We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Lewes hotels

The Shelleys

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XS, England
Hotel amenities
The Shelleys
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Shelleys to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
annette65_10 Ludlow, United Kingdom
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    67
    35
    18
    7
See reviews for
26
131
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (248)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (76)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I went for Sunday lunch, plus overnight stay. We knew we would arrive before the normal check-in time as we had booked lunch for 12.30. Sure enough, our room wasn't ready but we stood around in the reception area for ages while this was being verified and our bags were taken to keep behind the reception desk.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

The sentiments expressed in this detailed review have been passed to the hotel management team for direct action. We were, of course, totally disheartened that you did not feel able to articulate your concerns whilst in house, as it would have been our pleasure to upgrade your room and in so doing hopefully address the majority of concerns raised in... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Generally we were very happy with our stay, staff were very accommodating and made us feel very welcome. Lovely rooms, very cosy and traditional. Dinner on Christmas Eve was excellent. Breakfasts were ok (nothing special) but more importantly the Christmas day lunch was very disappointing, both from the view of the service and the food. The waiting time between each... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on your stay over the Christmas period. Naturally we were pleased that the hotel was able to play its part in your celebrations though we were, by equal measure, sorry that you felt the Christmas lunch was a little below par Please rest assured we have now taken very firm action insofar as the kitchen is... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here on 22 January 2015 - a very cold night. I had booked a standard double room inclusive of breakfast. I had an early meeting on the outskirts of Brighton the following day. Arrived about 2130 and was shown to a very drab room with dark rather distressed furniture and holes in the carpet. The heating had not been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

We were sorry to learn this customer experienced some challenges with their stay and are totally disheartened that they may not feel minded to stay again, ahead of the hotel having the opportunity to respond More 

Seaford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ate at The Shelley's last night as a birthday celebration for my husband. We had a wonderful time, the food was excellent both beautifully cooked and presented, the wine list is sensibly priced, and tap water is offered. Everyone we came in contact with was very friendly and the service was excellent and unobtrusive, our waitress Caroline (from Brazil)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

What a stellar review for the New Year and thank you so much Linda and her team were over the moon in being able to help make the birthday celebrations special and hopefully we can see you back again before too long. Our new chef, Paul, is making his mark and while only having just joined us, Caroline is a... More 

Cassington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I really wanted to say good things about this hotel because the staff were so nice and tried so hard but there is something seriously amiss here. The hotel has lots of character, although you need the fitness of a Sherpa to negotiate the multiple sets of stairs and twists and turns of corridor to get to most bedrooms. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

While are sorry this guest experienced some issues during their stay, we cannot identify with their rather sensationalised critique. We experienced minor and no more than temporary issues with the coincidence of our longstanding chef being promoted and staff sickness. So the Fates conspired against us I am delighted to confirm however that our new chef, Paul, is now settled... More 

Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

We arrived at The Shelleys at 1430 on Christmas Eve and stayed in a superior room. We started with a delightful afternoon tea, served in the lounge with scones, jam and cream. Christmas Eve dinner was terrific - great choices and well presented. The hotel's wine is sensibly priced but they could offer more choice (five reds, five whites and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

We have said it before and will say it again now, we love hearing from TripAdvisor's Top Contributors and thank you so much for such a stellar review. During the Christmas celebrations, it was our please to host, to serve The Shelleys has such heritage and with the very recent management changes I think it is fair to say we... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

This Hotel is in desperate need of some money being thrown at it. It's typical of one of those places the Hotel Inspector could make an episode about. It's in a good location, lovely building with lots of potential, but interior decor and average service lets it down. For £130 a night (breakfast included), you wouldn't expect the ceiling to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

In thanking you for this in depth review, I should like to echo the sentiments expressed to the last patron and assure you and all our guests that having swept away the old management team in the last week we will see The Shelleys move to a new level in its illustrious career While significant sums have been invested in... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at The Shelleys and I fear it is trading on it's past reputation which it no longer lives up to. I have to praise all of the staff as they were all extremely helpful and friendly and are clearly trying their best but the owners seriously need to spend some money on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

We appreciate this in depth review and thank you for writing in such detail. We were naturally sorry that your experience on this occasion did not match your expectations which is upsetting for all concerned What I can tell you is that we have in the last week changed the entire management team of the hotel; we have also secured... More 

London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Recently attended a large booking there for a Masonic Festive Board and was treating terribly by inexperienced staff and management! Beer more expensive than Mayfair (and I work in that area!) Cutlery on the tables not polished, wine glasses covered in water marks and appeared not to have been cleaned properly, lazy and slow staff. When I approached the managed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Linda-Hove, General Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

In thanking you for this review, I was truly sorry to read about such a complete lack of attention from the incumbent management. So that I can better understand your concerns and find out how we may restore your faith in Shelleys, I will endeavour to make direct contact with you in the next few days Meanwhile please accept my... More 

Godalming, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

On 25th August 2014, my wife and I stayed at Shelleys, but we shall not do so again. Overall, we found the hotel disappointing and pretty average: shabby and well-worn throughout; scruffy and rather dirty furniture in the guest lounge; under-trained and amateurish bar staff/waiter; over-priced dinner where the expansive descriptions on the menu were not matched by the quality... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

This is an obscure and disheartening first time review. It is not at all clear why the guest would not have sought an immediate change of room given this situation they describe. Be that as it may we were sorry to learn of their concerns The Shelleys has a tremendous history dating back to the Sixteenth Century and of course... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Shelleys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shelleys

Address: 135 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shelleys 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Shelleys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Hotel Shelleys
The Shelleys Lewes, East Sussex

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay