We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Cheltenham hotels

Hotel du Vin Cheltenham

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parabola Rd, Cheltenham GL50 3AQ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hotel du Vin Cheltenham to your Saves list
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
81%
Ranked #8 of 19 hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
HAC51
  • Overview
  • Reviews (467)
  • Photos (74)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (82)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

467 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    216
    154
    65
    21
    11
See reviews for
43
271
16
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I love this hotel, it's probably one of the best I have stayed in. We had booked the junior suite but were upgraded to the Moet Vintage Room which was beautiful . The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Dinner was in the restaurant with ample food available. I would defiantly recommend this one as is of the high standard... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to post a review. It was great to read and I will ensure all the teams get to read your comments. Moet Vintage Suite is a beautiful room, I am pleased you enjoyed your birthday upgrade. We do always try to mark special occasions one way or another. Regards, Ed. More

Stoke Poges, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My boyfriend and I decided to stay here for our anniversary. After settling in to the room I discovered a suspicious stain on the chair. The duty manager came to inspect the complaint and was not apologetic at all. He offered to remove the chair but I stated that I would rather move rooms, as I could not be sure... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review

I appreciated you providing detailed feedback through our Hotel website last week and thank you for taking my phone call. Regards, Ed. More

SW, UK
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had been booked into the hotel as part of a wedding party and was allocated a lovely room with roll top bath in the bedroom. The wedding breakfast was delicious in a private dining area and staff were attentive. The hotel is very quirky and I don't think we used the same route from the room to the bistro... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review

Dear BVG12, Lovely to receive your comments, Great to read that you enjoyed your visit and I hope we get to look after you again in the near future. Regards, Ed. More

west midlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

See title of review. That's my opinion and i'm sticking to it. I've been told the montpellier chapter is good, but can't comment as i've not stayed there myself. I've been staying at HdV for 5 years or so because of work and I love it. This visit was a long birthday weekend with Mrs C The room = superb.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review

Dear Andy, Wow what a review! So glad you like the brand and I am pleased you enjoyed a social stay. Many thanks, Ed. More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A short business trip booked via the HdV website. Great opportunity to stay in amazingly spacious suite using the upgrade facility. The room was perhaps a little dark due to the black wallpaper but that was the only negative point. Dinner, bed and breakfast for £250 for the two of us seemed very good value for money and the wine... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review

Dear Nicholas, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. We are all genuinely pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality, decor, food and fabulous wine. This is what we are all about and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Cheltenham Hotel du Vin. Best of luck completing... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at Hotel du Vin in Cheltenham for a weekend in July with my husband. We had an excellent experience. The receptionist was extremely helpful. She even showed us around the bar and bistro before taking us to our room. The bedroom was very comfortable, with a roll top bath and shower room. Our bed was comfy, the minibar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review

Dear Sandra, Thank you for posting such a glowing review. I shall ensure all the teams get to read your comments and I know they will be happy that you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, Ed. More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed overnight courtesy of our insurance company. Large comfortable bed, rather large and austere bathroom with roll top bath and large walk in shower. Outside courtyard area which unfortunately was in the shade. Some unique touches like a cigar humidor selling Cuban cigars and an outside cigar shack where people could smoke them. We can't review breakfast as the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review

Dear ukstayer, Thank you for your largely positive review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and specifically our comfortable beds. I hope you chose to visit us again and enjoy our fabulous breakfast offering, including all the classic cooked breakfast items and all the market table has to offer. I am sorry to read that you were disturbed.... More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having stayed in many good quality hotels around the world and eaten in Michelin Star restaurants this hotel did not hit the spot for us. For what you pay for accommodation, food and wine it does not meet the standards of other places we have stayed for similar costs. We came away feeling a little bit robbed. It was not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking time to post a review on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that you don't think that your visit was up to par and did not represent value for the price paid. I would be grateful if you called me at the hotel so I may understand the specific areas where you felt let down. Thanks, Ed... More

Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed over the weekend and had a great time as always at an HDV. The staff were as usual helpful and welcoming. However at this price point it should be close to perfection. Great location but the decor seemed just a bit tired. I love the HDV bathrooms which are the size of many hotel bedrooms but in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review

Dear Peter, Thank you for your comments. I do hope that you will return to Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, I would be happy to introduce you to our award winning Sommelier who I know would assist you in choosing your favourite style of wine from our extensive list. Regards, Ed. More

uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

hotel du vin rarely lets us down. fabulous service from the friendly staff (including a free upgrade for the husband's birthday), stylish and clean rooms, gorgeous breakfast and a great location. Their late deals are good value for money and we use HDV for both work and leisure. I would definitely stay here at HDV Cheltenham again

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM-HDV-Cheltenham, General Manager at Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your five star review. It was great to read and thank you for your recommendation! You clearly like the Hotel du Vin brand and your loyalty is appreciated. Have you tried the newly refurbished HdV St Andrews yet? Well worth a visit..... Regards, Ed. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel du Vin Cheltenham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel du Vin Cheltenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin Cheltenham

Address: Parabola Rd, Cheltenham GL50 3AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin Cheltenham 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel du Vin Cheltenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (32)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Cheltenham with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#3 Business Hotel in Cheltenham #4 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham #4 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham #6 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Formerly the Carlton Hotel and located in the chic Montpellier district of this historic spa town. Hotel du Vin Cheltenham offers forty nine bedrooms and suites, all decorated in inimitable Hotel du Vin style. The wonderfully spacious public areas centered around a showpiece spiral staircase, include a trademark Bistro with extensive al fresco dining, both a Champagne and Sinners Enclosure Bar, beauty treatment rooms and private dining rooms. The general manager is Tom Ross. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
49

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel du Vin Cheltenham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer