We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Cheltenham hotels

The George Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St George's Rd, Cheltenham GL50 3DZ, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
The George Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com Travelocity
and 2 more sites!
92%
Ranked #4 of 17 hotels in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Lil W Cannock, United Kingdom
Write a Review

321 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    119
    27
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
187
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cannock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 1 night and only 1 fault with the hotel. I have a back problem and find stairs difficult, but they have no lift. The receptionist was very helpful and found us a room with just 1 flight of stairs, but I think it would be much more of a problem for wheelchairs etc. The room was very clean,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
banbury
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stayed here for a sat night just to get away from it all for one night,kid free.booked late via booking.com and got a classic for £105 including brekkie and parking.the hotel itself is in a great place just a 5 mins walk into town or 5 mins the other way to Montpellier.the room was very good and clean and was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited this Hotel after having stayed here before. In some ways it is very likeable due to its certain charm and character but the shortcomings we experienced were enough to question if we will revisit. The main issues were the overwarm bedroom and the noise from the street. Despite having turned off all of the radiators, the temperature (March)was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warsaw
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Located in the centre of Cheltenham, the hotel was not just a standard hotel, it was a nice addition to my business trip and I would really like to bring my other half there! I stayed in a "small double room" room - 10 or 11, can't remember. I understand some concerns about the size of the rooms. However, my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here one night with my partner whilst making a quick trip back home to visit family and friends. The service was faultlessly efficient and friendly, and our room (233) was very well-appointed. The bed was very comfy indeed and we appreciated the large bathroom with a beautiful freestanding bath and separate walk-in shower. After a very long working week... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

I was really hoping for better considering we paid £125 for a junior suite, the room was just not clean enough and the 2 clean bit crumpled bathrobes in the bathroom just didn't give any feeling of luxury, that said the bathroom was the saving grace as it was big and well designed, but we didn't sleep in the bathroom!!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mj_shaw, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, all your comments have been noted. I was pleased that you liked the bathrooms but I was disappointed to read about some of the other issues that you mention. As with the majority of hotels, all our bed linen and bathrobes are hired and laundered by a local laundry company.... More

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This hotel was chosen predominantly because of its central location which served its purpose in terms of going out to a nice restaurant etc. Service at the hotel was good, check in smooth, courteous staff bringing ice bucket up to room etc. The only disappointment was the size of the room - despite being in a deluxe room the room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mj_shaw, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, all your comments have been noted. As you mention the hotel enjoys a very enviable town centre location as we are only a two minute walk away from a great choice of shops, bars and restaurants, perfect for a weekend away. Once you have checked into the hotel you really... More

Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Chose this hotel because of its location, it is very central in the town. Small double rooms are very small but adequate. Coat hangers in the wardrobe would not hold any weight, so hanging clothes up was tricky! The whole place could do with a little updating, it is looking tired but is generally OK for the price. Food was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mj_shaw, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I was pleased to note that you were happy with most of your stay but I was sorry that you were disappointed with certain aspects. I will certainly have a look at the coat hangers that are being used. I would agree with you that the wallpaper in the stairs... More

Ashleworth, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I have just returned from a surprise weekend away in The Junior Suite 21st+22nd Feb 14 as a gift from my Husband. What a FAB Hotel........The room was amazing, amazing bed (huge, i felt like i was sleeping alone) amazing bathroom (super huge bath) and all the amazing things thought of, like iron and board, robes, bottled cold water etc.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mj_shaw, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting such a kind and positive review. I was delighted to see that you had such a great stay and you used all the amenities. I was also pleased to note that you enjoyed your meal and cocktails in Monty’s – it is always great to hear. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Jeremy... More

Aberdare, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

the hotel is in an ideal location for most of what cheltenham has to offer. very welcoming and helpful on reception. the room i booked was a small double, plenty big enough for 2 people on an overnight stay. the hotel was impeccably clean and well presented. breakfast is eaten in montys which is accessed by an internal door from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mj_shaw, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review. I was so pleased to learn that you had a great stay and especially enjoyed breakfast. Next time you must try Monty’s for lunch or dinner. Wheelchair access is available via portable ramps to both Monty’s and to the Hotel if required. We look forward to seeing you... More

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Also Known As:
George Hotel Cheltenham
Address: St George's Rd, Cheltenham GL50 3DZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cheltenham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cheltenham
#2 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The George Hotel to your Saves list