We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Newmarket Inn

Brighton Road | Ashcombe, Lewes BN7 3JJ, England
Hotel amenities
Newmarket Inn
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lewes
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
James C
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    45
    24
    20
    18
See reviews for
24
43
10
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (134)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (18)
All months
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Inn recently changed management The rooms are nicely presented and very clean and are quite near the main road but the traffic was not noticable. Breakfast was adiquate The staff are very pleasant evening meals are what you'll expect from a franchised inn The hotel offers very comfortable accommodation at a competitive price for the location. Have stayed in one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bright Lights of Dublin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel due to its proximity for visiting some family in Bexhill-on-Sea and also friends in Southampton. We stayed for 2 nights. We were greeted warmly for checking in and luckily for us they were still serving food (until 8.30pm) as we turned up in the late evening. Our room (no.15) was very clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have reviewed this pub hotel before but as it recently changed management it's worth an update. We stayed for 1 night b&b not knowing of the change. The inn itself is just the same but all the staff have changed so there are still a few minor issues to sort out. The rooms are nicely presented and very clean.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and my family stayed here over the weekend as we were visiting family and going to drusillas zoo. We drove and the newmarket inn has a massive car park with free parking which was ideal. On check in, we were greeted by the management who informed us they have just taken over the running of the pub/hotel. They were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leigh on Sea
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'd stayed here before when my Daughter run in the Brighton Marathon. Funningly enough we were given the same room. The Evening carvery had plenty of choice and tasty but some of the vegtables weren't very hot. There was nothing on the menu my Daughter could eat as she's a vegan so she just had vegetables the young girl that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
london
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

stopped here for one night and found it to be clean with good amenitys. bus stops outside to take you into brighton as driving and parking there is a real pain. had some sandwiches for lunch and were fine, as was the service, i think the couple that were running it had only been there a few days, large clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I would definitely recommend staying at this Inn, my Son was running the Brighton Marathon on the Sunday the 12th of April and we booked an overnight stay here which is about 7 miles from Brighton. I arrived half hour early to check in, and was given instant access to our room, which was clean and had all the facilities... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came here to meet a friend for lunch. First and last visit all in one! The food was very disappointing - everything on the menu was brown food - in pastry or batter with chips. Not appealing to healthy eaters. It was vastly overpriced. £10.50 for a burger which I would have expected to pay £3.50 for at a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Newmarket_Inn, General Manager at Newmarket Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments regarding your latest visit to The Newmarket Inn I'm very sorry to hear that you did not find everything to your satisfaction and find a number of the examples you have stated alarming as this is not the way that we like to do business. We have just taken over the management of this business... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at this place for on e night and the problems I encountered we're:- 1. No chair 2. Had to put hand down the back of the bedside cabinet to use bedside light. 3. Couldn't sit in bed to watch the TV as part of the screen was obscured. 4. Had asked for an extra pillow but there wasn't an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed over for a night. Single room wasn't large but very well presented and the double glazing minimised noise from the A27 next door. Breakfast very good and cooked to order, and free wifi too. Staff welcoming and pleasant. Very good value for a modest price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question