We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel

4.0 of 5 The Promenade, Cheltenham GL50 1NN, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
SAVE UP TO 30% OFF
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    247
    142
    64
    35
See reviews for
66
303
26
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (655)
  • Mar-May only
    (124)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (175)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (184)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (172)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is not a cheap hotel to stay in so my wife and I were quite disappointed by the room we were initially checked into. The room furnishing was slightly shabby and aspects of it weren't what you would expect in a hotel of this standard, For example the kettle lid didn't fit and the bathroom pedal bin didn't work.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
birmingham
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for one night on the 4th March lovely grand hotel from the outside,ideally located for shops. Agree the building needs abit of updating but to be fair its good to have original features etc in this day and age . However this is a four star hotel and did not experience four star facilities !!! On entering the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I had booked the hotel four a weekend break with a few friends .As the person responsible for arranging the weekend I was a little disappointed when I arrived at the hotel, it looked very tired and in need of some refurbishment. The reception staff were very helpful allowing the party to check in early before we went to Cheltenham... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark P, General Manager at Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stephen C Thank you for your comments regarding the team being very helpful and checking you in as soon as the rooms were available. I was disappointed that you felt the rooms were in need of a little TLC. Cleanliness and Maintenance are a key focus and I will certainly address this further. Please accept my sincere apologies if... More 

Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Queen's hotel has an impressive presence at the top of Montpelier and I had been looking forward to my stay. My room was located on the first floor and when I exited the lift I was greeted with a beautiful spiralling staircase. That was probably the one highlight of my stay. Entering my room I was a little disappointed.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is quite simply the worst hotel experience I have ever had, the hotel would seem to be upgrading its boiler but has not been able to fully communicate to any customers. Therefore at 10pm in the evening most people are yet to shower or shave. The only redeeming point is a barman who has shown honesty and integrity at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mark P, General Manager at Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PhilOsh Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Queens. I fully appreciate your frustrations and apologies profusely for the inconvenience caused; I would welcome an opportunity to discuss this with you directly if you would be so good as to forward to me your contact details. We did certainly have a challenge with the... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked in for a family of 8 for afternoon tea & I am pleased to say we all thoroughly enjoyed it! Waiter was very attentive & patient & we truly felt like we could relax. The food complimented the relaxed atmosphere. I do wish that there we're more sandwiches but that's not a complaint, it's my own greed 😄... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark P, General Manager at Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vikstar Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea with the family. It is a great place to watch th eworld go by and catch up with friends and family. I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Best regards More 

South West England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I booked to stay for Valentines day very recently and we had booked the 'ready for romance' package which for £200.00 included a free box of chocolates, late check out, a three course meal and breakfast included. All in all quite a good deal. However the hotel did not meet our expectations and was very disappointing. For... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mark P, General Manager at Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Elly S Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. It was a pleasure to read that you had a wonderful meal our restaurant and praised a number of the team. I will certainly pass these on directly to the team. I was however dismayed to read your other feedback and would very much like... More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was small for the price and plumbing was erratic. There are hotels in central Cheltenham with larger rooms and more modern furnishings for half the price of the Queen's. On the plus side, the staff were cheerful and helpful and the location is ideal for the theatre, bars and restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark P, General Manager at Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Johnand D196 Tank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I was very pleased to read that you find the team very hepful. I was isappointed to read your comments regarding the rooms, we have a number of rooms of different sizes and clasifications. Please request a Privelege room which I think may be more to... More 

Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a six night stay at the Q's last week. business & personal trip to Cheltenham. The hotel itself is located on imperial gardens. Some rooms overlook the square which is genuinely attractive. In the immediate vicinity are a raft of good restaurants and bars. about a five minute walk away is the nearest small store for basics. Hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mark P, General Manager at Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was very disappointed to read your comments and can assure you that these will be addressed in the investment plan commencing in the spring. The gym facilities are within Cheltenham Ladies College which as you have commented are within the school. I can understand your observations regarding... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'll never stay here again unless I can be guaranteed a top floor room - the occupant of the room above me, on each of the three days I stayed here, bumped and creaked their way around their room from just before 5 am. other noises from nearby doors banging could also be heard at times during the nights. Very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mark P, General Manager at Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments regarding the creaking floorboards, I was very disappointed to read that you did not have a good night’s sleep. If you would be so kind to email me your details I can personally ensure a note is placed on your guest profile to have a room on the 3rd floor. I have also... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel

Address: The Promenade, Cheltenham GL50 1NN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Cheltenham Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Cheltenham
Mercure Cheltenham
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cheltenham
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cheltenham

81 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay