in the future. Regards Debs, David & Family More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2015

Literally. If you want to stay in Wotton, this is it. We were on the Cotswold Way, so we had to stay here. The room we had was large and very plain, but clean and comfortable. The bathroom, also large, was fine. There was hot water but you had to run the shower for a long time to get it.... More 

Helpful?
Thank boxbeck
David H, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I would just like to clarify a few areas within the review. You state that we are expensive and would expect wifi in your rooms due to the cost of the room. We are one of the cheapest hotels in the area for accommodation and our bar prices and meal prices are more than competitive... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

Three of us had booked to stay here for the 3rd night of our walking holiday. We were allocated 2 rooms-the first had a shower that barely worked and more critically the second was so far away from the rest of the hotel rooms we felt very unsafe and decided not to stay. This second room in itself was pleasant... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Isobel G
David H, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly may I say how upset I am that you felt you had to post on trip advisor after all we did to accommodate you on your stay, and answered all your questions about your issues via email after you checked out. You checked into your rooms, used the facilities and even laid upon the beds and didn't flag up... More 

Travelers are raving about these Wotton-under-Edge hotels

East Grinstead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

Pleasant room with hot shower and quiet rear location. Superb location within the town make this ideal if you are walking the Cotswold Way. Great evening meal and breakfast make this excellent value for money and worth staying at.

Helpful?
Thank Helen D
David H, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your reply, we are pleased to hear that your stay was good one & the food was enjoyable. Regards Hotel Manager More 

Middlebury, VT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

Our worst night on the Cotswold Way. We booked the rooms months in advance but when we arrived we were placed over the pub and our friends' room was in another building down the block and up 3 levels. Our room was acceptable – until the band started playing at 9:00. The volume was so high that the floor was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank VTSantana
David H, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Yet again how untrue a review can be, and what a mockery of the trip advisor website, and how people can falsify their reviews beyond ridiculousness. It is clearly advertised locally and in the foyer that we had Blues night on the night in question, with Banners, Chalk boards & posters, and also on our website, so why you should... More 

UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015 via mobile

I'd read all the reviews so had a fair idea of what to expect. What I got was a warm welcome and a clean, comfortable room. I couldn't open my window which was as s shame as it was a warm room. Also, the boiler being broken meant we had to run the shower a full 10 mins before use.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emmard
David H, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou so much for your review, we also apprecaite feedback. Unfortuantley we where having issues with the boiler and it did cause issues to our hot water and heating. This is unfortunate to have happened around the tie of your stay. It was not repairable and we have had to have a new boiler fitted. The window i can only... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wotton-under-Edge
3.9 mi away
Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel
4.0 mi away
Hunter's Hall Inn
Hunter's Hall Inn
#1 of 1 in Kingscote
4.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Birdlip
4.0 of 5 stars 654 reviews
3.4 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
4.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
8.4 mi away
Snooty Fox Hotel
Snooty Fox Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tetbury
4.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay