We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Coach and Horses

Stow Road, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2HN, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Coach and Horses
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Coach and Horses
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    14
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
29
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (50)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

my mum and I stayed here for 2 nights on our recent visit to the Cotswolts and was very impressed. The large twin room was immaculately clean and beautifully decorated and the large bathroom looked brand new. The room also came with a large and delightful selection of teas, coffees and biscuits. The included breakfast consisted of a help yourself... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lake Oswego
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for two nights in the Burford room. It is a large room, clean and in need of a some decorating. The service and food is good with a friendly staff. Although it is on a busy road it is easy to take day trips into the Cotswolds. The traffic does ease up at night but starts up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tweed Heads, Australia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
50 hotel reviews
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Coach and Horses is a 400-year old coaching inn located on thye outskirts of Bourton on the Water. The ground floor of the main house contains the bar and dining room. Guests are accommodated in a separate Coaching House, located adjacent to the Inn. I occupied a very pleasant, beamed room with a comfortable wooden framed double bed with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Clean, comfortable accommodation with a nice spacious room in a converted outbuilding. The toilet in our bathroom had a wobbly seat which was a bit disconcerting. Very nice and friendly staff in the bar in the evening and we enjoyed the two meals that we ate there. Really liked the design elements of the pub as well. Some breakfast staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

The staff were friendly and accommodating. Room was comfortable, well furnished with all the facilities you would expect from a four star hotel with the friendliness of a good B&B. Great breakfast, well cooked and plentiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bedford, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Booked the Coach and Horses for my wife's birthday. Pub was busy when we arrived, but when i said we'd booked accommodation, we were shown to our room in a separate accommodation block without delay. The room was clean, immaculately decorated, and everything worked as it should. Breakfast in the morning was excellent and served with a smile. Was this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RobynHolmyard, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Dear BenjyBedford, We are happy that you enjoyed all but one aspect of your stay with us and would come back to stay with us again. Let me go a little way to explaining why our check-out time is 10am. As you have stated our guests are our utmost priority and we do have to look after each and everyone.... More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

On arrival we was shown to our room, unfortunately someone had left the tap running in the bathroom so the floor was soaked. Someone did come in and mop it up but the room obviously wasn't checked before we arrived. The bathroom needs renovating, looks dirty, toilet didnt flush, the taps turn the wrong way and fire a jet of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
RobynHolmyard, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Dear Ellie, We are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us and hope that we can go a little way to explaining our side of the story. As stated you were attending a wedding for which you required an early check-in, which we obliged free of charge. Our house keeper who came in earlier then usual to... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Having stayed in the king size family room I will deffo be returning. On arrival the owner was very polite and showed us to our room etc. It was like home from home, spotlessly clean, organised beautifully and an amazing location within walking distance to Bourton on the water. Beautiful food and an overall enjoyable stay. Already booked up for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
uk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

My hubby and I only live round the corner and walk here often. all the staff are very friendly and the food and beer is great. I can highly recommend the lamb burger, yum yum Other pubs/ hotels in the area seem so very keen or keeping tourists happy that they don't look after the locals. this is not the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015 via mobile

4 of us stayed in the Bibary room. Excellent facilities. Nice little touches I.e fruit teas & biscuits. The room was very clean. The staff are great and gave real personal service. The food was excellent as was the welcome. We thoroughly recommend this establishment

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay