We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Lewes hotels

Berkeley House

2 Albion Street, Lewes BN7 2ND , England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (44)
  • Photos (8)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (5)
  • Location
  • More
Berkeley House
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Lewes
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    8
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
21
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Merstham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I wouldn't normally chose to stay in a bed and breakfast but I made this booking purely because of the great reviews on trip advisor and I am so glad I did. This is a fabulous place to stay. It has a friendly informal atmosphere and it is clear that the owners just want their guests to have a brilliant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amanda D, Owner at Berkeley House, responded to this review

Wow - what a lovely review. I'm so glad you liked staying with us, but I think we like you more! It was a pleasure to have you both here and we're pleased you had a good time exploring Lewes and running up some of its hills! Any time you want to come back and run up a few more,... More

Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

We had a most comfortable 3 night stay in the apartment at Berkeley House. Amanda and Adam helped us settle in and brought our luggage down the flight of stairs. Small touches such as the bowl of fresh fruit, tea and coffee in the kitchen and quality toiletries in the bath showed the owners concern for our comfort. We enjoyed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amanda D, Owner at Berkeley House, responded to this review

So lovely to hear from you after your travels in England. I hope you had a good journey back. Thank you for your very kind comments. It was a delight to have you stay with us and I'm so glad you enjoyed Lewes and Glyndebourne. All the very best to you both. Amanda and Adam More

Chester Basin, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We enjoyed three nights of this wonderful hotel. The location is superb and the bed we had in the Yellow Room is, perhaps, the best in England. Amanda and Adam, our hosts, create a convivial atmosphere, so much so that I rate our breakfast table conflabs as one of the main events of our trip (and the breakfasts are excellent).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amanda D, Owner at Berkeley House, responded to this review

Hi both! We enjoyed our breakfast table conflabs too! I'm glad you had a good trip - you certainly covered quite a bit of ground. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you so much for your kind comments. Enjoy Joe Bonamassa too! More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I booked two rooms months ahead before my stay for my friends and myself for my daughters wedding for one night over the May bank holiday weekend and Berkeley House owner was so wonderfully helpful in every way. Even meeting me at my car on arrival to help me park which was so kind and thoughtful and saved me so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amanda D, Owner at Berkeley House, responded to this review

Thank you, Sheena, so much for your generous review. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and, more importantly, had a wonderful day celebrating your daughter's wedding. It was a pleasure to have you and your good friends stay with us for the occasion. You can come again any time! All the best to you and your family.... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Some friends and I stayed in the apartment over the Easter weekend, and had a wonderful stay. The place is newly refurbished and modern, with everything we needed for a great weekend, even a pint of milk in the fridge and ice in the freezer. The bed was extremely comfortable, the shower hot and powerful and the breakfast as good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amanda D, Owner at Berkeley House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We're delighted you had a comfortable stay over the weekend - it was lovely to have you stay with us and we're looking forward to the next time. Hopefully, the weather might be a bit kinder next time! All the best. Amanda and Adam More

Chicago Suburbs
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Berkeley House on the recommendation of tripadvisor reviews. It did not disappoint. We have been to Lewes many times for day trips and decided to stay four nights. The location is superb. It is a 10 minute walk from the train station of a 4 pound taxi ride with taxis outside the station.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amanda D, Owner at Berkeley House, responded to this review

Thank you so much. We loved having you to stay and enjoyed your company immensely. I hope it won't be too long before your travels bring you back to Lewes. You can be sure a warm welcome awaits! All the best. Amanda and Adam More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Like a couple of other reviewers I'd tend to go for a hotel rather than B&B and have stayed up the road in a hotel a few times. After reading the reviews and the hotels being fully booked I thought what can be the worst that can happen..... Amanda and Adam are lovely hosts it is really like visiting old... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amanda D, Owner at Berkeley House, responded to this review

Hi Paul. Thank you so much for your very kind review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us for the week and we're glad you felt at home here. We're looking forward to the next visit! All the best to you and your family. Amanda and Adam More

Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We are just enjoying our second night of a two night stay here at Berkeley House and I can only reiterate all previous comments. Our room is tastefully furnished, comfortable beds, fresh and clean. Amanda could not have been more helpful, as we have never been to Sussex before, she kindly lent us some guide books and has been very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Amanda D, Owner at Berkeley House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind remarks. It was a real pleasure to have you staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sussex again soon. PS: Thanks for your patience with our redecorating work, too! More

U.K.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Wouldn't normally stay in a B&B after bad experiences in the past, but did so here overnight in late January 2014 on a friend's recommendation. The accommodation has obviously been thoroughly refurbished to a very high standard, with top quality, modern furnishings and fittings - whilst still retaining its character. Great en suite facilities,plentiful hot water, controllable central heating, Tv... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Amanda D, Owner at Berkeley House, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your excellent review, Colin. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and that we've helped to restore your faith in the British B&B. Come again soon! More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed for a weekend break. Very friendly. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choices. The Blue room is a little small but nicely done out & has an excellent bathroom - tea & coffee in the room. A lovely town & the location of Berkeley House couldn't be better.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Amanda D, Owner at Berkeley House, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again at some stage in the future. Happy Christmas both! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Berkeley House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Berkeley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley House

Address: 2 Albion Street, Lewes BN7 2ND , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Lewes
Berkeley House Lewes, East Sussex

8 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Recently refurbished and under new management from July 2013, we offer a high standard of accommodation in our elegant Grade II Listed Georgian townhouse, situated in the centre of the historic town of Lewes. We have a twin and a double room on the second floor, with excellent executive-style en-suite facilities. We also offer a self-contained apartment on our lower ground floor, comprising double bedroom, shower room, sitting room and small kitchen, but we are happy to serve you breakfast upstairs if you prefer. You can enjoy our quiet courtyard garden or perhaps take a break on our sunny roof terrace whilst enjoying views over the town. We aim to make your stay as comfortable as possible and offer a variety of breakfast options using fresh, locally-sourced ingredients whenever possible. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
3

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Berkeley House to your Saves list