We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Imperial Hotel

Station Rd, Stroud GL5 3AP, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Imperial Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

129 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at The Imperial because I had to attend a funeral. They let me check in very early at no extra cost. They let some of my relatives have a rest in a room free of charge. It was a very sad day for my family and the management and staff were very helpful. I hope I can visit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The hotel it's self is very nice and we did have a light bite and drink in arrival. We had booked into this hotel as we were attending a wedding not too far from it.The hotel has no staff which stay on the premises over night. So we're kept awake by drunks banging on doors and people arguing food all... More 

Helpful?
Thank melaniebM7998GR
Lakshman G, Owner at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Melanieb, We have unsuccessfully been able to track your stay in our system. For this reason we are unable to contact you. Please could you kindly get in touch before the end of this week to discuss your review? We do have staff on the premises 24/7 and an emergency number available on the welcome letter given to every... More 

Travelers are raving about these Stroud hotels

Cuba
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015

I stayed in this hotel after finding a great 2 days stay offer in the ukescapes website. Amazing check in with a welcome free drink on arrival. I had never experienced this special treatment before. Check in was very personalised and staff was very professional. Breakfast was delicious and also included in the rate. Nothing to complain. Rooms smell very... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Edith C
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015

We were attending a gig at the nearby Subscriptions Rooms and wanted to stay the night. A quick check online showed us this hotel which looked perfect for our needs. We knew that it wasn't a 5 star hotel but it is much better than some reviews here. The building itself is lovely and clearly has history. The staff were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gus A
Topsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2015 via mobile

We were due to see the launch of our friends' band' (Watch out for budding local stars Ardyn) EP record at the Lansdown Rooms on Friday night. The room was small but comfortable with a good shower. The hotel downstairs was probably I need of a bit of a makeover but then again the reasonable prices perhaps reflected that. Good... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Angus M
Sheffield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015

We travelled from sheffield to look at some puppies in the area, and we stayed here one night 30th october to break the journey up. Friendly staff, prompt check in, rooms and bathroom clean and a fantastic breakfast with good quality produce. We will be booking again on the 27 nov the night before when we pick our puppies up.

Helpful?
3 Thank SheffieldSusan
Lakshman G, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SheffieldSusan, Thank you for taking the time to review our property and share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we really look forward to welcoming you again by the end of this month. Kindest regards, Lakshman Gallage More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2015

I have stayed at this hotel on many occasions and it is in my opinion the best option for anyone who wants to stay in Stroud. It has a central location, the staff are friendly, rooms are good and the breakfast is good quality. Very reasonably priced also. It's location right next to the train station make it a perfect... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mark M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2015

I don’t think I have ever spent the night in a hotel as horrible as the Imperial: 1. Booking lost 2. Lights not working 3. A sheet straight onto a mattress (yuk) 4. The outlet from the kitchen blowing the smell of rancid chips straight into my open window. You had to be there. 5. The cheapest mattress – can... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Roo G
Lakshman G, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Roo G, I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay in my hotel. It is a shame that you didn't let us know how you were feeling so we could have assisted you in due course with all the problems you have enumerated in your review. Sorry but we do not sell chips in our premises.... More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2015

We stayed in the family room 104. Super spacious room, kids had plenty of space to play . Check-in was hassle-free. The room was on the first floor and decor was nice. It is not a boutique hotel but it is great value for money. We felt very comfortable with the accommodation and service. We will come back again next... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Maria Carmen R
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2015

We stayed here for one night as a birthday treat. Decor furniture is beautiful, lounge area is very nice and it looks lovely when all candles are lit in the evening. Very cosy. Rooms are spacious as well as the en-suite bathrooms. Very clean. It is loccated in a very central area. Staff is friendly and helpful. Thai food was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Hans K
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stroud
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
3.1 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#2 of 2 in Stonehouse
3.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bear of Rodborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
4.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
3.3 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
5.4 mi away
Hatton Court Hotel
Hatton Court Hotel
#2 of 2 in Upton St Leonards
4.0 of 5 stars 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay