We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 60 Cheltenham B&Bs / inns

The Midland Hotel

247 Gloucester Road, Cheltenham, England
Hotel amenities
The Midland Hotel
Ranked #44 of 60 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cheltenham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I visited after going to the Football and found a pleasant atmosphere and a good well served Pint. Some of the customers who were on the other side of the Pub and outside smoking could be described as ''Chavs''but they were harmless enough and as usual they just attempt to look hard while failing. The majority of the ones in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

On arriving we were shown into the lounge area to pick a table it was cold and very scruffy not even a table cloth, the seat covers were filthy and not at all inviting . The food arrived promptly but was very poor prawns on lettuce and that was it no other garnish, and breaded garlick mushrooms some of them... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Midlands UK
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The whole point, I'd of thought is to attract people to a place they haven't eaten before be wowed and impressed so they choose to come back again. But if so, why is the lunch not really as it could be. The deal here Sunday lunch. Starter prawn cocktail or strips of chicken sitting on a bed of lettuce tipped... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
York, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Wouldn't stay there again. A rough pub in a rough part of Cheltenham. Basically on a trading estate. The staff obviously looked after the locals a lot better than anyone staying there. The location is ok if you travel by rail but is a lot further from the centre of Cheltenham than led to believe. Didn't enjoy it in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Midland Hotel is a fantastic, honest and friendly destination for a superb price. I coach a University Rugby who have held a trip to cheltenham for the last 4 years and the Midland is absolutely perfect for us. It's basic and the price reflects this BUT for the price it is always clean and the staff are thorough and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is without doubt the worst hotel ever, we were ripped off and had to pay 160.00 for a disgustingly filthy twin room which I would not have put my dogs in to sleep. Disgustingly filthy carpet, heavily stained bed, appalling bathroom and toilet facilities,whilst we were prepared and expected to pay extra for the cheltenham festival week which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
JDGLOS, Owner at The Midland Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you did not find your room to your satisfaction. I would however dispute a number of points that you have made. We are marketed as a budget option - basic but clean and tidy, and our website and the pictures thereon are true representations of our hotel. Our pricing structure further indicates the level at... More

Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The Midland is a great drinking mans local, with everything you would want out of a local pub. The staff are great, and management work hard to organise events. music etc to give customers that something else to come along for. Great prices, great service and the pub says what it does on the tin …. a great place for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
25 hotel reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

A good honest local inn. Reasonably-priced drinks, of which there is a fair range. Pool table, darts and televisions showing matches. Staff are friendly enough. Good location near the train station.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4

Been to The Midland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland Hotel

Address: 247 Gloucester Road, Cheltenham, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Midland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Midland Hotel to your Saves list