We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Lewes accommodations

Housedean Farm Campsite

Save
You added Housedean Farm Campsite to your Saves list
Brighton Road, Lewes BN7 3JW, England
Hotel amenities
Housedean Farm Campsite
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    14
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
22
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (49)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (30)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the shepherds hut for 2 nights. It is well located for getting to Brighton & Lewes by bus. The bus stop is right outside. The Shepherds hut is well kept & lovely & clean. Bed is comfortable & warm. The wood burning stove is lovely & cosy. Logs kindling & fire lighter are supplied. There is also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nick T, Manager at Housedean Farm Campsite, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments on our Shepherd's Hut and what a shame that you had such terrible weather that weekend. With regards to the covered cooking area, I do apologise for this not being available to you on your weekend. We had just experienced severe weather conditions and unfortunately the only option was to take the awning... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

A pleasant campsite with large allocated pitches, good views, easy access to Brighton and Lewes, nestled in the South Downs, friendly staff, can have camp-fires (wood sold from shop), not overly flat pitches and not quite enough toilets or showers (but very clean).

Was this review helpful? Yes
Basingstoke
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. It was quite quiet when we arrived so we had a choice of wherever we would like to pitch which was great. The utilities (Washing Up area, showers, toilets, water taps) were outstanding, cleaned regularly and close by. There was also a fridge, freezer and charger points which was a bonus. The ground wasn't very flat,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

We were looking for a camp site for a quick get away and Housedean Farm ticked all the boxes - close enough to London that it isn't too much of a drive after work, fire pit on all sites, accepts small groups and the facilities spotless. The site has a very relaxed feel about it and our hosts were lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

Good little site. At £20 for the night mid week thought the price might be a tad too high for the site, however there was no charge for the showers. This site is not flat but still able to find a decent pitch for the night. Every pitch has a fire pit which if we'd been there longer would have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Spent 3 nights at Housedean Farm - 2 in the bell tent after deciding to upgrade. Lovely location, close to Brighton and the beautiful South Downs Trail(which passes right outside of the campsite). The owners were very friendly, facilities clean and well maintained. Pitches were spacious, and tent was perfect for our stay, roomy yet cosy, and the highlight was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

This campsite is in an ideal location, and has very clean and handy facilities. Definitely recommend the open topped shower! Nick and the staff are all really helpful. Had a lovely time, and would definitely return and recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maastricht
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed on the Housedean Farm for a week and it was very nice. Before our stay, the contact went fast and we got answers to all of our questions. There was a busstop right next to the campsite, which made it very easy to travel to Lewes and Brighton for a day. The campsite and its surroundings were beautiful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Stayed for a long weekend and we were really impressed. Toilets were spotless and didn't smell at all! The open air shower was steaming hot with adjustable temperature and enough room to get dressed. The fridge and freezer were really useful and there were even plug sockets to charge phones! Nice small site, lovely and quiet, we didn't get woken... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Housedean is a really welcoming and beautiful campsite. Even when busy you have your own space to enjoy your own camping experience. There are two traditional local pubs in either direction and Brighton is a short cycle from the site. Other bonuses include amazing hot showers that are in outdoor enclosures which provide a surreal experience and the campfire pits... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Housedean Farm Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Housedean Farm Campsite

Address: Brighton Road, Lewes BN7 3JW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Housedean Farm Campsite Lewes, East Sussex

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay