We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Stow-on-the-Wold B&Bs / inns

The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant

The Square, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AF, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list
The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
77%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Teresa1976_13 Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    67
    29
    13
    9
See reviews for
40
92
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Stopped here for a morning coffee before wandering around Stow. It was reasonably priced and the staff were friendly. There are a few tables outside where we sat and there is also a back patio area which looks nice. The restaurant room was all set up and the tables looked very sophisticated all laid with napkins in the glasses. Toilets... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. The location was great, the bed comfy and all the staff were lovely and when I asked for a taxi to be called to travel to another pub for supper as it was raining heavily the manager kindly offered to give us a lift instead. Only reason it didn't get... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were warmly greeted by a friendly man when we arrived for three nights. It seemed that each time we walked through the reception area, there was a different person at the desk, so we were not sure if we met the new managers. Our room was at the top of the stairs. It was clean and fresh. We had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You never know what you are going to find when you arrive at a new hotel but we were pleasantly surprised with this place, even though it was right on the square, which I thought would be noisy, especially because it was also a pub. As it turned out, we had a room next to the parking lot in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we arrived we were greeted by a lovely lady on reception, friendly and efficient. We had a quick sandwich before exploring Stow, we had the rare roast beef sandwich and it was lovely. When we went to our room we were so disappointed it was over crowded with 2 rather bulky chairs that were quite unnecessary and made the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOldStocksHotel, General Manager at The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello there, Thank you for your review in relation to your recent stay with us here at The Old Stocks Hotel. I must say I am very disappointed to read the issues that you had with your room and I am very sorry that the room problems you experienced has marred the whole experience you had with us whilst staying... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Myself and two friends stayed at the Old Stocks Hotel in Room 4 a few weeks ago and couldn't have been more pleased. The room was set up perfectly for all of us, with clean linen and comfy beds and the staff were incredibly helpful - we were on a cycling holiday and they helped us with routes and drying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOldStocksHotel, General Manager at The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Tessa So happy to see your review and see how we have made your experience here at The Old Stocks Hotel a memorable one. We as a Team love what we do and we all work very hard to make sure that our guests are well looked after as we would like to be ourselves and we are thrilled... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This is an amazing little find from the minute you enter the quaint hotel the staff are very friendly and helpful the room was large and airy and the breakfast was fantastic. We also had dinner and drinks there and the food was delicious. The new managers Charlotte and Richard are absolutely wonderful hospitality is obviously in their blood as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOldStocksHotel, General Manager at The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for the glowing feedback! We are absolutely bowled over by your review and we are over the moon that you rate us so highly and are eager to see what the refurbishment has in store. We are always delighted to see our hard work and efforts as a whole team rewarded with such great comments.... More

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Stayed at this hotel before and would stay there again. Under new ownership and management but just as good if not even better than before. Soon to undergo refurbishment will go back after this to see what changes have occurred. Staff and management are helpful and very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOldStocksHotel, General Manager at The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello Jenny What a lovely review. Thank you so much for taking time to write us such glowing feedback. We are so pleased that you have visited us as a returning customer and have had such a great experience. We really do hope to see you again soon after the refurbishment, if not before! Kind Regards, Charlotte Knowles General Manager More

Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This was a comfortable and friendly hotel with restful room and good service of unpretentious food providing us with an excellent overnight stopover. The dog was welcome too. A historic place under good new management as we understood.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOldStocksHotel, General Manager at The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello there, Thank you very much for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay here with us at The Old Stocks. We are thrilled that you would recommend us so highly and that we have made a lasting impression and great memories for you to take away. We hope to see you in the not too distant future! Many thanks,... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We adored our stay at The Old Stocks Hotel this weekend. Not only is the location perfect for exploring the Cotswolds and enjoying all that Stow-on-the-wold has to offer, it is the perfect base to relax and unwind after a days exploring. The rooms are just lovely and quaint and it's exciting to hear that next year they'll be even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheOldStocksHotel, General Manager at The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review

Hello there, What a pleasure to read your review! Thank you so very much for your lovely feedback and we are so very pleased as a whole team that you found your stay so pleasurable and memorable. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again in the New Year when we have refurbished and have a fresh sparkle and... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant

Address: The Square, Stow-on-the-Wold GL54 1AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stow-on-the-Wold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Stocks Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Stocks Hotel And Restaurant Stow-On-The-Wold, Cotswolds

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Stow-on-the-Wold with
any amenities