We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fleece at Cirencester

5.0 of 5 Market Place | 41 Dyer Street, Cirencester GL7 2NZ, England (Formerly Jarvis Fleece Hotel)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Fleece at Cirencester
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Fleece at Cirencester
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    113
    44
    22
    17
See reviews for
66
176
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (351)
  • Mar-May only
    (69)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (89)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (111)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (82)
All months
East Yorkshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We booked The Fleece for 2 nights, our party included 3 couples. We booked the Hotel as we have used Thwaites Hotels several times before in North Yorkshire and have always been very satisfied with food, service and ambience. Our party travelled from Bristol and East Yorkshire. We were celebrating a friends birthday. However we didn't have the same experience... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at The Fleece 23 & 24 Jan 15, our first time in Cirencester, most impressed. We checked in mid afternoon, very easy and had the offer to carry our bags to our room. The building has age and character. As staying guests we could use the onsite car park, a public car park was only a minute away.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We enjoyed this boutique hotel in Cirencester. It was a good value and the breakfast was excellent; a good English breakfast, as they say. The room was nice with en-suite facilities; it was a relatively recent reconstruction so that’s a plus. Cirencester is a nice town, having its “wool church” and a couple of nice pubs and centrally located for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We love the Fleece and it is a firm favorite to visit when we are in Cirencester, however.... Yesterday I stood at the bar which was very quiet and one member of staff was serving whilst another chatted to him, I then stood there for a few more minutes until another customer arrived at the bar and he immediately served... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fleece C, General Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for bringing to my attention the problems you have been having at The Fleece, I am very sorry about this and am very embarrassed on reading your review. We are a great choice in Cirencester, as you know from being one of our loyal guests. I cannot apologise enough that recently you have not been experiencing us... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked a table for lunch after Christmas. We were sat next to a patio door which was not properly shut and it was freezing. We advised the waitress of the problem only to be told that the Fleece staff were aware the door wouldn't shut. Given that we had to wait 50 mins for any food to arrive we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fleece C, General Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review

Hello I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your meal with us. We aim to be warm and welcoming in all ways; I assure you we address all maintenance as quickly as possible. I apologise profusely that we did not look after you and try and move you to another area. Also for the wait for your... More 

Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at The Fleece between 28th-30th December 2014 and in short we felt it the overall experience was pleasant but dissapointing. A number of areas let it down, including kitchen issues, very small rooms and the car parking which was not on site. Many other things but enough said and sadly did not live up to article in the national... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fleece C, General Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review

Hello Whilst I thank you for taking the time to post a review I am very disappointed that we did not live up to expectations for you on your long weekend. We are a great Inn and work very hard to deliver high standards to all our guests, it seems we did not get it right for you. Would you... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went for lunch, super tasty, good beers and wine. Surroundings nice with lovely staff. Only criticism was the service was very slow, 55mins from order to food but they were very busy on new years eve lunchtime. Will definitely be heading here again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fleece C, General Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review

Hello Thank you very much for your lovely review after your lunch with us on New Years Eve. It was a very busy time for us and although when busy we do try to serve everyone as quick as possible, we sometimes do get a bit caught up. I am glad you are not deterred by this and I look... More 

Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booking in over the bar is disappointing, as there is no reception but the service levels and staff attitude were excellent. Room needed some TLC, but represented good value for money. Primary concern was crack in toilet seat which we advised about on checking out. We were thanked for pointing this out and told that it would be replaced as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fleece C, General Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review

Hello. Thank you for posting a review after your stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for pointing out the maintenance items, which have indeed been corrected. We look forward to seeing you again soon Paul More 

Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night after a friends wedding. Our room was small, but very nice. The bed was comfortable and room warm. The bar area is relaxing, has a good atmosphere, but it took ages to get served a drink. Breakfast was OK, but so disorganised and not what was ordered. I got the impression... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fleece C, General Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your review after your stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed your visit over all and want to reassure you that we are working with our team on a daily basis to ensure all aspects of service are delivered to an excellent standard. I am confident that on your next visit you will find us... More 

Manchester,England
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

We have just had a short stay at the Fleece and I really enjoyed the stay. The staff were polite and friendly, the location could not be better and the atmosphere of the place was really nice. This is a very old building, but the rooms are well sized with a modern bathroom. Breakfast was traditional English with plenty of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fleece C, General Manager at The Fleece at Cirencester, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to post a review and thank you for the glowing report. I am truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the quirks of our old building. I do hope you make it back to see us again soon Thank you Paul More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Fleece at Cirencester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fleece at Cirencester

Address: Market Place | 41 Dyer Street, Cirencester GL7 2NZ, England (Formerly Jarvis Fleece Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Fleece at Cirencester 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Fleece at Cirencester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fleece At Cirencester Hotel Cirencester
Hotel Jarvis Fleece

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (27)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay