We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Winchcombe B&Bs / inns

Wesley House

4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   High Street, Winchcombe GL54 5LJ, England
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (51)
  • Photos (7)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (16)
  • Location
  • More
Wesley House
Ranked #4 of 11 Winchcombe B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winchcombe
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    19
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
33
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
54 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room was at the front near the pub next door so was noisy on a Saturday night. Our dinner here was superb--really top-notch food. Breakfast was ample and tasty. We were here while hiking the Cotswolds Way. We ate in the restaurant even though our garb, though clean, was not the most stylish...no one cared and we certainly liked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burke, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We walked the Cotswolds this past week and were placed in Wesley House as 1 of our B&B's. Lovely historic Hotel and restaurant. We had dinner reservations but cancelled them as we felt we did not have the proper dress even once showered and out of walking clothes. Our only disappointment was that breakfast was only offered at 9 am... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Matthew J, Manager at Wesley House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and visiting Wesley House, I hope you enjoyed the rest of your walking. I'm sorry you missed breakfast but I think you were offered you breakfast between 8 and 8.30am. Apologies for the miss understanding. I do wish you had said why you were cancelling your dinner reservation as neither the Restaurant or the less... More

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Booked to have dinner with a friend to celebrate my birthday. The restaurant is very tastefully decorated and has a lovely feel. The meal was slightly more expensive than we would normally pay but well worth it. There was an amuse bouche to start and fabulous bread to accompany our food. Both our starters were beautifully presented and tasty. My... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Holmfirth, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Had an overnight stay whilst walking the Cotswold way and loved the quaint historic rooms. The staff were most helpful and as the restaurant was closed on the night we stayed, the owner, Matt kindly ran our group out to a lovely country restaurant and back again after the meal. The breakfast next day was to die for and saw... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

My husband and I stopped here while hiking the Cotswold Way. We loved everything about it. The building is historic and quaint. You can almost feel the centuries while walking around the irregular hallways and sitting by the old hearths. The room, Sandy Hollow, was equally quaint but also practical. It wasn't a large room but it had sparkling water,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I have eaten here twice now over the space of 6 months and on both occasions the food and service have been wonderful. You are greeted by a warm fire and cosy bar area where we enjoyed a glass of champagne. One of the great things is that the although the restaurant is quite small there is still lots of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reading, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We were lucky enough to attend a wedding here and had two of the rooms for our family to use (2 small kids, and 2 adults). We had Mumbles Meadow (double room) and The Preachers Room (twin). If you are looking for a 5-star, spacious, chain hotel - then this isn't for you. If you are looking for something with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Agree with the traveler that said Wesley House is a restaurant first, with the hotel a second thought. The service is friendly, but the rooms are average. Very small bathroom, can hear the music from the lounge, the wifi doesn't work in the rooms - only certain places in the lounge. Good location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
worcs
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

On walking into The Wesley, I was not disappointed. An open fire, exposed Cotswold stone, cosiness and a bar! We were seated by the open fire and offered drinks. My husband promptly ordered pink champagne! (I've got him well trained). Appetisers arrived and were delicious, while we perused the menu- a fantastic menu. We were led to our table in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

After the first day of the Cotswold Way we stayed at this small hotel. The Restaurant and attached Bar/Bistro are very good. Breakfast was excellent. Winchcombe is a delightful place. Bed was comfy but the en-suite was small. Staff very welcoming and helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Wesley House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Wesley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wesley House

Address: High Street, Winchcombe GL54 5LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cotswolds > Winchcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wesley House 4*
Also Known As:
Wesley House Hotel Winchcombe
Wesley House Winchcombe, England

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Restaurant
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
5

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Wesley House to your Saves list