We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Coach and Horses

Stow Road, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2HN, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Coach and Horses
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

90 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a romantic weekend trip to the Cotswolds and the accommodation exceeded our expectations. The staff were friendly and welcoming; the food was brilliant; and our room was spacious and homely with a fantastic ensuite bathroom. It was a cosy and thoroughly enjoyable stay and we'd highly recommend the inn to all our family and friends.

Helpful?
Thank Dawkins23
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here overnight to visit Bourton and Stow. Can't fault it, room was great, food and drinks were great...oh and service was great! It is on a main road but don't let it put you off, there's B roads with heavier traffic to be honest, even the general pub noise was no problem. Easy walking distance to Bourton and a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ernie54321
South G, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Thank you so much, hoe to see you again soon :) More 

Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had some reservations about booking here after speaking to the previous owners who were rather rude, but I'm glad we did. The inn is very cozy and located nearby to the beautiful Bourton on the Water. The rooms are very comfy, and the breakfast is freshly cooked to order. They welcomed our dog, but need to update the website... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank missjens
South G, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the pub, We are so please you had a great time. We hope to see you again soon, Kind regards Katie More 

Bude, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here on new years eve (paid extra for our room given that it was new years eve) and we'll worth it. We had room 4 with a super king size bed, which was devine. Room was huge with sitting space, an ensuite with a bath, and the room had lovely character, with wooden beams. Rooms are in a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jade K
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

Excellent place to stay. Place is in a prime location. Bedrooms were lovely to stay in. We were welcomed with open arms by the Landlord and landlady.The food was very fresh and very tasty. Would recommend to anyone. Definitely would stay again

Helpful?
Thank Darren G
South G, Manager at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Thank you Darren pleased you had a great time, look forward to seeing you again soon More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

Where to start stunning stay for 3 days, lovely pub with open fire and great food. Very busy might need more staff the owners seem to be running around and working so hard. Maybe slow down and let others take up the slack. Great place to visit thumbs up very happy customers

Helpful?
Thank James O
South G, Manager at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Thank you! More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

Recently under new management. Visited Approx 8.30pm on Sat 11th Dec. Although it was past the deadline for ordering a meal the management was most co-operative and supplied 2 very pleasant meals from a varied Menu. Nothing was too much trouble from the friendly staff. This establishment should be very successful and deserves patronage.

Helpful?
Thank jill b
South G, Katies husband at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Thank you, look forward to seeing you again soon More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015 via mobile

I visited with my teenage daughter for 2 nights. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Accommodation was ok but beds were not that great and you could feel the springs. Breakfast was nice and plentiful. Had dinner there one night which was average.

Helpful?
Thank Mummydanks
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015 via mobile

Visited for a Saturday night with friends. There are 5 rooms in separate building from pub. We had the 2 rooms upstairs (rooms 4 & 5), which were very large and well furnished with sofas etc. The dinner menu was pretty expensive for a pub and the food average at best, as was the breakfast. The owners have very recently... More 

Helpful?
Thank Al H
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at the coach and horse, we booked the accommodation for just one night to extend our weekend out and actually would have loved to stay here for the whole weekend. The owners and staff were exceptionally welcoming and considering they had only taken over the place for a week when we stayed you really couldn't tell.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Sammies1234
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.7 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.0 of 5 stars 423 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.5 of 5 stars 538 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 stars 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lords of the Manor Hotel
Lords of the Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Upper Slaughter
4.5 of 5 stars 864 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grapevine Hotel
Grapevine Hotel
#6 of 7 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Red House East B&B
The Red House East B&B
#5 of 31 in Bourton-on-the-Water
4.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay