We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Lewes hotels

Berkeley House

Save Saved
You added Berkeley House to your Saves list
Berkeley House
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Lewes
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    8
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
25
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (48)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Berkeley House is located in Lewes, described by an immigration official at Heathrow as a "small, peaceful town", an apt description. Lewes is just over an hour by train from Victoria station (three trains per hour) and is also served by other rail lines and by bus. Berkeley House is about a five minute walk from the train station and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amanda D, Owner at Berkeley House, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing praise! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay in Lewes - it really is a great town and has some lovely countryside around it too, as you yourselves discovered. I have to say, all my recommendations are based on guest feedback as much as anything else, so I'm glad they proved useful. Perhaps we'll see... More

Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

lovely clean quite small room, but with ever thing on hand newly fitted shower unit very nice , very helpful nice owner, tea coffee few nibbles in room,very well cooked breakfast ,just the ticket would stay their again parked easy outside but has to be moved buy 9 am unless you put a permit ticket on which the owner can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Amanda D, Owner at Berkeley House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to the next time! All the best, Amanda and Adam More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014 via mobile

We were lucky to get a room at the last minute and enjoyed our stay very much. The room was comfortable, small but well fitted with every detail thought out. It was wonderfully quiet and clean. Amanda made us feel so welcome even filling our flask with delicious coffee for our picnic supper at Glyndebourne. Breakfast round the table with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Amanda D, Owner at Berkeley House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, Romy. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and that all the elements of our B&B, a wonderful evening at the opera and a stroll through Lewes worked together for a memorable break. Hopefully we'll be on your list for another visit in the future! All the best to you both. Amanda and Adam More

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

What a wonderful clean and lovely place to stay. They couldnt do enough for us. Wouldnt hesitate to stay there again I would highly recommend the place to friends and family and they really helped us out, breakfast was lovely a good selection espcially loved the granola pots

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Amanda D, Owner at Berkeley House, responded to this review

Hi Clare. Thanks for your great review. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay and had a good time in Lewes. Come again any time you like! All the best. Amanda and Adam More

Merstham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I wouldn't normally chose to stay in a bed and breakfast but I made this booking purely because of the great reviews on trip advisor and I am so glad I did. This is a fabulous place to stay. It has a friendly informal atmosphere and it is clear that the owners just want their guests to have a brilliant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Amanda D, Owner at Berkeley House, responded to this review

Wow - what a lovely review. I'm so glad you liked staying with us, but I think we like you more! It was a pleasure to have you both here and we're pleased you had a good time exploring Lewes and running up some of its hills! Any time you want to come back and run up a few more,... More

Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

We had a most comfortable 3 night stay in the apartment at Berkeley House. Amanda and Adam helped us settle in and brought our luggage down the flight of stairs. Small touches such as the bowl of fresh fruit, tea and coffee in the kitchen and quality toiletries in the bath showed the owners concern for our comfort. We enjoyed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amanda D, Owner at Berkeley House, responded to this review

So lovely to hear from you after your travels in England. I hope you had a good journey back. Thank you for your very kind comments. It was a delight to have you stay with us and I'm so glad you enjoyed Lewes and Glyndebourne. All the very best to you both. Amanda and Adam More

Chester Basin, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We enjoyed three nights of this wonderful hotel. The location is superb and the bed we had in the Yellow Room is, perhaps, the best in England. Amanda and Adam, our hosts, create a convivial atmosphere, so much so that I rate our breakfast table conflabs as one of the main events of our trip (and the breakfasts are excellent).... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amanda D, Owner at Berkeley House, responded to this review

Hi both! We enjoyed our breakfast table conflabs too! I'm glad you had a good trip - you certainly covered quite a bit of ground. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and thank you so much for your kind comments. Enjoy Joe Bonamassa too! More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I booked two rooms months ahead before my stay for my friends and myself for my daughters wedding for one night over the May bank holiday weekend and Berkeley House owner was so wonderfully helpful in every way. Even meeting me at my car on arrival to help me park which was so kind and thoughtful and saved me so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amanda D, Owner at Berkeley House, responded to this review

Thank you, Sheena, so much for your generous review. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and, more importantly, had a wonderful day celebrating your daughter's wedding. It was a pleasure to have you and your good friends stay with us for the occasion. You can come again any time! All the best to you and your family.... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Some friends and I stayed in the apartment over the Easter weekend, and had a wonderful stay. The place is newly refurbished and modern, with everything we needed for a great weekend, even a pint of milk in the fridge and ice in the freezer. The bed was extremely comfortable, the shower hot and powerful and the breakfast as good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amanda D, Owner at Berkeley House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We're delighted you had a comfortable stay over the weekend - it was lovely to have you stay with us and we're looking forward to the next time. Hopefully, the weather might be a bit kinder next time! All the best. Amanda and Adam More

Chicago Suburbs
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Berkeley House on the recommendation of tripadvisor reviews. It did not disappoint. We have been to Lewes many times for day trips and decided to stay four nights. The location is superb. It is a 10 minute walk from the train station of a 4 pound taxi ride with taxis outside the station.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Amanda D, Owner at Berkeley House, responded to this review

Thank you so much. We loved having you to stay and enjoyed your company immensely. I hope it won't be too long before your travels bring you back to Lewes. You can be sure a warm welcome awaits! All the best. Amanda and Adam More

Do you own or manage Berkeley House?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Berkeley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley House

Address: 2 Albion Street, Lewes BN7 2ND , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Lewes
Berkeley House Lewes, East Sussex

8 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Berkeley House

Enlarge Map