We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stratton House Hotel

Gloucester Road, Cirencester GL7 2LE, England (Formerly Best Western Stratton House Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stratton House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Stratton House Hotel
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    51
    41
    17
    9
See reviews for
19
103
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (158)
  • Mar-May only
    (63)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (29)
All months
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Hi All, For 110 pounds a night we would advise you not to stay at this hotel if you want a warm shower. We called reception a number of times to get our shower fixed - reception stopped answering the phone and we had a very cold shower

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil H, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I'm disappointed to read that you had a problem with your shower whilst staying at the hotel. I will follow this up with my reception team to ascertain what room you were in and endeavour to find the cause of the problem. Thank you for making me aware of the situation. Regards Neil Heaven General Manager More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have just spent a few days at this charming country house hotel. I could not fault it in any way. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the food was excellent. The hotel is perfectly sited.for a visit to the Cotswolds, and I can heartily recommend it..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil H, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write your review on trip advisor I'm pleased that you enjoyed you stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Neil Heaven General Manager More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I brought my wife here for a birthday celebration. I booked an afternoon tea. I was so disappointed with what we were given. As vegetarians we knew that limited our choice but, really...?! A few finger sandwiches -- some on white bread -- of cheese and Branston pickle, a couple of egg and one of cucumber. One weird-looking plain scone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Neil H, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I'm disappointed to read about your experience with us at the hotel during your afternoon tea. We do ask that when you book that you specify if you have any dietary requirements. I'm pleased to read however that you had a lovely evening. Regards Neil Heaven General Manager More 

Travelers are raving about these Cirencester hotels

Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at Stratton House Hotel when what I needed the most was to relax and have some time to myself. That was definitely achieved at this charming hotel. In a peaceful area, only a short walk away from the centre of Cirencester, this hotel has a nice sitting room to read a book or have an afternoon tea (which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Neil H, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I was delighted to read that you had such a relaxing time, and I look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future. Warmest Regards Neil Heaven General Manager More 

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came here for our anniversary weekend. Arrived on a Friday and had lunch which was really nice and good value. Our room was ready which was handy, the room was fine. It was clean and pretty well equipped, TV , kettle etc. wi if is free all over the hotel which is really handy. One issue is they need... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Neil H, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind review. Were pleased that you enjoyed your stay I and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Neil Heaven General Manager More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

great break for bed breakfast and evening meal. Good value for money Evening Meal thank goodness we had all evening to wait for it, but when arrived was well worth the wait. Nice plenty full breakfast. Room large comfortable and sparking clean. Friendly staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil H, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I apologise for the wait in the restaurant but extremely pleased it was worth it.. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Regards Neil Heaven General Manager More 

Wendover, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Another excellent weekend at this friendly and comfortable hotel. This was my third 'school reunion' visit with a large group of friends. The hotel is clean and comfortable, the staff all very friendly & helpful, and the food fine. I don't hesitate to recommend it. Nola Heslop

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil H, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, it was a pleasure having you at the hotel over the weekend and I look forward to welcoming you back next year, or even sooner. Kind regards Neil Heaven General Manager More 

Newport
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here from the 8th until 10th May using one of the vouchers bought from Argos by my parents. It was a challenge to use the damn thing but this isn't the hotels fault. The room we had considering we had to pay a large supplement for the weekend over and above the voucher was a bit much especially... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil H, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I agree that some parts of the hotel are tired and we are currently working through a refurbishment programme. I' have spoken to the Breakfast team and informed them to keep the breakfast buffet out a little longer at the weekend. I was also encouraged to read you had a pleasant... More 

Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have had the privilege of staying at Stratton House Hotel twice. In November 2014 and this year in February. Both times the stay was really good. The staff are very helpful and the rooms are clean and the beds very comfortable. Especially the rooms upstairs with the emergency door in it and the one next to it. Breakfast overlooking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Neil H, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Regards Neil Heaven General Manager More 

Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just returned from a very well priced 2 night Travelzoo break at this hotel. Having read previous reviews I didn't have particularly high expectations so we were pleasantly surprised. We stayed in room 9 with good garden views, it was spacious, clean and warm. There was a constant supply of hot water and the heating could be thermostatically... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Neil H, General Manager at Stratton House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Tripadvisor. Im pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Regards Neil Heaven General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay