We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mermaid Inn

#6 of 9 Hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence
Mermaid St., Rye TN31 7EU, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mermaid Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Mermaid Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

507 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    247
    132
    71
    33
    24
See reviews for
57
305
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (507)
  • Mar-May only
    (122)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (158)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (107)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (120)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed in the room where the Queen Mother has allegedly spent the night. Beautiful accommodation and good service with a hearty breakfast. Rye is gorgeous lots to see and do on foot. Cramped parking but we were able to secure a place in hotel carpark.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin B, Guest Relations Manager at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Mermaid Inn, and the visit to the beautiful citadel of Rye. The Mermaid Inn is a beautiful building, and is fortunate to have 25 car parking spaces in a medieval town not designed for the modern traveller. You are quite right, The Queen Mother did... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The ancient town of Rye has this relic of their smuggling past intact, so if you want an identikit room hotel experience, I suggest you go elsewhere. This hotel has a unique charm and character, wonky floorboards, tight stairs and everything seems at an angle - it is very, very old you see, but the beds were comfortable. The whisky... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin B, Guest Relations Manager at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. For all our prospective guests, and for those many guests who have already visited The Mermaid Inn, your review encaspulates the charm and the unique nature of The Mermaid Inn. The Mermaid Inn offers so much to our guests, in partuclar the atmosphere of residing in a building rebuilt in 1420, and a Grade II... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The building is beautiful, both inside and outside, as is the rest of Mermaid Street. The bed was comfy and we had a pleasant stay. The main downside was that there was a problem with the boiler which could not be fixed while we were there (only a one-night stay), so there was no hot water through the taps in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin B, Guest Relations Manager at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We agree with your comments regarding The Mermaid Inn and the citadel of Rye. The Mermaid Inn was rebuilt in 1420, and is a Grade II Listed building, and through the careful stewardship of the owners since 1993, the beauty of the building has been maintained. As you say your stay was pleasant. We can... More 

Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Over the centuries, this pub was well frequented by smuggles. I saw the secret passage way, hidden behind a faux bookcase in the room Johnny Depp frequents while in Town. This inn has as a wealth of old timbers, creaky staircases, beautiful lead glass windows, and is just dripping in old world nostalgia. You could almost imagine a pirate drinking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin B, Guest Relations Manager at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. As ever we love to see the responses of our guests who have been wowed by the Mermaid Inn, by its history, look, feel and creaky floors. It is all part of being in The Mermaid. Even more so when we are described as a highlight of visiting England. Have a safe onward journey. We... More 

London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Mermaid doesn't have to try. It is so unique and iconic it ticks loads of boxes. Ok, the floors creak and the staircases are a Health & Safety nightmare, but it is what it is, and rightly proud of it. But that's not to say that all is perfect. We booked on impulse the day before, and were lucky... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin B, Guest Relations Manager at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is always good to hear the positive comments of our guests about The Mermaid Inn. As you say, The Mermaid Inn is unique and iconic, which is why it is a Grade II Listed building and why its many features are different, and cannot be altered. In particular it is very gratifying to see... More 

1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Breakfast awful , service awful, continental breakfast ... I don't think so Room needed a clean Bathroom tired Should let customers know that room 8 is located up flights of stairs incase you are of mature age Pricey Not worth the money Will not bother again

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin B, Guest Relations Manager at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Your review is at odds with many of our recent reviews, but be assured we are always listening to our guests, and our new website to be launched shortly, will provide far more information about each of our 31 rooms. We can only apologise for not meeting your expectations. We take a pride in ensuring... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived late at the hotel and as such were delighted with the staffs attempts at making us not feel so dissapointed about missing what would probably have been a wonderful dinner by making us some simple but agreeable sandwiches. The staff as a whole were delightful and couldn't be of any more help. As I went with my parents,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin B, Guest Relations Manager at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. So glad that we met your expectations, and hopefully exceeded them with the quality of service provided by the staff. We will share your comments with the staff. The Mermaid Inn is an experience, but only part of an experience that is Rye itself with its' Medieval Citadel, 1066 Country, and the Garden of England,... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lashings of character in a stunning, uneven floored, low ceiling ,precipitous staircased gem. This could not be more historic. As such we had a very happy stay, and the staff were terrific. However our room 30 was small and pokey and definitely sub Premier Inn in every way including a really subpar shower room. Our children's double room 14 was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin B, Guest Relations Manager at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are glad to note your appreciation of the staff and the service they provide for our guests. We are equally happy that you appreciated that The Mermaid Inn is unique, a product of nearly 600 years of history. We can only apologise that we did not meet your expectations. As you say every one... More 

Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having been aware of the Mermaids reputation for some time and looking for somewhere quiet with character for a celebration, The Mermaid at Rye seemed a good choice. We were not disappointed; in fact it far exceeded our expectations. We stayed in room 1 (Charles James) which was excellent. A good sized room with a wonderfully comfortable old four-poster bed,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Martin B, Guest Relations Manager at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The Mermaid Inn has been family owned since 1993, and the owners seek to ensure that guests enjoy the unique nature of the building that was rebuilt in 1420. The experience is only possible however because of the quality of the work of the staff, who fulfill the potential of the building. We will pass... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here last weekend on the Saturday night. We had the Fleur de Lys room and it was fantastic...beautiful four poster bed, antique furtinute and it was spotlessly clean. Very cosy...room was very warm, as was the weather, but a big fan was thoughtfully provided. Nice en suite bathroom with big tub. The staff were very friendly and reception... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin B, Guest Relations Manager at The Mermaid Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. Thank you for all your positive comments about The Mermaid Inn, it is always rewarding when guests comment on the quality of the service provided. We will share your review with the staff concerned. In particular the comment about the Fleur De Lys room is so good to hear as we strive to ensure that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

207 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (187)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (41)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rye hotels
0.1 mi away
The Hope Anchor Hotel
0.1 mi away
The George in Rye
0.2 mi away
Rye Lodge Hotel
Rye Lodge Hotel
#7 of 9 in Rye
4.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Gallivant
The Gallivant
#1 of 1 in Camber
4.0 of 5 stars 817 reviews
0.1 mi away
River Haven Hotel
0.7 mi away
Saltcote Place Rye
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay