We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Victoria St., Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BX, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Old Manse Hotel to your Saves list
Old Manse Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
64%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
lelkass
  • Overview
  • Reviews (371)
  • Photos (71)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (87)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

371 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    128
    68
    37
    37
See reviews for
48
245
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We sat outside which was lovely as it was a hot day. My Partner went in to the pub twice to order food to be turned away as they no longer had what we wanted in stock. I went in on the third attempt and then had to wait for ten minutes for somebody to take my order. This being... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Such a shame that this lovely old building in a beautiful village was a let down,we thought that after all the bad reviews that this hotel has received that old English inns would have cleaned up their act,the whole building needs redecorating and a good clean. We only ate on the first day of our stay,our first choice was not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bristol
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a lovely stay here in the very picturesque Bourton last weekend. The room was comfy and the staff were polite and welcoming. We didn't eat here but the bar was busy yet friendly. Would definately recommend Bourton on the water as a destination and would stay here again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time in your recent feedback where the team and I were all delighted to hear of how much you enjoyed your time at the Old Manse. I hope to welcome you back again soon. Chris, General Manager. More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at The Old Manse Hotel in Bourton on the Water last night - 1st Aug 2014. I wasn't particularly pleased with the room I was initially given as it was above the ventilation units for the kitchen and therefore very noisy (avoid room 9 if you're a light sleeper). However, the staff were more than happy to move... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, where I am glad that you found the team polite and courteous, where I was equally delighted to hear that they solved the issues you found with your room. As part of Old English Inns, we do offer a branded menu which does offer plenty of choice, with some great offers like two meals... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for two night and can't really fault it. The rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet - even with a 4 month old baby. All the staff were very approachable, friendly and willing to help. The food in the restaurant was excellent quality, good value and plenty of variety. Bourton-on-the water itself is a lovely place; pure Cotswold... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you kind review, where all of the team were delighted to hear of how much you enjoyed your visit. I was especially delighted to hear of how well the team looked after you all. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Old Manse in the not too distant future. Chris, General Manager. More

Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed at Bourton several times but this was our first time at the Manse. The place is in the perfect location with fabulous views from the bedroom window. Chris and the team couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. The food was great and the hotel full of character . Will definitely be staying there again . Stephen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Christine and Stephen for your wonderful comments, where I am equally delighted to hear of how much you enjoyed your time with us, I have shared this with the team. I look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future. Chris, General Manager. More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staying here over the first weekend of summer holidays was an experience in many ways. Bourton on the Water is just a perfect, picturesque Cotswold village which thousands flock to on such a beautiful summer day. We arrived to Morris dancers on the road outside of the Old Manse, although this isn't our usual 'cup of tea' it felt really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely feedback, where I was delighted to hear of how much you enjoyed your stay and equally of how well the team looked after you. The Old Manse is a busy little site, located right in the heart of the village, where we see lots of traditional entertainment around us such as the Morris dancers. We... More

Marlborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Set in beautiful surroundings our 1st night Sat outside having a drink at the front of the hotel was very pleasant so we decided to return the following evening for a meal, however things began to disappoint fairly quickly' staff looked miserable and seemed hassled, we waited ages for a waitress to take our order,and I think this only happened... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble in your recent review, where I do apologise that your second visit did not match you first. The weekend in question was one of the busiest that we have ever experienced or expected, where sadly and perhaps understandably, we did sell out of a few items on our menus. My apologies again... More

Lancashire
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Overall we were not happy with our stay. We stayed here for 2 nights and we felt that £185 for a two night stay was expensive for the quality of the hotel. The hotel seemed very dated and in need of a good clean, our room was extremely small, the bathroom was so small that the shower door slammed against... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lancashire333. Thank you for taking the time in posting your recent review. I have shared you feedback with the team, in particular Martin, who is the gentlemen that you were referring to. I am currently working closely with Cloud, who is our WiFi provider, which is available throughout most of the property. We are installing new routers to boost... More

Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is in the heart of bourton on the water which is a lovely peaceful village set around a small river with quant little bridges over, lovely country pubs nearby including this one, lovely breakfast here would definately recommend for a relaxing few days away in the cotswolds

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Old Manse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Old Manse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Manse Hotel

Address: Victoria St., Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Manse Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Old Manse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Manse

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Old Manse is a delightful English country inn overlooking the river Windrush, which flows gently through the centre of this picture-postcard Cotswold village. You can enjoy exploring this historic area of outstanding natural beauty with a stroll around the quaint little village of Bourton or simply curl up in front of a roaring log fire. Our rooms are all en-suite, where their size and layout do reflect the historic nature of our building, great for short stays and as a base to explore this beautiful location. Some of our rooms are located in the Old Manse Cottage, a short distance from the main building, but equally full of quirky features. A great selection of food and drink is available from our restaurant and bar. Guests should be aware that our car park is limited, however our team are always willing to assist guests with luggage and finding local alternate parking facilities. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
15

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Old Manse Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer