We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 31 Bourton-on-the-Water B&Bs / inns

The Ridge Bed & Breakfast

4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Whiteshoots Hill, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2LE, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Ridge Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
The Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
79%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
wendy f
  • Overview
  • Reviews (62)
  • Photos (6)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (8)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    18
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
14
28
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Janesville, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughters and I spent three nights, 7-15-14 through 7-18-14, at The Ridge in the village of Bourton-On-The-Water. Because the taxi we had arranged for did not show in the nearby village of Moreton-in-Marsh at 9:00 at night, we were stranded at the train station. When we were able to reach our host at The Ridge, he was kind enough... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheRidgeGuesthouse, Owner at The Ridge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We are most disappointed to hear such comments after all the considerable extra effort spent with these guests. We received calls after 9pm advising us that they awaited their taxi but after a second call we offered to collect them from a local hotel near the station at no cost to themselves. The round trip of 20 miles was completed... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I have just spent a lovely night at this excellent B&B. Very clean and comfortable. Beautiful gardens and a great breakfast. Well cooked and presented. Even met some fellow Aussies and spent a pleasurable evening enjoying their company in the garden! Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
beds
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely clean room and well managed b and b. Very good breakfast (except sausage) but served 8.30 to 9.30 so not good if your leaving early. Plenty of restaurants nearby for evening meal, my favourite is the coach and horses.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tring, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Our room was clean and tidy, enough space. Breakfast disappointing, especially the sausages. We also found 45 minute slot for breakfast quite late in the morning quite restrictive as we would have preferred to be able to leave earlier. Ok as a base for what we were doing but wouldn't rush back. All and all not a great value for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We had a wonderful couple of nights in this cosy guesthouse. Very clean and comfortable. We booked the room with the 4 poster bed, which was really lovely. Delicious breakfast. The location makes it easy to visit the North and South Cotswolds. The owner was very friendly and helpful and would definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night during cheltenham week booked and paid for in advance by our daughter. Two days before we were due to stay our daughter went to print off the confirmation for us to realise shed booked the wrong night. A quick telephone call to the owner John appeared to resolve the issue as he... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bourton-on-the-Water, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had arranged that we would arrive late evening as we were travelling from the Isle of Wight. A lovely gentle welcome . Breakfast had been arranged early so we could get to the interview, excellent relaxed time just what we needed to set us up for a stressful day ahead. Many thanks John for your thoughfulness.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

John welcomed us late in the evening after we stated we will be arriving late from London. He explained the hours of breakfast, how to get in and out etc. He led us into a nice sized en-suite room. However the first thing we noticed were mouse droppings on the spare bed. We noticed rat poison was placed behind the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheRidgeGuesthouse, Owner at The Ridge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

It seems as though our reputation for excellent bed and breakfast has spread! Whilst we are delighted to welcome all visitors it seems as though an “unwelcome guest” decided to spend a few days with us. It would appear that a small shrew discovered our gardener’s store of mouse bait and decided to relocate a small portion of this to... More

antoine62
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

John and Valerie have a very organized B&B. The place is clean tidy and offers a great breakfast. John is very helpful as a guide to the area and places to eat.Any needs that are mentioned once are remembered. It is hard to imagine getting it better

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

John welcomed us and began his robotic speel about where things were etc and we were led to a very pleasant clean bedroom and ensuite. Early in the morning I asked him if we could have coffee a little earlier rather than wait until 8.30. He suddenly turned from Mr Awfully Polite to the Incredible Hulk. I thought, hello, he... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheRidgeGuesthouse, Owner at The Ridge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We are sad that you did not enjoy your one night stay with us recently. We appreciated that you were very tired upon arrival and may not have understood that we serve breakfast from 8.30 in the dining room and that you had tea/coffee/chocolate making facilities in your bedroom for that early morning drink. When you came downstairs at 8a.m... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Ridge Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Ridge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ridge Bed & Breakfast

Address: Whiteshoots Hill, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2LE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ridge Bed & Breakfast 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your The Ridge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ridge Hotel Bourton-On-The-Water
The Ridge Bed And Breakfast

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Free Parking
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
6

See which rooms travelers prefer