We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Cheltenham hotels

Hotel du Vin Cheltenham

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parabola Rd, Cheltenham GL50 3AQ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel du Vin Cheltenham to your Saves list
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
82%
Ranked #7 of 18 hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
David S Derby UK
  • Overview
  • Reviews (447)
  • Photos (74)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (78)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

447 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    208
    149
    62
    17
    11
See reviews for
43
258
16
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Hotel generally good. Ample parking, easy check in and well positioned in town. Decor really nice, staff excellent, room clean and tidy (yet very small). Bath in the bedroom which would be lovely in a cavernous room but was a little odd in a small room. Food and drink good. All in all - id use the hotel again and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Devon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed for 2 nights in a superior room. Very comfortable bed with a roll-top bath by the window from where I lay in bubbles and drank champagne (more bubbles) whilst watching the huge TV. Absolutely can't complain about that. The shower room was quite dramatic with all the black tiling, and the shower was great, but the floor wasn't too... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
135 hotel reviews
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Unfortunately I only had one night here. I could have definitely have stayed much longer! Service was excellent and I as upgraded to a beautiful room with a roll top bath by the window. Drinks in the bar were served with a smile and quickly, as was breakfast. Room amenities were excellent with top notch bed linens and fluffy towels.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
100 hotel reviews
316 helpful votes 316 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having stayed in a number of Hotel Du Vin properties; of late I have found that same thing very often let's them down, poor service, reading recent reviews here on Tripadvisor, it seems others have experienced the same. Unfortunately HDV Cheltenham suffers badly from the this problem. HDV is a well located (easy walk into Cheltenham centre) and is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Impossible to find my room! No room numbers, even the staff don't know where the rooms are located ? If you have luggage make sure your room in near the lift ! Our party had a lot of luggage and the hotel could not cope ...v poor The staff were really excellent ...but the duty manager very dismissive of a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to appraise me of your recent visit. I would be very grateful if you could call me at the hotel so I may find out which Duty Manager you spoke to. It is our policy to assit all guests by personally escorting them to their room. Only if the guest declines to... More

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is in a great location, nice and quiet but an easy walk to the town centre and Montpellier. The rooms are very well appointed and quite spacious. The beds are extremely comfortable and the monsoon shower is wonderful although if you're over 6" you might have to duck to use it! Having a nespresso machine in the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your positive review. It is always a delight to read positive comments regarding our room facilities, I agree with you regarding the fabulous shower experience! I do hope that you will return to Cheltenham Hotel du Vin so that you can experience some of our other great, individual and well appointed bedrooms. Regards,... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a fantastic dinner but it was unfortunately let down by the 'interesting' service On arrival we had 2 glasses of sparkling water and were charged £8; repeated challenging and they reduced the price The service slow, but suited us, the food was superb but we didn't feel looked after / spoilt by the staff at any point of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you very much for advising us of your recent visit. We are all pleased that you enjoyed your evening but disappointed that you did not receive our usually warm, friendly and attentive levels of service. We do hope that we can welcome you back in the future in order that we can deliver a better all round... More

UK
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
45 hotel reviews
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Located in quiet area of Cheltenham, but actually fairly near all the retail/bar action. managed to get good parking space in street opposite (relatively little private parking space). Unusual but charming reception area. Offered to show us to our room but we decided to try and find it ourselves! Rooms are named so makes locating them a little challenging but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review

Dear frequent_flyerUK, Thank you so much for your glowing review. I will make sure it is passed to the whole team as it really does boost moral which in turns provides them with even greater confidence in delivering exceptional levels of service. I hope we can welcome you back to Cheltenham soon! All the very best, Ed Duley More

Manchester
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed here for 2 days to attend a wedding. We booked a standard room but were offered an upgrade for £18 which we accepted as we do like a king size bed. We were then given another upgrade as the window wouldn't close and when the manager tried to close it he broke the handle so we actually stayed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review

Dear MadPat83, Thank you very much for your recent review. The comments you make are very valid as each traveller has their own expectations. It is our job to provide you with the levels of comfort, amenities and service that you expect and I am genuinely sorry to read that we did not meet with your expectations. Many of our... More

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My wife and I booked a weekend stay at Hotel du Vin in Cheltenham for Friday and Saturday night. Our reservation included dinner, bed and breakfast. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel special and the check in process took no time at all. We were shown to our room which was very nice indeed. We then... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review

Dear Philip D, Your comments regarding your recent stay were gratefully received and I will ensure the whole team gets to read your positive review. I hope that I might have the opportunity to welcome you back personally to Hotel du Vin Cheltenham in the near future. Thanks once again, Ed Duley General Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel du Vin Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cheltenham

Address: Parabola Rd, Cheltenham GL50 3AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cheltenham 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#3 Business Hotel in Cheltenham #4 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham #4 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham #6 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Formerly the Carlton Hotel and located in the chic Montpellier district of this historic spa town. Hotel du Vin Cheltenham offers forty nine bedrooms and suites, all decorated in inimitable Hotel du Vin style. The wonderfully spacious public areas centered around a showpiece spiral staircase, include a trademark Bistro with extensive al fresco dining, both a Champagne and Sinners Enclosure Bar, beauty treatment rooms and private dining rooms. The general manager is Tom Ross. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
49

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer