We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Cirencester hotels

Stratton House Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gloucester Road, Cirencester GL7 2LE, England (Formerly Best Western Stratton House Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Stratton House Hotel to your Saves list
Stratton House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
42%
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Cirencester
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Elizabeth M
  • Overview
  • Reviews (36)
  • Photos (36)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (12)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Mum & I stayed for one night last Oct and enjoyed our stay. Despite it being an older hotel with older decor, it had very beautiful grounds and gardens. The service & food in bar & restaurant were good. Twin room was spacious but bed's were a little hard. Overall a lovely place to stay in the Cotswolds.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here 3 nights for the air Tattoo at RAF Fairford. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, had a huge room, bed very comfy, good facilities, ate at the hotel and enjoyed the food and the service, would definitely stay there again

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived for our pre-booked afternoon tea to find a seriously dated and tired hotel. Gorgeous gardens and exterior but very sad interior. We were taken to a seating area overlooking the (lovely) gardens and asked if we wished for tea or coffee, we both chose tea. Chilled sparking wine arrived which went down very well. Our tea arrived along... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed a couple of nights in this lovely hotel and were very well looked after. The Evening Meal was extremely good as were the Full English Breakfasts. Our room was a feature room with a four poster bed and very comfortable. The village of Stratton is pretty and within walking distance of Cirencester.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
David W, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I do hope that you will return in the future to explore some more of the local area and the wonders of the Cotswolds. More

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here last week end with many others from the MG club. I agree with many of these reviews that the whole place is in need of redecoration but on the plus side we had a nice room with comfy beds and the en suite facilities were ok. The only thing i would really complain about was the service in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
David W, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review

Please accept my apologies for the service that was absent during your stay with us. The restaurant team have all now received intensive training and we are instilling best practices in to their way of thinking. I do hope that you return in the future and see that the improvements we are making continue towards an enjoyable stay. More

Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

stayed for 1 night recently .. should have stayed for more . From the moment we arrived until our departure , we were treated like returning guests/old friends. We were welcomed by Lesley ( the receptionist ) very warmly indeed .. nothing was to much trouble for her . We had booked a meal in the restaurant and were looked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
David W, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind comments regarding your recent visit to us. I do hope that we see you back at the hotel in the near future. More

Yorkshire Uk
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stratton House is set in beautiful gardens just outside Cirencester. We were very happy with our upgraded room booked on a deal through Living Social. It was clean and spacious with everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We had dinner on tne first nignt included and the food was nicely presented with ample portions. We had after dinner coffee... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David W, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments on your recent stay with us. We are pleased that your experience was a pleasant one and look forward to you returning to us in the future More

England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went for an afternoon tea with glass of sparkling wine today (2 adult and one 7year old child) using a groupon voucher. Entrance of the hotel was not so welcoming despite having lovely mature trees in the car park. It's like a place long forgotten. And the foyer was underwhelming (with outdated decors). Reception area is a bit unusual,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
David W, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to us for afternoon tea. We are delighted that the overall experience was a good one. More

Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed everything about it. Staff were very pleasant and helpful and our room was lovely.We were entitled to a free meal deal on our first night and it was so good we ate there on the second night too. An added bonus was the excellent weather which enabled us to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
David W, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. We have recently increased the size of our kitchen team and added some wow factor to the presentation. We will look forward to you returning in the near future More

Wendover, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel in May with several friends, we had a lovely weekend. The hotel was clean and comfortable, the food was very good, and the staff could not have been kinder or more helpful. It was our second stay here and there will be a third. Thank you, Stratton House!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David W, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, I will pass these on to the staff who will be happy to recieve the positive feedback More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Stratton House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Stratton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stratton House Hotel

Address: Gloucester Road, Cirencester GL7 2LE, England (Formerly Best Western Stratton House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cotswolds > Cirencester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stratton House Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Stratton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cirencester
Cirencester Best Western
Best Western Stratton Hotel

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
39

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer