We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Borough Arms Hotel

4.0 of 5 The Strand, Rye TN31 7DB , England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Borough Arms Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Old Borough Arms Hotel
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    51
    14
    8
    2
See reviews for
29
87
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (170)
  • Mar-May only
    (42)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Only stayed overnight as we were attending a wedding in Camber. Loved this place, and its location the minute I stepped out of the car. Lovely, rustic, old Rye charm. Small, quaint, perfect for this area. Directly opposite a couple of shabby chic antique shops. A cafe below, a cafe opposite, a seafood and steak restaurant next to the antique... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Haywards Heath, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From the moment of arriving to departure we were greeted like old friends, Sarah and her team are exceptional in making you feel at home. The food - WOW delicious. Our room was clean and the beds (especially the pillows) were super comfy. I would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Sussex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location but no views. Parking not ideal and stairway access difficult for the less than fully able. Room was Ok but disappointed with old brown fleece blankes as bedcovers, dirty door in tiny shower room. Carpets in room and corridor stained. Service disappointing. Not good value for money won't be rushing back though we loved the area

Was this review helpful? Yes
OldBoroughArms1, Manager at Old Borough Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Robert, very sorry to hear that you felt your experience was an average one. The points that you raise are all valid, from the parking to the access to the tiny shower room. I can only assume you were staying in the last of our rooms yet to have a new bathroom installed (room 1) which is being started next... More

Harrow Weald
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopped here for lunch only during a trip to Rye. Certainly wasn't disappointed. We were shown up to a roof terrace area with a lovely view over the surrounding streets. I had decided to have a baguette which was absolutely delicious. Having already ordered I then noticed some scotch eggs which had freshly been prepared and cooked so I decided... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
portland, or
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I came to Rye to research my family ancestry, and I'm so glad I chose to stay at the Old Borough Arms Hotel. The town of Rye is quaint and charming, and the hotel was no different. Lovely spacious room with ensuite bathroom. Clean, comfortable and couldn't ask for more with the location. The weather was great, so an afternoon... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went into the borough arms after a long day of shopping for a well needed cup of tea and some food, the staff made us feel at home right away and the customer service was fantastic, we would highly recommend the scotch eggs!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A warm welcome from Sarah and her staff, who were helpful with cases and parking information. Room 7 was comfortable and quiet with a nicely fitted bathroom. The bed was very comfortable so we had good nights rest. Breakfast was excellent, freshly prepared from tasty local ingredients with a good choice of yoghurts, fruit juices, pastries etc. Sarah kindly met... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I stayed at the Old Borough Arms a few weeks ago with my husband, and it was wonderful! Welcomed by friendly staff who helped me with parking queries and good places to go for dinner . Room was great, lovely and clean comfy bed what more could you ask for! Full English for breakfast with plenty of toast, croissants and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We were lucky enough to get a spot on the newly refurbished terrace for dinner. We went for my husbands birthday and were not disappointed. The menu consisted of locally sourced food and had something for everyone without over doing it. We had antipasti to start with ice cold wine and the evening sun, perfect. I had the lamb tagine... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We wandered around Rye last weekend, and stopped at the cafe for an Ice cream, got talking to a lovely lady who explained that TOBA had started a restaurant on Thurs,Fri & Saturday nights and invited us up to have a look, we were entranced by the Terrace and the wonderful views over Rye so booked a table for 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Old Borough Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Borough Arms Hotel

Address: The Strand, Rye TN31 7DB , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Borough Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Old Borough Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay