We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Shelleys

135 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XS, England
Hotel amenities
The Shelleys
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Lewes
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
jany774 Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    75
    41
    21
    11
See reviews for
28
148
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (275)
  • Mar-May only
    (77)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (61)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (76)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (61)
All months
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The staff made our daughter's wedding truly amazing! They were professional but friendly, and made sure everything ran smoothly. The guests were all very impressed by the hotel rooms which were large, clean and with comfortable beds. The breakfast was excellent as was the wedding buffet. If we could do it all over again we'd definitively chose this hotel!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

Thank you for this stellar review We were truly inspired that the Shelleys could play a part in your daughter's celebrations and we wish them much happiness in the years ahead You were a delightful party More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Afraid I can't agree with all the most recent positive reviews. Sadly, since my last review, this hotel has deteriorated in standards. I booked a 'Superior' room as I was told no standards were available. It was very cold on arrival and I was informed that the central heating is turned off on 1st May! Presumably this is with complete... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

This was a totally disheartening review and while we are sorry this guest appeared to endure some challenges during their stay, we cannot agree with their overall assessment To deal with the 'heating' situation, rightly, we schedule meticulously our boiler servicing commitments as soon as the warmer season arrives which is invariably mid-May. There is no truth in the heating... More 

Chesham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Shelleys, which was very comfortable and conveniently located. The breakfast was excellent and the staff very helpful. The room, and particularly the bathroom, was quite large for a standard room and we would thoroughly recommend the hotel to others

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

Thank you for such a positive review and for visiting us from Buckinghamshire The Shelleys has a great deal to offer and it is about hosting customers who appreciate its subtle charm. It is also about patrons who have the right attitude and expectations Needless to say we are very much looking forward to your next visit and the fact... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I really, really enjoyed my stay at Shelleys. I don't want to be picky about this lovely hotel. It wasn't the best I've stayed in but then again, it was delightful, peaceful and the staff, charming, especially the wonderful receptionist who was smiling, good humoured and terribly helpful. My friend and I shared a twin room which was light, clean,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

This was a delightful review which has given the staff such a boost. Jacque, on reception, is of course over the moon and cannot wait to welcome you back Our new management team are working hard to provide all our guest with a first rate experience and the fact that you will be coming back means a great deal Kindest... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

nice staff, lovely room, nice building, good car park, excellent breakfast. The lights in the bedroom were a little dim for reading but I expect this is because they were energy saving ones which are not good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

Thank you for this snappy and positive review. We will look at the light bulb issue as the last thing we want is for a guest to be straining their eyes Hopefully we can see you back from Bath before too long and meanwhile, renewed thanks for both your kind words and custom More 

Oasis fans
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed over the May Bank Holiday weekend at Shelleys. It was amazing - room, cleanliness, comfortable bed, service, food, location. Having looked at other recent reviews we were concerned that our stay would not be as we expected but luckily we were very pleasantly surprised. We would certainly recommend Shelleys and stay again. It must be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this stellar review. We were delighted Shelleys could play its part in making your Bank Holiday celebrations special and, needless to say, Linda and her team are over the moon and with good reason There can be no higher honour than that of a returning guest and no question, you have made our weekend so... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This break was a rehabilation,after given the all clear for cancer.I will be very fair,& to the point.On arrival here,the recepionst was very nice and friendly,we had not booked before hand considering it was middle of the week,we were informed there was 2 rooms,to which she showed me,we chose the one overlooking the garden,on first look, very nice.after putting our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

We were very pleased to learn of the excellent news regarding your health and were glad you were able to visit The Shelleys Slowly but surely the new management team are working their way through the outstanding maintenance and related issues in a diligent and purposeful manner. As such your feedback will greatly assist this process, for which we thank... More 

Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

We had a weekend break last week,the Hotel is lovely if a bit tired some of the public areas need a bit of a spruce up.Outside the garden was lovely in the spring sunshine. staff are a bit thin on the ground but when you do see them they are helpful and they do speak english. The problem we found... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us from Surrey and your thoughtful critique. Katie has only very recently arrived at the hotel as our new general manager and comes highly recommended. She is already making her mark and feedback such as your will be invaluable Hopefully you will see further improvements when you next visit for, as you say, Shelleys is a... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

I have just returned from a weekend break with my husband at The Shelleys. I feel the need to offer a balanced view to the negativity expressed in earlier reviews. The location was at the quiet end of the high street and there was plenty of parking and we found the hotel quite charming. The staff were helpful and available... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

Thank you for such a balanced review. Karen and her team are over the moon as a result and are thrilled you will be coming back to see us later in the year. Please telephone the hotel when you are ready to book again so that we can make sure you are properly looked after The new management team are... More 

York, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

I don't usually write holiday reviews, but this time, I write to share the experience for the benefit of others. I stayed at The Shelley's, Lewes, with my partner for 2 nights, 14th-15th April 2015. It was a very disappointing experience. We travel frequently.This is not a 4 star hotel. On arrival, no staff were visible. When a receptionist finally... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Hugh C, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

We were pleased that overall these guests enjoyed visiting Lewes and have been kind enough to acknowledge the excellent location, free parking and super fast WIIFI that are hallmarks of The Shelleys By equal measure we were sorry that they felt there were some service related issues. Regrettably from the information here it has not been possible to trace their... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay