We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 60 Cheltenham B&Bs / inns

Hanover House

65 St George's Road, Cheltenham GL50 3DU, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hanover House to your Saves list
Hanover House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
96%
Ranked #4 of 60 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed today
Richard G London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    4
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
82
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We had a lovely stay for one night in room 4. Very comfortable, nicely decorated and quiet. The owners are both charming and attentive. The breakfast was great and the house a joy to be in. We couldn't have expected a nicer place to stay or more welcoming hosts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed at Hanover House for a short visit with my mum, and we both had a lovely time. The location could not be better, its right in the centre of the town, but set back from the road, so is peaceful. The rooms are full of character, colourful and fun, and also really comfortable. Especially liked the very comfy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have been coming every year for the Greenbelt Festival and we can't imagine staying anywhere else in Cheltenham. The welcome is second to none and the style and character of the hotel makes it a real treat. I would recommend it as a venue in its own right as a holiday destination. The breakfasts are a real high-point!

Was this review helpful? Yes
HanoverCheltenham, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind review. As you have all been here for the last six years you will be sadly missed, Cheltenham's bad luck and Northamptonshire's gain. To be sure that we don't suffer " withdrawal symptoms" we are planning to be away that weekend and a relief manager is running it for us. I shall... More

Bainbridge Island, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

'Fabulous accommodation with wonderfully warm and exceptionally helpful hosts with immediate fabulous dinner recommendations and unusual wine bar. Lovely comfortable bedroom and in room treat with sherry. We had a delicious breakfast with many choices and home made bread and jams, fruit compote. A Great central location a couple of minutes walk into the center. We Would highly recommend this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HanoverCheltenham, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing me two lovely reviews on two sites. You were charming guests and a delight to have and so pleased that you enjoyed the service offered and took pleasure in our lovely home. After last weeks kerfuffle with Q book they have now decided to continue with the on line service, but I think we... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in the twin room which was really beautiful - classic and sumptuous but with some quirky touches like a photo of the family dog on the mantelpiece and pretty beaded throws on the beds, not to mention half a decanter of complimentary sherry, which went down very well indeed! The beds were incredibly comfortable and everything felt really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HanoverCheltenham, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to write us a very kind review. As we are a Sawday's establishment, guests eat on one table 'en famille' as part of the experience, admittedly not for everyone but on our video it does portray breakfast time. We also feel this is our own home and we aim to... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked Hanover House as 'theatre digs' for a run at the Everyman Theatre. It is rare to feel truly at home when on tour so this was a very pleasant experience. Breakfast was delicious. The rooms were lovely and the beds were very comfy. The house is scrupulously clean and elegant as well as comfortable and welcoming. I greatly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HanoverCheltenham, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Dear Theatre Digger ( not allowed to use names ) Thank you very much for your very kind review especially as you are so busy touring. We enjoyed having you here with us and your sharing of your opera experiences with everyone. We are so pleased that we managed to see your performance and thought it very imaginative . We... More

York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Squashy sofas, a real fire (lit just in case we wanted to sit downstairs when we came in from an evening out), homely bedrooms - what more could you ask for? Veronica and James are very welcoming and on hand to offer local advice and recommendations. Breakfasts are as good as other reviewers have said - can't think of anything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HanoverCheltenham, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your glowing review, and for taking the time and trouble to write one, it is very much appreciated. Am so glad that the weekend worked out so well and it was a real pleasure to have such a delightful family. I trust the journey home was uneventful and you were fortunte enough to have the... More

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Another wonderful week spent at Hanover House. I have been coming here for a number of years now and can't fault a thing really. James and Veronica are such welcoming hosts and are only too happy to assist and make your stay as comfortable as possible. I was dismayed to read a recent post only giving a very poor 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HanoverCheltenham, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write such an extensive review especially as you are so busy. As usual it was an absolute pleasure to have you staying with us and am already looking forward to next year. Thank you also for putting into words what Hanover House is all about - something that is... More

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A great place to stay with lots of little treats to delight the visitor. Attentive hosts who provide a fantastic breakfast. The guests sitting room had a fire burning, which was lovely. Our bathroom could have been used to host a party. All in all a great find. Well done tripadvisor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HanoverCheltenham, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review and delighted that you had such a happy stay here. Do hope the theatre came up to expectations! We never did get round to seeing it. Yes the fire is lovely on chilly evenings but as the clocks change tonight there won't be so much need for it, sadly because we also... More

Glossop, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Have never written review before but felt that I must on this occasion as this is such a wonderful place to stay. The breakfast was amongst the best we have ever had and the house is beautiful. The owners are delightful and very anxious to please in every way. A lovely experience which I would thoroughly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
HanoverCheltenham, Owner at Hanover House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write me a review when this is not your normal practice. It is greatly appreciated. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed what Hanover house had to offer. We look forward to seeing you again! Warmest wishes, Veronica and James. More

Been to Hanover House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanover House

Address: 65 St George's Road, Cheltenham GL50 3DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanover House is a 5-star elegant Grade-II listed Victorian town house offering a family home atmosphere, spacious bedrooms with bathrooms, and guest drawing room providing television, books and music. A short walk into central Regency Cheltenham accesses excellent restaurants and shops in Montpellier and Promenade, parks, Ladies College, coach and railway stations. Regular festivals, exhibitions, concerts and shows are staged at the nearby Racecourse, Montpellier Gardens, Pitville Pump Room and three excellent theatres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hanover House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanover House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.