We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Stow-on-the-Wold B&Bs / inns

The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant

The Square, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AF, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
77%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
gonetofrance monterey
  • Overview
  • Reviews (188)
  • Photos (71)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (63)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    64
    29
    13
    9
See reviews for
40
90
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
monterey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

You never know what you are going to find when you arrive at a new hotel but we were pleasantly surprised with this place, even though it was right on the square, which I thought would be noisy, especially because it was also a pub. As it turned out, we had a room next to the parking lot in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

When we arrived we were greeted by a lovely lady on reception, friendly and efficient. We had a quick sandwich before exploring Stow, we had the rare roast beef sandwich and it was lovely. When we went to our room we were so disappointed it was over crowded with 2 rather bulky chairs that were quite unnecessary and made the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOldStocksHotel, General Manager at The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello there, Thank you for your review in relation to your recent stay with us here at The Old Stocks Hotel. I must say I am very disappointed to read the issues that you had with your room and I am very sorry that the room problems you experienced has marred the whole experience you had with us whilst staying... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Myself and two friends stayed at the Old Stocks Hotel in Room 4 a few weeks ago and couldn't have been more pleased. The room was set up perfectly for all of us, with clean linen and comfy beds and the staff were incredibly helpful - we were on a cycling holiday and they helped us with routes and drying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOldStocksHotel, General Manager at The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Tessa So happy to see your review and see how we have made your experience here at The Old Stocks Hotel a memorable one. We as a Team love what we do and we all work very hard to make sure that our guests are well looked after as we would like to be ourselves and we are thrilled... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an amazing little find from the minute you enter the quaint hotel the staff are very friendly and helpful the room was large and airy and the breakfast was fantastic. We also had dinner and drinks there and the food was delicious. The new managers Charlotte and Richard are absolutely wonderful hospitality is obviously in their blood as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOldStocksHotel, General Manager at The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for the glowing feedback! We are absolutely bowled over by your review and we are over the moon that you rate us so highly and are eager to see what the refurbishment has in store. We are always delighted to see our hard work and efforts as a whole team rewarded with such great comments.... More

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this hotel before and would stay there again. Under new ownership and management but just as good if not even better than before. Soon to undergo refurbishment will go back after this to see what changes have occurred. Staff and management are helpful and very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOldStocksHotel, General Manager at The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Jenny What a lovely review. Thank you so much for taking time to write us such glowing feedback. We are so pleased that you have visited us as a returning customer and have had such a great experience. We really do hope to see you again soon after the refurbishment, if not before! Kind Regards, Charlotte Knowles General Manager More

Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a comfortable and friendly hotel with restful room and good service of unpretentious food providing us with an excellent overnight stopover. The dog was welcome too. A historic place under good new management as we understood.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOldStocksHotel, General Manager at The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello there, Thank you very much for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay here with us at The Old Stocks. We are thrilled that you would recommend us so highly and that we have made a lasting impression and great memories for you to take away. We hope to see you in the not too distant future! Many thanks,... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We adored our stay at The Old Stocks Hotel this weekend. Not only is the location perfect for exploring the Cotswolds and enjoying all that Stow-on-the-wold has to offer, it is the perfect base to relax and unwind after a days exploring. The rooms are just lovely and quaint and it's exciting to hear that next year they'll be even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOldStocksHotel, General Manager at The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello there, What a pleasure to read your review! Thank you so very much for your lovely feedback and we are so very pleased as a whole team that you found your stay so pleasurable and memorable. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again in the New Year when we have refurbished and have a fresh sparkle and... More

England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were spoilt for choice for lunch in Stow but were attracted by the fixed price menu at the Stocks. Despite being very busy the food and the service were great. (dog friendly too in the secret garden).

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOldStocksHotel, General Manager at The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Pete Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us feedback regarding your recent visit to The Old Stocks Hotel for lunch. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your lunch so much and would rate us so highly. As we have recently changed the menu it is great to receive such excellent feedback and that you... More

Kingwood, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We had a nice big room at the top of the wonky stairs. This is a very very old hotel and with old comes quirks. It is charming and the location is great. The restaurant was very good with authentic dishes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOldStocksHotel, General Manager at The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello there, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us feedback regarding your recent stay. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the character & charm of our 400 year old building! We do hope to see you again very soon. Kind Regards, Charlotte Knowles General Manager More

Dunstable, Bedfordshire, England
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
61 hotel reviews
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Five of us took three rooms here over the weekend. One incident aside, our stay was excellent. The rooms were comfortable, with crisp clean bed linen, plenty of storage space, and creaky sloping floors - all part of the charm. Room 15, the suite, was exceptionally nice. Don't expect a lift or air conditioning, this place dates back almost 500... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheOldStocksHotel, General Manager at The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Andy Thank You very much for your review of your stay here at The Old Stocks. We appreciate feedback of all kinds as it helps us to continually develop and improve our offer and I am encouraged to read that for the most part you very much enjoyed your stay with us. I am also pleased that the issues... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant

Address: The Square, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Stocks Hotel And Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Number of rooms
17

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer