We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 22 Stow-on-the-Wold B&Bs / inns

The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant

The Square, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AF, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
76%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Tipton5 Kingwood, Texas
  • Overview
  • Reviews (180)
  • Photos (71)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (60)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    62
    28
    13
    9
See reviews for
39
84
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingwood, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a nice big room at the top of the wonky stairs. This is a very very old hotel and with old comes quirks. It is charming and the location is great. The restaurant was very good with authentic dishes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOldStocksHotel, General Manager at The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello there, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us feedback regarding your recent stay. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the character & charm of our 400 year old building! We do hope to see you again very soon. Kind Regards, Charlotte Knowles General Manager More

Dunstable, Bedfordshire, England
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
61 hotel reviews
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Five of us took three rooms here over the weekend. One incident aside, our stay was excellent. The rooms were comfortable, with crisp clean bed linen, plenty of storage space, and creaky sloping floors - all part of the charm. Room 15, the suite, was exceptionally nice. Don't expect a lift or air conditioning, this place dates back almost 500... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheOldStocksHotel, General Manager at The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Andy Thank You very much for your review of your stay here at The Old Stocks. We appreciate feedback of all kinds as it helps us to continually develop and improve our offer and I am encouraged to read that for the most part you very much enjoyed your stay with us. I am also pleased that the issues... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed here before and returned again yesterday. We think this little hotel is a gem. Not expensive and not trying to b something it's not. The staff are all very helpful we were traveling with a grandchild and they couldn't do enough for us. In fact our grandchild said how nice the staff were. Food there is in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOldStocksHotel, General Manager at The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Angie Thank you very much for your review of your stay here at The Old Stocks Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourself and we so well looked after during your time with us. Looking forward to seeing you again soon! Kind Regards, Charlotte Knowles General Manager More

Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is an old hotel. The floors are creaky and un level, but this should not be unexpected for a hotel that is hundreds of years old! The people were friendly and the rooms were clean. We found the restaurant to have authentic food that was tasty.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOldStocksHotel, General Manager at The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello there, Thank You so much for your feedback regarding your stay here with us at The Old Stocks Hotel. Our building certainly is one of a kind with period features busting out of the seams! We are so pleased that the whole package of room, service and food made for an excellent stay. Hope to see you again in... More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For a hotel based in such a beautiful location, this hotel was really very unimpressive. Although the rooms were clean, our room was on a slant which meant the bed was also on a slant and made a good night's sleep impossible. Breakfast was also very poor, however the people at reception were very friendly and gave some good recommendations... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOldStocksHotel, General Manager at The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello there, Thank You for your feedback in relation to your recent stay and I am sorry that you found your experience underwhelming. We use all feedback to improve our guests experience and I thank you for your honesty as it allows us to address certain areas for improvement. In the time since you stayed with us with have appointed... More

Edenfield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really dated room with poor bathroom. Breakfast was the worst meal with a very limited choice. The toast never came after requesting twice. Evening meal was 4 out of 10 . In full need of full refurbishment. Sat in the restaurant whilst several deliveries came through it on a sack truck with the delivery man in his fluorescent tabard .... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOldStocksHotel, General Manager at The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Carol, Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to read that you weren't pleased with your stay here with us at The Old Stocks Hotel on this occasion. To address some of your concerns, we have appointed a new Head Chef who has implemented a brand new lunch & dinner menu along with a reviewed Breakfast Menu... More

Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were touring the Cotswolds for the first time and arrived in Stow on a Saturday evening in June, had a walk around the delightful ancient village and, feeling peckish, decided to choose The Old Stocks hotel on the main square. There are plenty of places to eat - we chose this one because we had been sunbathing on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOldStocksHotel, General Manager at The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello there, What a pleasure to read your feedback. We are thrilled that you rate us so highly and we thoroughly hope to see you and your husband again in the not too distant future! Maybe you can stay over with us this time? Look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Charlotte Knowles General Manager More

Ruislip
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked over the phone on the off chance and managed to get in , never been there before and didnt look at reviews before we went. Just lovely from the moment we went through the front door,polite reception from the girl with blonde hair(didnt catch her name) instructions to room ,perfect and the room was lovely,old beams and stuff in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOldStocksHotel, General Manager at The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello there, It's always a pleasure to read lovely feedback and we are all thrilled that you had such a great stay with us here at The Old Stocks Hotel. We do hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Charlotte Knowles General Manager More

Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a very nice time in Wales and decided to visit Stowe, (been there some 15 yrs ago), for lunch. Big mistake. A Friday before the bank holiday weekend, the traffic was awful, hoped for a decent lunch when we finally got a place to park...NOT. Shunted off into a side room and forgotten for a while..."a bus tour coming... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOldStocksHotel, General Manager at The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello there, Thank You for taking the time to leave us feedback regarding your experience here with us at The Old Stocks. I am very sorry to read that you had such a poor experience. It really is very disappointing to see that we have not managed to deliver in both service & food quality on this occasion. Let me... More

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived late in the afternoon and were quickly shown to our room (Room 4), we were delighted to find the room was quite large. We were quite amused with the floors which rose at one end of the room, sloped down to the middle and rose again on the other side. My son-in-law is quite tall and a number... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheOldStocksHotel, General Manager at The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Christine What a lovely review! Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such feedback. It really does mean the world to all the Team here at The Old Stocks Hotel. We very much look forward to welcoming you again very soon. Kind Regards, Charlotte Knowles General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant

Address: The Square, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Stocks Hotel And Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Number of rooms
17

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer