We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Victoria St., Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BX, England
Hotel amenities
Old Manse Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Old Manse Hotel to your Saves list
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
chrissie1971 Birmingham, United Kingdom
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    135
    72
    43
    42
See reviews for
54
262
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (400)
  • Mar-May only
    (112)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (98)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (112)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (78)
All months
Manchester
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Hotel is in a wonderful location and its great to visit it 'off season' without the multitude that pass through during the summer months. The staff were hard working and pleasant serving 'pub grub' which was ............adequate but certainly not good quality. The Breakfast were often shambolic with nearly a buffet and some attempts at fruit. Kippers were complained... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The old manse has the perfect setting, however the hotel is in need of a re furb..The bar area is lovely, but the dining area is dated and tired. We were unlucky to be put in the annex as they called it.. which is a out of the main hotel..On going through the front doorr straight from the street the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the hotel for the weekend and, although it's slightly tatty around the edges, the location and service were fabulous. The staff were really friendly and helpful and we had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The hotel is right on the water and all of the attractions are within a few minutes walk. The breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a mixed experience at this hotel. I think the night was what we made it rather than the hotel. The room was dingy and was in desperate need for an re furbishment The room smelt of dust which made perfect sense when you can see the dust thick on the walls. The carpets were filthy throughout from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you in taking the time in posting your recent review, where I do appreciate you feedback. The Old Manse is an old building, with the rooms reflecting the nature and size of a listed building. I would like to offer my apologies if you found the cleanliness not to the standard we expect, however would... More 

Granada, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We live in Spain and this is our third Christmas break at the Manse and it just gets better every year. Everyone is so very friendly and helpful and can´t do enough for you. The food was the best ever and the Christmas dinner was fabulous. We have the same lovely room every year which is very clean and it´s... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review

We would all like to thank you for your lovely comments, where it was a delight to welcome you back to the Old Manse for Christmas this year. I was especially delighted to read your comment describing how we get better every year, which knowing the hard work that the team put in, was welcomed by all on site. We... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having stayed here around 10 years ago for NYE, I thought it would be a very nice to bring my girlfriend to bring in the new year in beautiful Bourton. I must say though it we were extremely disappointed by the whole experience, we were put into the outside annex/cottage which is a tiny bedroom at the top of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent feedback, which I have shared and discussed with the team, all of which would like to apologise that your time with us was not as expected. This was certainly not indicative of the feedback that we had from the guests on the night or indeed those who checked out the following day, with many re-booking... More 

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

Stayed here last weekend as a birthday treat from my other half- definatley will be returning again one day! Honestly not sure where the negative reviews have come from because our stay was pretty much faultless. Also as someone who has worked in hotels and customer service for a long time I was very impressed with the experience we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for your recent review, where I was delighted to read of how much you enjoyed your stay and how well the team looked after you. I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Chris, General Manager. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

Our overnight stay was disappointing due to the standard and comfort of the room. For sure the Manse is an old building but the furniture and fittings were also tired, the bed uncomfortable ad the bathroom below standard. I enjoyed the bar and it's food but that and the staff were not enough to save the rating.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review. Our rooms and furnishings have endured a very busy peak season, where we will be addressing some of the issues you raised, early in the New Year. I am confident that this will bring the standards back to that which we expect. I was delighted to read that our hardworking team and food impressed... More 

Aberaeron, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

We stayed at the hotel in May 2014 with another couple. Having a positive visit we discussed the possibility of a return with our classic car club for our Christmas weekend. Ten rooms were booked for the last weekend of November. Again the staff including the manager were superb, nothing too much trouble. The food generally was very good and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time in your recent feedback, where we were all delighted to read your kind comments. It was a delight having your group stay with us and all look forward to welcoming you back again next year. On behalf of the team and myself, I wish you and your families a wonderful... More 

Bedworth
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

We visited for a weekday family evening meal. Initially our order was taken quickly and there was no indication of the wait in front of us for food. To cut a long story short, starters took 45 minutes to arrive with an additional hours wait for main course. We didn't want another lengthy wait for pudding so left early and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at Old Manse Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, where I would like to apologise for the wait time your experienced. I do share your frustrations, where we have sadly experienced a few longer than usual wait times owing to the launch and first week of our new menu. We are confident that the team are growing in dish knowledge and speed every... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Old Manse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Manse Hotel

Address: Victoria St., Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Manse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Old Manse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Manse

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay