We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cranbourne House

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Moore Road, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2AZ, England
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cranbourne House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Cranbourne House
Add Photo

214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    192
    16
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
163
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (214)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (87)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We decided to stay at Cranbourne house for 2 nights to celebrate our anniversary. From the minute we arrived, Boris ensured we were well informed of the facilities of the B&B. He showed us around then took our bags to our room and said if we needed anything we just had to ring the buzzer and he would appear. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan R, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this review

Dear Rachel, We are grateful to hear that everything from our hospitality at Cranbourne House, to the cooking for the breakfasts was to your standards and we always aim to make our guests stay a relaxing and enjoyable break from start to finish. As you mentioned we really are in the heart of everything - the restaurants and pubs are... More 

Newark DE
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
41 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Near the heart of town, a five minute walk. Totally rennovated house with six sleeping rooms. Breakfast for half hour only but a half dozen choices, all freshly prepared plus fruit, yogurt and granola (homemade). Sleeping room very comfortable and fairly quiet-our room faced the road but not a lot of traffic after 21:00. Note: No Air-conditioning so hot weather... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan R, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this review

Dear Steve, Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for all the compliments you paid Tina and I and the house. Although the parking can be tight we do have spaces for 6 cars off road which is a real bonus in the village as its difficult to park in the centre. As you said we... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the minute I walked in the door, Boris ensured I was well informed of the facilities of the B&B, taking me on a guided tour and advising detail regarding breakfast and in-room facilities. We stayed in 'Notgrove' which Boris said he felt was the nicest room; although I didn't see the rest, this one is certainly lovely. A large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan R, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review it really put a smile on our faces. We were delighted to read that you appreciated all the little touches in the rooms especially our home made cake. What a compliment about our breakfasts satisfying even the fussiest foodie. Tina was delighted about the comment about her being wonderful and has had a permanent... More 

Scot in Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

This B & B is up for sale and being managed by a lovely couple, Boris and Tina, who are doing their best however, we rather felt everything was geared to the owners convenience rather than the guests, the breakfast window is from 8.30 to 9am on the weekend, half an hour! We suspect this is because Boris and Tina... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Susan R, Owner at Cranbourne House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Boris and Tina are delighted you felt they were a lovely couple. They were also upset to read that you felt that everything was geared to the owners and not the guests as they have full control of the running of the business and feel they always put their guests first and that how they... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Wonderful stay for two nights. Boris and Tina went out of their way to ensure we had a very comfortable stay. Lovely breakfasts, lovely clean rooms with fabulous cake waiting for us each day, and all within a 5 min stroll to the bustling center of town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan R, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Tina and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was lovely to read that you found your stay to be really comfortable, that the rooms were spotlessly clean and that you enjoyed both the breakfasts and the cakes in your rooms. It was a delight meeting... More 

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

Visitors arriving by train from London to Moreton-in-Marsh on Sunday should be forewarned that the bus does not run on Sunday and taxis are not available without prior reservations. We recommend Sean with "Bobby Private Hire" if you need a lift from the train station to Bourton-on-the-water. Sean was exceptionally helpful with our heavy luggage. Taxis should also be reserved... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan R, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As The Cotswolds are a rural area we do have a limited bus service and taxis are better booked in advance. If we know guests are not arriving by car we will always offer advice. Tina and I were both really appreciative of your lovely comments about us as hosts, our breakfasts and our home... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Cranbourne for two nights, 12th - 14th May 2015 as a birthday treat for my husband. We were in the main house in the Icomb Room, which looked out over the road. The room itself was clean and comfortable with a large and very comfy bed. All the things you expect were provided either in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan R, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review following your stay with us for your husband’s birthday treat. It was lovely to read that the room was clean and comfortable and that all the things you would expect were thoughtfully provided and that you liked our little extra touch of homemade cakes each day. We were delighted that you felt that nothing... More 

Mauna Lani Hawaii
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

The innkeepers Tina & Boris a delight Inn is tired & needs updating. Carpets soiled although room & linen on bed clean Would not rate this property very high Very poor cancellation policy It is close proximity to all the great towns in Cotswolds

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan R, Owner at Cranbourne House, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie, Thank you for your review. As the owner I thought I would reply to you as Boris and Tina were a little taken aback. As you said Boris and Tina are a lovely couple, they are very professional and work extremely hard to ensure that the needs of all their guests are met and keep the house to... More 

Batley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2015

Boris and Tina, Mine Hosts...what a lovely couple! From the very minute we arrived and were greeted by the smiling face of Boris we knew that our few days in Bourton would be special. Boris appears to run the whole show with great help from his partner Tina. It was clear from our stay that no-one could ever say anything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan R, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this review

Dear Chris, Thank you so much for your lovely review and amazing compliments it really brightened Tina’s and my day when we read it. It was also really kind of you to try to correct a previous reviewer you was uncomplimentary about the annex. The annex was built as a 3 bedroomed house and the owners converted it into the... More 

Bellflower, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

Two weeks ago I returned from a 4 night stay at the Cranbourne House and I can’t say enough about this B&B! I found them after extensive research on Trip Advisor, as the reviews were heads above the rest, and I was not disappointed. I had dreamed of going back to the Cotswolds after a brief tour 12 years ago.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Susan R, Manager at Cranbourne House, responded to this review

Thank you for posting the lovely long review for us it was a delight to meet the two of you and of course “BEAST” and look after you during your visit to the Cotswolds. As you had spent so much time researching where to stay in the Cotswolds we were delighted that you felt that you had chosen the correct... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay