We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan Hotel

Hotel website
16 Market Street, Wotton-under-Edge GL12 7AE, England
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Swan Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    14
    27
    21
    9
    7
See reviews for
17
25
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (78)
  • Mar-May only
    (20)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

Three of us had booked to stay here for the 3rd night of our walking holiday. We were allocated 2 rooms-the first had a shower that barely worked and more critically the second was so far away from the rest of the hotel rooms we felt very unsafe and decided not to stay. This second room in itself was pleasant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David H, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly may I say how upset I am that you felt you had to post on trip advisor after all we did to accommodate you on your stay, and answered all your questions about your issues via email after you checked out. You checked into your rooms, used the facilities and even laid upon the beds and didn't flag up... More 

East Grinstead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

Pleasant room with hot shower and quiet rear location. Superb location within the town make this ideal if you are walking the Cotswold Way. Great evening meal and breakfast make this excellent value for money and worth staying at.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David H, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your reply, we are pleased to hear that your stay was good one & the food was enjoyable. Regards Hotel Manager More 

Middlebury, VT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

Our worst night on the Cotswold Way. We booked the rooms months in advance but when we arrived we were placed over the pub and our friends' room was in another building down the block and up 3 levels. Our room was acceptable – until the band started playing at 9:00. The volume was so high that the floor was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David H, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Yet again how untrue a review can be, and what a mockery of the trip advisor website, and how people can falsify their reviews beyond ridiculousness. It is clearly advertised locally and in the foyer that we had Blues night on the night in question, with Banners, Chalk boards & posters, and also on our website, so why you should... More 

Travelers are raving about these Wotton-under-Edge hotels

UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015 via mobile

I'd read all the reviews so had a fair idea of what to expect. What I got was a warm welcome and a clean, comfortable room. I couldn't open my window which was as s shame as it was a warm room. Also, the boiler being broken meant we had to run the shower a full 10 mins before use.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David H, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou so much for your review, we also apprecaite feedback. Unfortuantley we where having issues with the boiler and it did cause issues to our hot water and heating. This is unfortunate to have happened around the tie of your stay. It was not repairable and we have had to have a new boiler fitted. The window i can only... More 

Shropshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

Stayed onenight whilst walking the Cotswold Way.Hotel and room very clean and tidy.Staff helpful and friendly. Room a little dated but it was large and the carpet was new.Bathroom bit old fashioned but it was very clean and functional. When we couldn't get the radiator to come on and we were getting cold, we reported it to reception.Within 5 minutes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David H, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, unfortunate we have had trouble with the boiler and we are awaiting the fitting of a new one. We hope this didn't spoil your stay. We are about to under go building to work to add four more new bedrooms and once this is completed we will start on the refurbishment of our existing bedrooms... More 

uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

Thank you for an excellent 80th birthday party dinner.The owner made us feel very welcome. I had the Soup, Steak pie and Vegetables, and Chocolate fudge cake, good choice. My wife had similar except she had the cheese board (amongst the best she has ever had). the staff were very friendly. I wouldn't hesitate recommending the Swan Hotel . We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newmarket, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

i spent saturday 31st january a his hotel as part of a birthday pary for something like 30 guests. i had booked some time ago and confirmed my booking 2weeks ago. When i booked this room i explained i was par of a birhday party and that some rooms had been reserved for us but that i wished to upgrade... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
David H, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi John, There are just a few points that we would like to address regarding this review; Regarding the room, we do not have a four-poster bed, nor do we advertise one. You claim that you asked for ‘the best room in the house’ and were given room 1 because that is the room that customers give the best feedback... More 

Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

As a group of friends we visit The Swan regularly to eat and have a drink before walking just a few yards up the road to the lovely Wootton Electric Cinema. A lovely old building with loads of charactuer. They have upgraded the bar/eating area recently and it looks good and has a warm welcoming wood burner. The girls and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David H, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou so much for your lovely review. We try our hardest to achieve a friendly, relaxing atmosphere. With good food & fine wines & ales. We look forward to seeing you in the future. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Attended my cousins wedding here on 20th Sept I arrived first from the church to a very rude manager telling me the reception room was nowhere near ready! And I was early! Later on when it come to the meal, they never bought my 2 year old daughter any lunch, I asked where her food was and was told by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
David H, Owner at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

In response to your receant review i am responding to the comments you made. ARRIVAL: We where advised the wedding party was arriving at 3;30pm, to eat at 4pm. Wedding party arrived at 2;45pm hence why we where not quite ready, and we pointed you in the direction of the bar area. CHILDS MEAL: We where only advised fri afternoon... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

Have just spent a couple of nights staying at The Swan Hotel during a business trip, I received a friendly welcome and was promptly shown to my room. The accommodation had been booked at the last minute and the room I was allocated was along extended corridors and up several uninspiring flights of stairs. The room itself though was clean,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wotton-under-Edge
3.9 mi away
Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel
3.4 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Birdlip
4.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
9.5 mi away
Premier Inn Stroud
Premier Inn Stroud
#3 of 7 in Stroud
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hunter's Hall Inn
Hunter's Hall Inn
#1 of 1 in Kingscote
4.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay