We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 66 Cheltenham B&Bs / inns

The Midland Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Midland Hotel to your Saves list
247 Gloucester Road, Cheltenham, England
Hotel amenities
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ranked #44 of 66 Cheltenham B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cheltenham
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
1
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (11)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (1)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (0)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Ellenton, Florida
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Had 30 minutes to spare while changing trains and popped in for a drink. Very clean and welcoming and had the best pint of "Flowers" on draught I have ever had. Pop in if your waiting for a train its less than 2 minutes from station at Cheltenham Spa

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I booked for Sunday Lunch with a groupon voucher and redeemed this yesterday. I was pleasantly surprised as from the outside the venue looks more like a traditional public house however, inside was warm, clean and nicely decorated. We did have to wait for our table to become available due to the number of people dining but the bar area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

the Midland Hotel doesn't look very special from the outside so we were pleasantly surprised when we went into the bar. it was clean and welcoming. Although the menu was limited to a traditional Sunday roast main course with a choice of three starters and three desserts, the food was lovely. the vegetables in particular were delicious and the price... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I visited after going to the Football and found a pleasant atmosphere and a good well served Pint. Some of the customers who were on the other side of the Pub and outside smoking could be described as ''Chavs''but they were harmless enough and as usual they just attempt to look hard while failing. The majority of the ones in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

On arriving we were shown into the lounge area to pick a table it was cold and very scruffy not even a table cloth, the seat covers were filthy and not at all inviting . The food arrived promptly but was very poor prawns on lettuce and that was it no other garnish, and breaded garlick mushrooms some of them... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Midlands UK
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The whole point, I'd of thought is to attract people to a place they haven't eaten before be wowed and impressed so they choose to come back again. But if so, why is the lunch not really as it could be. The deal here Sunday lunch. Starter prawn cocktail or strips of chicken sitting on a bed of lettuce tipped... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
York, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Wouldn't stay there again. A rough pub in a rough part of Cheltenham. Basically on a trading estate. The staff obviously looked after the locals a lot better than anyone staying there. The location is ok if you travel by rail but is a lot further from the centre of Cheltenham than led to believe. Didn't enjoy it in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Midland Hotel is a fantastic, honest and friendly destination for a superb price. I coach a University Rugby who have held a trip to cheltenham for the last 4 years and the Midland is absolutely perfect for us. It's basic and the price reflects this BUT for the price it is always clean and the staff are thorough and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is without doubt the worst hotel ever, we were ripped off and had to pay 160.00 for a disgustingly filthy twin room which I would not have put my dogs in to sleep. Disgustingly filthy carpet, heavily stained bed, appalling bathroom and toilet facilities,whilst we were prepared and expected to pay extra for the cheltenham festival week which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
JDGLOS, Owner at The Midland Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you did not find your room to your satisfaction. I would however dispute a number of points that you have made. We are marketed as a budget option - basic but clean and tidy, and our website and the pictures thereon are true representations of our hotel. Our pricing structure further indicates the level at... More

Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The Midland is a great drinking mans local, with everything you would want out of a local pub. The staff are great, and management work hard to organise events. music etc to give customers that something else to come along for. Great prices, great service and the pub says what it does on the tin …. a great place for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Been to The Midland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland Hotel

Address: 247 Gloucester Road, Cheltenham, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Cheltenham
Number of rooms: 12

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Midland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.