We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Victoria St., Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BX, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Old Manse Hotel to your Saves list
Old Manse Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
64%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Teresa1976_13 Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    128
    69
    39
    38
See reviews for
48
249
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Very pretty setting by the river with seating area out the front. We came here to look at the 2 for £10 menu and there was a good choice so we went for the ham,egg and chips and the chilli. As it was lunch, these meals were perfectly sized and the food was tasty. The pint of IPA and Aspels... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have just returned from my third stay at the Old Manse and as usual I wasn't disappointed. A beautiful hotel with friendly welcoming staff, I can't fault the service I received for a relatively low price given the location. I would highly recommend not only the hotel but the area in general. Thanks again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My partner and I stayed at 'The Old Manse', Bourton on the Water on the nights of 2 & 3 Sep 14. We had booked this hotel as it is in a great location in the centre of Bourton. The facilities and bar were quite good but we had one major problem, the bed. We had booked a double room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking time in your recent review, where I was delighted to hear that you did enjoy the service, bar and facilities. I have to apologise if you were unhappy with the bed, where in this instance you are describing what is known throughout the industry, as a Zip-and-link double. These are widely used... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a short break at the Old Manse and thoroughly enjoyed our stay . The staff could not have been more welcoming and made our stay a very pleasant experience .We had a lovely clean room , very peaceful with a great atmosphere . Restaurant menu had a good selection and the food was great. We will certainly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staying at this hotel at the moment for a short break for my husbands birthday. Very picturesque village. Hotel is very old and as you would expect of buildings of this age they are very rickety. Every movement you get creaks ! Rooms very small but everything you need, definitely in need of a splash of paint as lots of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I and my friend travelled to Cotswold on April 2014, we decided to stay at button on the water as based to explore all small cities. We stay at Old manse for two nights and had lunch and dinner there. The hotel located next to the river and has two section the main building and the another building in behind.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your recent review, on behalf of the team, we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Old Manse. Chris, General manager. More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Granted we booked a low end price room, we had a room in the Old Manse "Cottage", an annex removed from the hotel. We had room 18 on the top floor in the apex, had low sloping beams that are a health hazard, one finishing right above the bed head. The bathroom/shower had plaster pealing from the walls and mould... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Minehead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came with a group of 32 and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Rang in the morning and the tables were all set up for us, really welcoming. Accommodated the whole group with a special rate, food perfect, our international visitors thoroughly enjoyed themselves and loved the idyllic location. Highly recommend for the the food, the location and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for all your lovely comments, it was a pleasure to have you all with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Chris, General Manager. More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is circa £100 per night for a twin room This does not include breakfast. The staff were useless and clueless. The rooms were dated and scruffy and there were stains on the walls in both the bedroom and the bathroom. The car park cannot accommodate all guests which is fair enough but again was very badly managed by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time in your recent feedback of the Old Manse. Our site is a very seasonal and busy location, where our prices reflect not only our Cotswolds location but that of the competition also, especially during peak August weekends. In terms of value for money, many of our guests recognise this from... More

Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We sat outside which was lovely as it was a hot day. My Partner went in to the pub twice to order food to be turned away as they no longer had what we wanted in stock. I went in on the third attempt and then had to wait for ten minutes for somebody to take my order. This being... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time in posting you recent review, where I do apologise for any issues that you encountered around availability. We are moving back to our larger menu from September 1st, which I am confident will solve the issues that you highlighted. If you are ever in the area again, please feel free in contacting me directly... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Old Manse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Old Manse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Manse Hotel

Address: Victoria St., Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Manse Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Old Manse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Manse

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Bourton-on-the-Water with
any amenities