We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 18 Cheltenham hotels

Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Promenade, Cheltenham GL50 1NN, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
65%
Ranked #13 of 18 hotels in Cheltenham
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Rosemary e Gloucester, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (512)
  • Photos (55)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (91)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

512 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    195
    115
    48
    21
See reviews for
44
243
18
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel stands so proud in a beautiful location ,it is so very convenient for the lovely Montpellier gardens the shops, all in walking distance.we stayed here for my daughters 30th birthday party over several months of organising the party and booking several rooms for our guests we had a lot of contact with the staff.everyone was so very friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newport
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Room was in need of a good refresh. During night a leak from above dripped into the bathroom. Fortunately it dripped into the toilet so no real emergency, but disturbed sleep. Informed reception following morning. Too late for our comfort as we were leaving. When we first arrived the TV was not working had to inform reception twice. It was... More

Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mark P, General Manager at Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am really sorry to hear that your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham wasn’t up to expectations. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and will address the issues you had in your room with my maintence manager immediately. Kind Regards Mark Platt More

oxford
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
57 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Disappointing stay in this Cheltenham landmark. The location is excellent but the rooms are very tired. Our corner room has wonderful views over the promenade and was quite large but was in serious need of updating as was the bathroom. And some sort of secondary glazing would have blocked off the traffic noise. Staff are reasonably friendly but the facilities... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mark P, General Manager at Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I apologise most sincerely that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. I am however, pleased to say the hotel is due for refurbishment including public areas and bedrooms and the programme date is due to commence January 2015. Despite your disappointment I do hope you will visit us again... More

Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We met friends here for the weekend and were very pleased with the welcome and staff. It was really refreshing to see so many senior staff around and doing anything which was needed to ensure the smooth running of the hotel. The doorman Mike was a particular delight. He looked smart and was willing to get stuck in on any... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark P, General Manager at Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at the Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. I look forward to welcoming you back More

Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I often go out for afternoon tea, in Cheltenham and surrounding area, and no cafe or hotel can match the Queens Hotel, in Cheltenham. The Afternoon Tea, has sausage rolls and other savoury delights, as well as an amazing assortment of miniature patisserie and cakes. The staff are very attentive, and a special mention to Daniel, who always makes our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark P, General Manager at Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed afternoon tea at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. My team and in particular Daniel will be delighted to hear that their efforts are appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Mark Platt We More

Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Being a coach driver I have stayed in a lot of hotels around europe..this hotel is one of the best...lovely staff...food first class...magnificent rooms...in the heart of cheltenham.....give this hotel a try .....you will not be dissapointed....

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mark P, General Manager at Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review. I’m glad you had a good stay with us at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham and I hope to see you on your next trip. Kind regards, Mark Platt More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great service and full recognition of Accor Platinum loyalty benefits (which is a first for me). Well located and the staff try hard to make your stay pleasant. But unfortunately the rooms are in need of a makeover (including air conditioning). They are however very spacious. Good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark P, General Manager at Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenhamand look forward to seeing you again I am pleased to say the hotel is due for refurbishment including public areas and bedrooms and the programme date is due to commence early 2015. Kind regards,... More

Grafton, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We only stayed overnight in this stylish hotel, the staff were friendly and welcoming, we had an upgrade to an excellent suite. We arrived late and the restaurant was very accommodating , the food was a little disappointing .we will return and would like to stay a few days in this elegant town

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter W, General Manager at Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham and look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Peter Watt More

Cheltenham
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had arranged a business meeting lunch at the Queens, and although the food was good the service was awful. We met in the bar for a pre lunch drink to find it full but with no staff, in fact a customer approached me because I had a business suit on to see if I was a member of staff.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter W, General Manager at Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Mercure Queens Hotel in Cheltenham. The standard of service you received is not indicative of our usual high performance and I apologise that on this occasion we have let you, as well as ourselves down. it is not acceptable to have such lapses in... More

Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Every single member of staff I spoke to was extremely helpful, professional and very friendly, it really made my stay. The hotel is in a great location for the town centre and with the onsite parking it is a good place to stay. In contrast to the exterior, the interior could do with a refresh, except of course the staircase!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter W, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that their efforts are appreciated and that you had an enjoyable stay. I am aware the interior of the hotel is looking tired and am pleased to say the hotel is due for refurbishment including public areas and... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Cheltenham GL50 1NN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Cheltenham
Mercure Cheltenham

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style
#4 Business Hotel in Cheltenham #7 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
4 star hotel in the city centre with 79 en suite rooms. Easy access via M5, 1 mile to Cheltenham railway station. 50 miles to Bristol airport. Meeting room suite (natural light) for 100 people. AA Rosette award winning Napier Restaurant, Gold Cup Bar andLounge, WiFi internet (public areas and most rooms). Free access to local leisure club. 24 hour room service. Pay parking (5 to 10 GBP). ... more   less 
Number of rooms
70

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer